We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing for prize position.”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Congo Palace Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Congo Palace Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Disappointing for prize position.”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

The staff in this hotel are fighting an up hill battle to sell something not worthy of Glyfada. Staff were helpful but after being shown 3 rooms we decided not to stay. Carpets, walls dirty. Needs total revamp. Foyer updated and gives false impression on website. Would not recommend in this condition.Forfeited one nights accommodation .

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amelia0505
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    54
    43
    23
    16
See reviews for
37
37
16
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

The only positive I would say is that this hotel is located in a good location with easy access to metro. We were really disappointed with the hotel staff as their attitude was really rude, unprofessional and uncooperative. During our 2 weeks stay, we had to move room 3 times! We stayed in one of their ensuite rooms, as our room had been taken by another family, and that was filthy. The pool area was unused also - and it seemed dirty.

We were misinformed about their breakfast - the omelette had pork in it, and I was told it was just egg - and rest of their food was terrible. It would have been better to eat out. We would not recommend this hotel for the price - we were really disappointed

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ka5hif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Glyfada hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very good location, excellent staff and lovely reception area. Looks like a 4 star hotel in the reception, but the rooms need updating.They have only changed the tvs,but hard matresses and 3 star looking rooms. The staff was very polite and helpful and the hotel was opposite the sea, and next to restaurants and glyfadas shopping area. No wifi in the rooms, only in the reception with a charge of 3 euros minimum for 12 hours. Average breakfast.

Room Tip: room 307 was great , sea view rooms are better
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nataly k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

The view of the rooms is great. You can see the sea of Glyfada! Ask for a room on the 4rth floor! Very clean and the service is really good! The breakfast is delicious and has variety..you can park your car outside the hotel that has always parking spots.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckvil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2013

Stayed here before but beyound the modern reception area the rooms are very shabby and I was bitten by mosquitoes. Shame really as the staff are very nice. The owners should spend some money on doing up the rooms and bathrooms though. And the breakfast needs to be lifted a little.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Naxos, Greece
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 31, 2012

The reception of the hotel looks modern but "behind the scenes" the rooms and corridors are old fashioned! The photos that are shown should be very old because none of them is real in what i have seen at least! From the balocony's view the sea is behind a building. The breakfast is quite simlpe for the price i paid for! Also, during the accommodation I saw people with prostitutes wandering around to the corridors! There is not enough parking space, so I had to make some rounds in the city to find a spot to park! The next day i passed to an other hotel!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andreas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
64 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 9, 2012

We planned a last minute trip to Athens and I booked the Congo Palace based on reviews. It was across the street from a public beach, but a private beach club was only minutes away. In the heart of a great restaurant and shopping district. American favorites, Greek and even Mexican. About 30 minute or 20 euro taxi ride to all main museums and attractions.

Lobby is great. Restaurant offers basic breakfast with American and European standards. Pool is great, but only In season when buildings wfont block the sun. Rooms need major updating. We had two rooms, had to move one when ac conked out. But large, good showers and quiet. Great staff that is very helpful.

Room Tip: Get a beach view, good breeze and although traffic noise, quieter than city noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Glyfada hotels
0.5 mi away
Palmyra Beach Hotel
Palmyra Beach Hotel
#3 of 15 in Glyfada
4.0 of 5 bubbles 318 reviews
0.4 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
0.7 mi away
Emmantina Hotel
Emmantina Hotel
#4 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Fenix
1.3 mi away
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
Palace Hotel Bomo Club
#8 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.8 mi away
London Hotel
London Hotel
#2 of 15 in Glyfada
3.5 of 5 bubbles 350 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Congo Palace Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Congo Palace Hotel

Property: Congo Palace Hotel
Address: 75 King's George Avenue (Poseidonos Av., Glyfada, Athens 166 74, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > Athens > Glyfada
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Glyfada
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Congo Palace Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Bookgreece.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Congo Palace Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing