We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing service, good food, overpriced” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tartare

Tartare
Ranked #25 of 241 Restaurants in Glyfada
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $32 - $65
Cuisines: French, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Business meetings
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: TARTARE Restaurant, a modern restaurant offering authentic French cuisine in the heart of Glyfada, Athens.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Amazing service, good food, overpriced”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2014

The steak tartare (€28) was rather average. Heavy on the mustard and a few other spices (couldn't quite figure out which ones) and low on the onion. I think most Greeks are not used to the idea of eating raw meat, so maybe they were trying to make it easier for them by using too many spices by default, at the expense of those who really love steak tartare. However, they do come to your table before they mix the ingredients in and ask you how much you want of everything (except for the mustard and egg), so it might be my fault for telling them to use the default amounts.

Other things we got:

- Onion soup (just perfect) - €11
- Frog legs (very good. Very bony, but frog legs are always like that) - €22
- Steak au poivre (excellent meat, grilled rare just like we asked, nice sauce) - €24
- Crème brûlée (amazing, probably the best we've both had! best ratio of crust to cream ever!) - free! (see below)

The garlic/cheese bread was also really good, although it costs €2/person, which they don't ask you about, like they're supposed to by law.

Total cost for 2 people with wine: €125.5

The service was amazing. They even gave us free (incredible!) crème brûlée because I mentioned that the tartare was heavy on the mustard. They offered to take the tartare back and replace it, I just said no because I had already eaten half and didn't want to be a dick. And you get free digestifs at the end (mastiha liqueur, tsipouro, sambuca, limoncello) where they bring the *bottles* to your table and you can have as much as you want.

Overall, recommended if you don't mind it being overpriced (you can go to Michelin star restaurants for only slightly more than that). If you go, get the crème brûlée!

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank leaverou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SocialMediaMngr, Manager at Tartare, responded to this review, November 23, 2015
Thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    29
    13
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
greece
Level Contributor
34 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“solid french gold”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 7, 2013 via mobile

possibly the best tartare in Athens. The rest of the meat is excellent and always well prepared.
The sauces are impeccable

Service is experienced, knowledgable, effective and good fun without being pretentious

Only drawbacks are
- pricey ( but i have to admit that is is not unreasonably high)
- tables are squeezed tight on Saturdays
- average age seems to be between 89 to 95y.o.

Helpful?
1 Thank madpan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
36 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Excellent - Friendly”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013 via mobile

Real classy place but not pretentious. The staff and owners are really willing to serve you so even if you don't know the menu talk to them for a while to come up with the best suggestion for you for a rememberable dinner. As for the price I would say its really worth it. If you want cheaper Glyfada nowadays is full of souvlakia joints.

Helpful?
Thank Andreas A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
69 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Very nice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 8, 2013 via mobile

I have been to Tartare a few times and every time we go back because the food is very nice, service is good (maybe on Saturdays It can be slow) and the overall atmosphere is causy and friendly.

I would strongly recommend Tartare and we would be back soon.

Helpful?
Thank mikcyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Dinner in Tartare”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

During my spring vacation i visited Glyfada. The Hotel offered me to have dinner with my friends in Tartare. This was a great idea and we were surprisingly satisfied. The service was excellent, starters were delicious and the seafood was absolutely fresh! We drank a bottle of wine Alfa Rose and enjoyed the evening. In conclusion, the prices are reasonable, service is good and food is fresh!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nastya P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tartare also viewed

 
Glyfada, Athens
 
Glyfada, Athens
Glyfada, Athens
 

Been to Tartare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing