We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A generally good experience.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Congo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Congo Palace Hotel
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Glyfada
Thessaloniki Region, Greece
Level Contributor
110 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“A generally good experience.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2010

We stayed at Congo Palace for two nights on the 12th of June. A friend of mine was getting married, and booked lots of rooms at this hotel. Our room was spacious and looked over at the pool side, which prooved to be quite good, keeping in mind that the front road of the hotel is extremely busy, therefore noisy.

The room was nothing extraordinary special, it was a nice , spacious, clean room.
Would I go there again? Yes, I would , but not if the prices were the ones provided at the door of the room, the official rates that is. We actually had a pretty good price, since there were lots of rooms booked for the wedding.

The stuff was pretty helpfull though, and this is a main pro.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jmal127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    53
    43
    23
    16
See reviews for
37
37
16
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rockville, Maryland
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2010

We chose the Congo Palace because we had a 0940 flight out of ATH and it was only a 25 minute car ride to the airport. The Airport Express bus also stops just in front of the hotel and the Tram into Syntagma Square in downtown Athens is only 2 blocks from the hotel. I wasn't expecting much from the Congo Palace so I was pleasantly surprised that it was a very decent hotel. The only problem we had was the original room we were assigned had an A/C unit that was louder than a Boeing 747. We were courteously assigned to another room and that proved fine. The bathroom was large and clean and the bed was comfortable. The breakfast was average and while we didn't use it, the swimming pool looked inviting. The tram to Athens is 1 Euro per person and takes an hour to get to Syntagma Square. There was a laptop and printer just off the lobby that was free to use and print boarding passes. The staff was very helpful and friendly and the room for two with breakfast was only $85. A very nice surprise!

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2010

I'm just finishing up my stay at the Congo Palace and I must admit I was skeptical when I booked the place because of the reviews here, but the price was right.

I don't know much about how Europe and more specifically Greece decides on how many stars to rate a hotel, so I won't get into that analysis. I have learned through my visits over the past three years that one must not expect the same thing as is found in North America unless you are willing to pay in excess of 250eu a night, and even then there is no guarantee.

Now, that said, once you get used to Greek hotels, it's really quite easy to settle in and enjoy yourself...
The Congo Palace has a stunning lobby.. very modern and exceedingly tastefully designed.. But it isn't a new building and few hotels in Greece are, so one must bear in mind that the rest of the hotel won't necessarily follow the more modern design of the lobbies.
However, that said, the Congo Palace has done a good job on the hallways.. bright, clean, cheery... the rooms (I stayed in a double for one person) are very compactly designed with good storage facility (not as large as photos show, but no hotels ever are) and the usual firm greek beds.. (which I love but others don't). The balcony was very comfortable and a nice place to just relax and read.
I found the staff to be very accommodating and pleasant.. responding to any request I made...
The satellite television had more stations than I found at hotels in Athens, and in fact a couple more English Language stations.. but no channel is dedicated
english other than BBC and CNN news... and that is just true of Greece, so I am not going to criticize here .... Lord knows in North America in the hotels, as plush as they are you are only going to get one language...English.
All in all I am very pleased with this stay.... and by the way I LOVE Glyfada... very comfortable area, lots of shopping... quiet most of the time.. many beaches, excellent transportation into Athens, friendly people, and the most interesting of all was the ease with which almost everyone here seems to slide into speaking English once you are nice enough to say Kalimera or Yassas and than mention that you speak English...
If you are from North America you will find just about every american chain here with the same menus, and in some cases food is done even better.. Starbucks, Ruby Tuesday, Applebee's, TGI Fridays, MacDonalds, and most startling of all KFC !!
But also the place is just jam packed with shopping and cafe/restaurants... every second building...
The town just glows with beauty and romance at night.... and if you love boating... you will find marina after marina.. not all superyachts either... fishing boats, the usual 20 to 30 to 40 ft Cruisers, etc... just a nice place to relax and enjoy being alive.

One thing to remember as a traveler.. if you arrive stressed and worn out generally... don't take it out on the hotel or the hoteliers... go to sleep, rest... relax, welcome the heightened noise because of the heightened senses, and then wake up the next day to have fun...

I've given this hotel a very high rating overall... but that is because I am ignoring the 'star rating'... I don't think that really is a fair standard in Greece, unless you are in obvious 5 star hotels like the Hilton, the Grand Bretagne and St George Palace.
I have rated it on the basis of how well it made me feel as a guest and visitor.

One recommendation I have to management though is to replace the towels... they are a little tattered on the edges.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank CanadianTraveler1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at the Congo Palace Hotel and were impressed by the lavish decor, huge chandelier, big screen TV, sofas and bar all in the reception area.
It was a good place to come back to after a hard days sightseeing. There is no tea making facilities in room, but we brought our own, there is a fridge and tv in the room, but only English channel was CNN all the rest were greek but we did get some programmes which were greek subtitles but in English, bit hit & miss. The internet was available for cable only so we didn't bother. Breakfast was buffet, hot & cold everyday and same quality everyday. We all enjoyed it.
Couldn't find anything to do in Glyfada apart from shop, & eat. We had to travel out to Athens, or Kalamaki which had a nicer beach. If you like designer shops, Glyfada is full of them. No quaint markets or history to see, or browse. Apparently there are supposed to be a lot of nightclubs, we couldn't even find one open. So area was good for travelling to other places from, but not a lot happening if that is the only place you're going to be. Tram and buses not far from seafront and very frequent, tram was about every 10-20 minutes.

Helpful?
4 Thank FallenAngel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sheffield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2009

Palace Hotel, Glyfada, situated across road and tram-track from beach.

Hotel was fine, all staff very helpful except one waiter (and one waiter alone) who habitually tried to short-change the young disabled in our party - dispicable! Watch out for him!

The hotel food and drink prices, in common with everywhere in Athens were expensive (3 Euro 50 for a beer) This however was not as expensive as the resort where you could typically pay 5 Euro for a beer and 5 Euro for a coffee.

Lovely place but take plenty of money!

Helpful?
1 Thank drumrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glyfada hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
crete
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2009

Booking made by agent from Athens airport, requested a family room for 2 adults, 2 children & a cot for baby. Reception staff were helpful but no assistance given by a porter to help with luggage (we had a lot of luggage!!)

The room we were given has definately seen better days, very tired decor although it was clean, No cot was provided so we had to create our own, we pushed 2 chairs together & padded it out with blankets & towels, thankfully the baby was tired & fell straight to sleep so this wasnt too much of an issue.

Bathroom was clean but in need of refurbishment.

Nice enough buffet breakfast. Good location for metro & shops.
Hotel has seen better days.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wellie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2008

Hard to say whether this hotel has seen better days, but if it has they're long gone.
Handy for the marina and metro but lacks charm. Pool was OK. Enjoyed an evening racing the 'roaches outside the main bar. Room tired, nearer 2 than 3* quality.
This place looks like it caters for sports teams, businessmen and airline crews. Not one for the tourist trade. No palace.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TomandSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
1.1 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#2 of 16 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
0.6 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#7 of 16 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix
1.2 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#4 of 16 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
1.4 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#3 of 16 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congo Palace Hotel

Property: Congo Palace Hotel
Address: 75 King's George Avenue (Poseidonos Av., Glyfada, Athens 166 74, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 16 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Congo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Congo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing