We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loss for things to do, except shopping”
Review of Congo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Congo Palace Hotel
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Glyfada
Reviewed November 2, 2009

We stayed at the Congo Palace Hotel and were impressed by the lavish decor, huge chandelier, big screen TV, sofas and bar all in the reception area.
It was a good place to come back to after a hard days sightseeing. There is no tea making facilities in room, but we brought our own, there is a fridge and tv in the room, but only English channel was CNN all the rest were greek but we did get some programmes which were greek subtitles but in English, bit hit & miss. The internet was available for cable only so we didn't bother. Breakfast was buffet, hot & cold everyday and same quality everyday. We all enjoyed it.
Couldn't find anything to do in Glyfada apart from shop, & eat. We had to travel out to Athens, or Kalamaki which had a nicer beach. If you like designer shops, Glyfada is full of them. No quaint markets or history to see, or browse. Apparently there are supposed to be a lot of nightclubs, we couldn't even find one open. So area was good for travelling to other places from, but not a lot happening if that is the only place you're going to be. Tram and buses not far from seafront and very frequent, tram was about every 10-20 minutes.

4  Thank FallenAngel69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (178)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

103 - 109 of 178 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2009

Palace Hotel, Glyfada, situated across road and tram-track from beach.

Hotel was fine, all staff very helpful except one waiter (and one waiter alone) who habitually tried to short-change the young disabled in our party - dispicable! Watch out for him!

The hotel food and drink prices, in common with everywhere in Athens were expensive (3 Euro 50 for a beer) This however was not as expensive as the resort where you could typically pay 5 Euro for a beer and 5 Euro for a coffee.

Lovely place but take plenty of money!

1  Thank drumrog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2009

Booking made by agent from Athens airport, requested a family room for 2 adults, 2 children & a cot for baby. Reception staff were helpful but no assistance given by a porter to help with luggage (we had a lot of luggage!!)

The room we were given has definately seen better days, very tired decor although it was clean, No cot was provided so we had to create our own, we pushed 2 chairs together & padded it out with blankets & towels, thankfully the baby was tired & fell straight to sleep so this wasnt too much of an issue.

Bathroom was clean but in need of refurbishment.

Nice enough buffet breakfast. Good location for metro & shops.
Hotel has seen better days.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellie81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2008

Hard to say whether this hotel has seen better days, but if it has they're long gone.
Handy for the marina and metro but lacks charm. Pool was OK. Enjoyed an evening racing the 'roaches outside the main bar. Room tired, nearer 2 than 3* quality.
This place looks like it caters for sports teams, businessmen and airline crews. Not one for the tourist trade. No palace.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TomandSian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: las que dan a la playa, eleji el 6 piso
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ness940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017
Thank voyagefamille4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Kseniya R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
0.5 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 14 in Glyfada
375 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sea View Hotel
Sea View Hotel
#4 of 14 in Glyfada
294 reviews
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#7 of 14 in Glyfada
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Best Western Hotel Fenix
Best Western Hotel Fenix
#10 of 14 in Glyfada
337 reviews
0.7 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#6 of 14 in Glyfada
288 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congo Palace Hotel

Address: Posidonos 81A, Glyfada 166 74, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Glyfada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 14 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range: $76 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Congo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, getaroom.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Congo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing