We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best pork souvlaki!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gyro Gyro Oloi

Gyro Gyro Oloi
Ranked #32 of 241 Restaurants in Glyfada
Price range: $5 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Barbecue, Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best pork souvlaki!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

I went there with my family last month to have souvlaki with pita bread but we ended up to sit there for 3 hours trying almost everything from the menu as we were excited from the quality of the meat and the great atmosphere! I defenetely recommend pork souvlaki with pita bread and the traditional sausage! I am going back there for sure!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PanagiwtaZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    37
    10
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Greek barbecue”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

This was the highest ranking restaurant in the area, so we did expect something a little extra.
To our surprise the menu had nothing out of the ordinary to offer.
The hot appetizer - tomato, hot pepper, melted cheese and sausage was great with pita bread (this dish was by far the most pricey one, but worth it).
Also ordered the cold aubergine sallad, which actually was mashed creamy aubergine. Great side order for the meat.
Since you could order meat by piece we made our own mixed grill. Pork and chicken was ok but a little dry.
We also tried the sausage which was the best.
They where also out of red housewhine. We had rose and a local lager beer, which was ok but not great.
Overall an average restaurant with some highlights, not great value for money.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bohz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asti, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A different one in Glyfada!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

A Glyfada there are few restaurants serving Greek cuisine. These few have the usual dishes, the ones known by tourists: greek salad, tzatziki.... During my two weeks in Attica, I never found a restaurant served dessert. This restaurant serves recipes a bit 'different (see my pictures of delicious Bougiourdi & Spetzofai!) and it offers you the dessert: tipical loukoumades (fried pastry as my grandma does!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 20140303x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Excellent Greek barbecue food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

Perfect atmosphere
Try the paradosiako salad
The mastelo cheese
And homemade French fries
Ask for the plate of mix meat compilation
For two persons we paid 30€ with beer

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophocles0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Maybe the chef had a bad day”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

1st day if our 3 1/2 week in Greece we ate our first meal here. Being the number one restaurant in Tripadvisor in Glyfada, we had some expectations. But what a disappointment. I am writing this review after returning from Greece and have a numerous meals to compare with. The chicken souvlaki was definitively in it's own class. The absolute worst. The meat was so dry and difficult to swallow, so it was NOT any "gastronomic" encounter with Greek food. On the other hand the owner was of course very friendly and nice. Except for the food we had a really good time. It takes a bit to ruin the first day of holiday :) I think it takes more than this to be on the top of TA

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyro Gyro Oloi also viewed

Glyfada, Athens
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Gyro Gyro Oloi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing