We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We fell in love with Greece and the Greeks in this value family gem”
Review of Blue Sky Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Sky Hotel
Ranked #5 of 14 Hotels in Glyfada
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 19, 2011

The Blue Sky offers amazing value, though it is very well situated in the expensive leafy suburb of Glyfada, within easy reach of the airport by X96 bus. The road is quiet, (apart from what sounded like enormous crickets), yet within three or four blocks you are on the main street with some very smart shops and the wonderful tram line (1.20 euros into the city centre, 45 minutes). Then a further short walk takes you to a series of pleasant, uncrowded and unspoilt beaches. Stroll along to the livelier end and you find some really excellent and authentic Greek restaurants, bars and night life.
The English-speaking hotel staff could not have been more helpful and kind, going to a lot of trouble to research the next stage of the journey for my daughter - who was accommodated at the last minute in my room at no extra cost, except breakfast - what's more, when I left the owner allowed her to stay in our twin room at a very discounted rate as the hotel wasn't full. The room was ideal, clean and comfortable with a nice little balcony and efficient air conditioning. Breakfast buffet was plentiful (and the juicy peaches huge!) and could be taken on the terrace outside. Comforable sofas in the garden, surrounded by lovely flowers and rosemary bushes, were a good place to plan the day, and to meet up late in the evening with friendly neighbours who use the bar as a local, which adds to the delightful family atmosphere.
Can't recommend this charming little hotel highly enough - and we can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrandMrs-S024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (179)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 179 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2011

We rented a two bedroom suite for 5 family members. Booth rooms had a balcony and TV. Booth rooms shared one bath/shower. The rooms were very clean and AC made each room comfortable. The shower was small but not a problem. The staff was very helpful in giving suggestions and detailed directions. The breakfast was very good with a fair variety. The breakfast area has inside or outside seating. During the summer outside is only for the early risers. Area is upscale area of Glyfada but certainly not located near attractions. Public transportation makes downtown about 1 hour tram ride. Beware, a pick pocket got one family members wallet on the tram.
From the airport take the X96 bus and get off at the Pikpa stop, be sure to ask the driver to stop there since stops are not marked or announced inside the bus. The hotel is only a few blocks from this stop. Public and private beaches are located within walking or short tram ride.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank porterjames2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2011

The Hotel is in Glyphada which is the part of Athens by the beach and an easy taxi ride to the airport. We stayed in the Blue Sky on the night before we flew back which gave us a day on the beach & it is very handy for that. A good tip we discovered is if they have one free, they will rent you a room for the day for half price which let us leave our luggage in the room and come back & get changed before the flight.
The hotel itself is very good value with clean rooms and friendly staff, The location is quiet although the nightlife in Glyphada itself is excellent. On the downside, the showers are a bit small and the breakfast is not great. But all in all good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank simonbas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 7, 2011

I found the Blue Sky staff to be very accommodating and friendly. The room was basic but very clean with a nice porch overlooking the upscale suburban neighborhood of Glyfada, which offers lots of shopping and some restaurants. I wish the hotel was a bit closer to the city center to shorten the tram ride, however the easy 5-minute walk to the nearest tram stop made it bearable. The reasonable price and helpful staff makes a stay here worthwhile. For those with an interest in night clubbing, there a few popular dance spots within a reasonably short walk where you can carouse until the early morning.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled on business
3  Thank revdawg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2011

Blue Sky is tucked away in a quiet corner of Glyfada just a few minutes walk from the coastal tram. Piraeus and Central Athens are less than one hour by tram. The airport is 30 minutes by express bus (5 euro for 24 hrs travel) or 30 euro by taxi.

This is a little gem of a hotel. Basic but clean with small bar, 24 hour service and good buffet breakfast. Lounge area and outside seating. Air conditioned rooms with television, refrigerator and personal safe. Free internet including access to printer. Staff are friendly and very helpful. All speak good English.

Rooms are clean and modern if showers a little small. Most have nice balconies. Glyfada is much quieter than staying in central Athens and its tree lined boulevards are much more attractive. Sophisticated shopping, good beaches close by and absolutely loads of eateries to choose from.

Hotel has maintained its standards for six years since I last stayed. Unreservedly recommended for budget travellers.

Room Tip: Some rooms more spacious than others. Ask to view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mike Arran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 23, 2011

I stayed several times at this hotel and it is a really nice place, located in a quiet and green neighbourhood only a couple of blocks of the Tram station and from the centre of Glyfada, the shops, the restaurants, the beach, and the night clubs.
You will find a place to park your car there, and the price is really good compared to other hotels in that area. The breakfast is good, the staff is very polite, and you will enjoy your stay in the quiet and clean rooms. You may need to book a few weeks earlier because there are not many rooms. (it is an advantage if you ask me, because the less people, the more quiet!) It is a small, comfortable hotel which gives you the impression that you stay in a house rather than a hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicolas7579
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 7, 2010

Very pleasant hotel in the middle of a residential neighbourhood in Glyfada. From the moment of arrival one feels like staying with friends or family. They way the staff treats you is very warm and natural. The rooms are fine and since it is a quiet neighborhood the only thing you may hear when sleeping with open windows is a dog barking or a cat meowing. Also the A/C unit is relatively quiet compared to many US budget hotels. While the breakfast buffet is simple, the quality is very good and it is always fresh. The Wi-Fi whom I've connected my laptop with worked perfect all the time. The only two minor negatives I would want to mention is the relatively small bathroom and the small shower and the doors of the hotel room which are not really sound-proof. But these are minor things and do nothing to discredit the great value this hotel offers. I'm traveling the world on both business and leisure quite a bit and must say that this was a very pleasant stay at an exceelent rate. I paid EUR 55.00 per night single use, booking it directly with the hotel. They don't have a booking engine but wrote back to me within 24 business hours.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank World_Traveler006SCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glyfada
1.1 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
361 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
1.3 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#6 of 14 in Glyfada
284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 14 in Glyfada
405 reviews
9.6 mi away
Centrotel Hotel
Centrotel Hotel
#22 of 281 in Athens
1,198 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#4 of 14 in Glyfada
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Sky Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Sky Hotel

Address: | Eleftherias 26 & Zamanou, Glyfada 16674, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Glyfada
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Glyfada
Price Range: $51 - $61 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Blue Sky Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Blue Sky Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Blue Sky

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing