We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beach, breathtaking views and excellent facilities and service”
Review of Aegeon Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 19, 2009

We spent our last day in Greece in Sounio at the Aegeon Beach Hotel. It was a wonderful choice; it is only 30 minutes to the airport enabling us to vacation up to the last minute. On the morning of departure we ran to the Temple of Poseidon, swam in the Aegeon and ate the excellent breakfast provided - a memory the sustained us during a long day of travel.

  • Stayed: June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Happy_midwesterners
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (339)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

190 - 196 of 339 reviews

Reviewed June 2, 2009

A pretty nice hotel, right on the Sounio Beach, with crystal clear waters, peaceful and relaxing (on weekends the beach is more crowded but still ok). Rooms could have been a bit more spacious, but they are fine, recently renovated. Service is helpful and polite. We had a wonderful weekend. A great spot for those who look for a place to escape from too much traffic and noise.

  • Stayed: May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank apostolis76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 3, 2009

We stayed in the Aegeon hotel for three nights in the beginning of May on a romantic escapade and we had the most amazing time. We therefore decided to provide a small overview of our experience with photos that we feel you might find useful.

Location: One of the best settings in Attica – 60 minutes from Athens. The sea is beautiful and clean. The hotel is situated right next to ancient masterpiece of the Temple of Poseidon http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Sounion

Not recommended to stay in Sounio if you plan to visit Athens every day as it is a 60-minute ride. However if you are looking for a place right by the sea to seclude yourself for a few days then the place is ideal.

Hotel: The hotel was refurbished in 2004 and looks brand new. The buildings architecture superbly blends in the landscape. It is modern and some elements are minimalistic. The view from all the rooms is stunning. Unobtrusive view of the sea for all rooms, and on the left all can enjoy an impressive view of the ancient Temple. The communal hotel areas are very clean, with large windows allowing the sun in.

The hotel also has a gym (a proper one!!!), table football, a table of French billiards as well as an indoor playhouse for kids up to the age of 10.

Rooms: The rooms are nice and comfortable with individual balconies and all have view to the sea. The rooms are very clean, small but very well structured. The bathroom is also smallish but beautifully done – it probably needs a shower curtain to keep things less messy….

We had breakfast every morning delivered at our balcony and it was really nice as we enjoyed it while looking at the magnificent view.

Staff: The hotel staff was superb. Very good service, very friendly and at all times went the extra mile to assist us.

Beach: The beach is right in front of the hotel. It is not the biggest beach – around 40 meters in length, but very nice indeed. The hotel provides beach towels, umbrellas and sun chairs. It is really clean…the perfect place to relax.

Restaurant: the food served in the hotel is of very good quality. We had fresh fish (which was about 55 euros per kilo) and it was great. Overall the menu looked very nice with Greek food dominating. But those who also prefer French or Italian cuisine will not be disappointed; as there is great deal of things that one can order.

Prices: We feel that the price that the hotel rents on a low season around (150 euros per night) is the right price that one should pay. 180-190 euros (high season) might be slightly overpriced but the area, the hotel and the relaxation you get probably makes up.

Overall: We will definitely stay again. Yep…small rooms, the shower needs a shower curtain but the place is brand new, very clean and has a beautiful beach. If you are not willing to pay 300 euros+ for a stay in the two other 5 star hotels in the area then definitely book at the Aegeon and you wont feel the difference and you wont regret it.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank effieandyannis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 23, 2008

We spent three days in Greece at the end of our vacation, and this was the perfect place to relax and wind down. We were looking for a place that would be more out of the way, be romantic, be relaxing - and yet still be close enough to spend a day in Athens seeing the sights. This was the place!

First of all, let me recommend going in October. The weather was perfect, and we had the hotel almost completely to ourselves. It looks like it is much busier in the summer, as it is directly on the beach - if you are looking for a family location, then summer here would be good.

The hotel is right on the water and right under the Temple of Poseidon. It's wonderful having coffee and breakfast on the hotel restaurant deck, but even better at night when the temple is beautifully lit. In the evenings we would sit on the deck and have a wonderful, candlelit dinner under the ruins - the waiter totally spoiled us since we were the only ones there.

Our suite overlooked the ocean, and we had a nice sized balcony with chairs to relax and read while in the room. If we wanted to go out for a walk, there were a couple of other small beachfront restaurants, and hiking up to the temple took about 15 minutes. I'd definitely recommend heading up there to watch the sunset!

We did have a guide take us to Athens for a day to see the major sights. We left the hotel at 9am and returned around 6pm, which was plenty of time. The round-trip was well worth it in order to stay at this hotel. It was about 40 minutes each way by taxi. And getting to the airport was easy as well - we had a very early flight out, but got there by taxi in about 25 minutes.

All-in-all I can't say enough about this hotel. It's not the most lavish we've ever stayed at, but it totally made our stay in Greece!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank copperrosemaiden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2008

Perfect location under the shadow of the Temple of Poseidon - which was our sole reason for visiting Sounio. We walked from the hotel to the Temple at sunset - perfect. As noted by other reviewers the hotel has been recently renovated. Upside - the room was clean, overlooked the beach and had views of the temple. Downside - the bathroom was very small and breakfast was ordinary. As we don't usually stay in large hotels - glad we were there end of season - I can imagine this hotel would be very busy in high summer.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissFussySydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2008

Stayed at the Aegeon Hotel for 7 nights. Get a taxi there as the buses are a bit iffy from the airport as you have to change bus in Marcopolo. Connection could be anything up to 1 hour

The Hotel is in an idylic postion with all of the rooms facing the sea with lovely big balconies. Rooms very well fitted out, a/c, nice decor, good bathroom with soap, shampoo and shower gel etc.

Breakfast very good - hot and cold choices with tables looking up to the Temple of Poseiden - what a way to start the day. Took a stroll up to the Temple most days before swimming and reading.

Two Tavernas next door with traditional Greek food - calamares, souvlaki et al.

Hotel restaurant excellent Regular buses to and from Lavrio and Athens every hour at the top of the hill Sea and beach lovely - free beds for residents - good snorkeling and swimming but VERY busy at the weekend with locals which was fun. Always yatchs in the bay which was nice to watch in between reading and swimming.

No local shops but we liked this a lot as this was a switch off the brain week away. Not good for people looking for stuff to do

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank marypa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2008

We live in Athens and we like to spend summer weekends in Sounio as it is really close to Athens and there are nice tavernas around. We usually stay at Cape Sounio hotel but this time, as it was a last minute decision, it was fully booked so we decided to try Aegeon.
The hotel is impressively located right on the foot of the Posidon temple, in front of a really nice beach. This, and the fact that almost all rooms have a sea & sunset view are the best parts of the hotel. Almost anything else ranges between average and annoying and it hardly competes as a 4 star hotel.
The building, dating back form the 60s, and is recently renovated.
Rooms are of average size and are decorated in a way which borders between "modern" and tacky. Cheap chinese reproductions everywhere with some personal touches here and there (copper painted wooden night table and shell covered ceiling lamps !) . Nice marble bathroom however but with absolutely no amenities.
The beach is nice. However, it is packed with 4 rows of umbrellas (although it is not that big) and about a trillion people and even more babies. There are babies everywhere, jumping, playing and crying all over. It is then that I realized that this is an open beach and everyone from Athens has access to it. You cannot help but intervene to other people's conversations as you all sweat together under the sun in one huge and loud party.
There is also a basic beach bar serving refreshments, beers and crisps accompanied with hideous "bouzouki" music coming out from a couple of really cheap speakers. At least the girls behind the bar were dancing and singing the lyrics passionately while they were serving the parents and their babies.
Breakfast was rather annoying with nothing but the very basic and of mediocre quality.
Finally, there is no convenience store for newspapers, cigarettes, magazines etc. in the hotel and the nearest one is 5-6 kilometers away.
Overall, I don't think I will ever go back there again, although that I would recommend it to parents.
There is absolutely no comparison to Cape Sounio which is 500 meters away but is double the price.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Costas P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sounio
11.4 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
454 reviews
6.5 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
300 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.1 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
18.4 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
17.1 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegeon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegeon Beach Hotel

Address: 68 Klm Athens- Sounio Ave, Sounio 195 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range: $120 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegeon Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegeon Beach Hotel is placed at the most beautiful spot in Europe, at Cape Sounio, where ancient Greeks worshipped the god of the sea Poseidon, right on the seashore. All 45 rooms claim a superb sea view and a private balcony to marvel the world-known sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Aegeon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sounio
Sounio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing