We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A different one in Glyfada!”
Review of Gyro Gyro Oloi

Gyro Gyro Oloi
Ranked #34 of 247 Restaurants in Glyfada
Price range: $6 - $22
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Barbecue, Greek, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Free Wifi, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Asti, Italy
Level Contributor
29 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A different one in Glyfada!”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

A Glyfada there are few restaurants serving Greek cuisine. These few have the usual dishes, the ones known by tourists: greek salad, tzatziki.... During my two weeks in Attica, I never found a restaurant served dessert. This restaurant serves recipes a bit 'different (see my pictures of delicious Bougiourdi & Spetzofai!) and it offers you the dessert: tipical loukoumades (fried pastry as my grandma does!)

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank 20140303x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    99
    37
    10
    9
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
“Excellent Greek barbecue food”
Reviewed August 11, 2013

Perfect atmosphere
Try the paradosiako salad
The mastelo cheese
And homemade French fries
Ask for the plate of mix meat compilation
For two persons we paid 30€ with beer

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sophocles0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
122 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Maybe the chef had a bad day”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

1st day if our 3 1/2 week in Greece we ate our first meal here. Being the number one restaurant in Tripadvisor in Glyfada, we had some expectations. But what a disappointment. I am writing this review after returning from Greece and have a numerous meals to compare with. The chicken souvlaki was definitively in it's own class. The absolute worst. The meat was so dry and difficult to swallow, so it was NOT any "gastronomic" encounter with Greek food. On the other hand the owner was of course very friendly and nice. Except for the food we had a really good time. It takes a bit to ruin the first day of holiday :) I think it takes more than this to be on the top of TA

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Truls E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Meatoramma!!”
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Best place I've eaten that has come close to the good old Greek BBQ we have at home. All meat dishes are cooked to perfection with just the right seasoning and the portions are just massive. The owners are very welcoming and helpful with menu selections. Of course there is much more on the menu than just meat. Unfortunately did not have time, nor could I fit some of the cheese dishes they had on offer. Would definitely go back.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alexelia14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely owners, good service, wholesome and tasty food.”
Reviewed June 25, 2013

Went with my parents to this place on 24/06/2013 after looking on TripAd, the menu was just what we wanted, traditional Greek dishes all freshly made, you could tell they were - and they were great. Ordered a sausage souvlaki and chicken souvlaki (fired skewers), came with salad and home made chips, some sort of slaw and onions. Starter was some bakes bread with salad and cheese and tomatoes on top, very tasty also. The waiter's English wasn't great, understandably, so the owner happily came out to take our orders and since we were the first people in also offered us some desert on the house! Very nice of him. It was like a greek styled donut with syrup and cinamon sprinkles, very morish. Anyway, cute looking place with nice decor, tasty food and good service so highly recommended!

p.s. It was a little bit empty when we went, but it was early on a Monday evening so I can see why.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sim94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gyro Gyro Oloi also viewed

 
Glyfada, Athens
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Gyro Gyro Oloi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing