We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Golden Sun Hotel
Nearby Hotels
$139
$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Palmyra Beach Hotel(Glyfada)(Great Value!)
$133
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Glyfada Hotel(Glyfada)
$113
$103
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$306
$289
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fenix Hotel(Glyfada)
$163
$156
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$277
$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Sky Hotel(Glyfada)(Great Value!)
$55
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
London Hotel(Glyfada)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (186)
Filter reviews
186 results
Traveler rating
48
84
33
10
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
84
33
10
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstram stoplocal informationshort breaknice beacheswalking distancecafes and restaurantshotel is situatedyogurtnice locationairportgreeceathens
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 186 reviews
Reviewed June 5, 2014

The ladies on the staff here are so helpful. Especially Irene. The men not so much, more hit and miss. Sometimes we would get a tea pot with breakfast other times we would be told were we can make tea. That followed through the hotel experience. The young lady at the bar was always cheerful in giving us ice, the man grudgingly gave us a small portion.

The tram to Athens was close by. Pro easy to get into the city but a long 1 hour ride, con you heard the tram going by from your room. Pro to and from the airport an easy 5 euro bus ride, no need for a taxi and we are in our 70s.


The bed was very small and we used a sofa bd along with the bed for the two of us.
A friend from Glyfada suggested the hotel. I do not know the prices in Athens but we booked 25 euros and we booked 80 euro places that were much better but in more remote locations.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marcoman34145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I stayed at this hotel while traveling to Greece for a wedding with friends. The hotel's furniture is extremely outdated and has clearly not been updated in decades. However, it was very clean with a nice sided bathroom. Each room seemed to have a balcony which was also very nice. It is within easy walking distance to anywhere you want to go in Glyfada including a very nice close beach club. The tram into Athens is pretty simple and leaves you in the city center but does take up to an hour. A taxi is much quicker but runs about 20 Euro each way to the main tourist sites.

The hotel staff was very friendly and extremely helpful. The rate we got was great (a negotiated rate for wedding guests), so I am not sure about the value otherwise.

Things to note: Like many hotels in Europe, there was no conditioner in the room, but if you ask, the staff will track some down for you. The blow dryer is very weak (one of those ones that are attached to the wall with a hose) and will take you quite a while to dry your hair, but gets the job done.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank passportnecessary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 14, 2013

Changed to this hotel after having stayed two nights in a hotel that did not quite live up to our expectations. We were very happy with the Golden Sun Hotel. The ladies both in the reception and in the breakfast room were very helpful and positive. We had a room on the top floor with a fine view to the sea. The beach road passes nearby with a lot of traffic but it was still far enough not to disturb the night's sleep. The hotel is just next to the new and convenient tram which can take you either to the centre of Glyfada or all the way to Syntagma Square in the centre of Athens. The express-bus to the airport also stop right across the road from the hotel. It took somewhere between 30 and 45 minutes to go to the airport in quite busy traffic. A nice thing about the hotel was the beautiful pool, quietly "behind" the hotel. There was service from the bar so we didn't even have to get up from the sun-chairs in order to get cool drinks in the warm sun. Will be happy to come here again if we happen to be in the area.

Room Tip: We had, as said, a room facing the sea. I am not sure if there are rooms that do not face the sea. But it might be a good idea, to point out that you want a room towards the sea.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Barkii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Ideally located near tram sto!, we enjoyed taking tram rides into central Athens and Pireaus .
A short stroll will take you to cafes and restaurants
A very nice homely hotel , very pleasant and helpful staff .

Our room was very clean and bed comfortable , some reviewers have mentioned a noise problem here , being a light sleeper i did not find this at all .
The bathroom has recently been up dated with modern sanitary ware . Very nice .

The breakfast buffet was good and had everything we needed , you only have to ask if if you require something , they are very accomodating.

We can highly recommend this hotel for families / couples /single travellers . it is in a quiet safe location easy to find .

We will stay again . the couple who had car problems . !!! many thanks

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pobobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 9, 2013

We have been coming to Glyfada for a number of years recently and during this recent visit we used a new hotel that really met our expectations. Clean, reasonably priced, cheerful, helpful staff, buffet breakfast with reasonable offerings and in a close proximity to the area’s shops and restaurants. In previous years we stayed at Johns Hotel that was going downhill until it closed last year, then one street further away at Sea View Hotel that was noisy and lacked a number of characteristics that we found now at Golden Sun Hotel. We wish we had gone there from the beginning; it might be three streets further away from the center but the distance is hardly noticeable. But the difference in the surroundings and ambiance together with service levels certainly is. We are very satisfied with this hotel and we will be coming back next year again during our visit to Glyfada.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geodali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews