We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Last night in Greece” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Aegeon Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
Cheshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Last night in Greece”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed at the Aegeon Beach Hotel on the final night of our Greek holiday this month to be reasonably close to Athens Airport (30 mins) without staying at the (expensive) Sofitel there. It is in a picturesque spot overlooking the Temple and a lovely beach with good sunset photo opportunities!
Staff were friendly and helpful. Room had huge bed, balcony overlooking garden and beach, no tea and coffee making kit. Bath/shower was fine when we finally figured out how to turn it on! Beach towels are provided and guests have the choice of comfy loungers and brollys in front of the hotel. Breakfast was rather enjoyable with an excellent choice including bacon and sausages.
We didn't have dinner at the hotel but went to one of the two tavernas next door just for a change which was busy.
Check-out was easy except that we wanted to pay in cash but our booking agent had already whipped the money off our credit card! Not the hotel's fault.
A very pleasant and quiet last night's stay close to ATH.

Room Tip: You can pay extra for a room overlooking the Temple which is lit up at night and quite beautiful, bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Platsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    140
    85
    19
    4
    1
See reviews for
64
124
8
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Western Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

This hotel is by far the best we have stayed in so far on our holiday. It started with our welcome at reception, we arrived early in the morning due to our cruise docking in lavrio at 6am, instead of being told check in was at 2pm we were warmly welcomed and even invited to have breakfast. The room was clean and spacious and elegantly decorated as was the bathroom. The breakfast was superb, both in taste, variety and presentation. The staff were friendly and beautiful. I thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The rooms are a little dated especially the bathroom which it seemed impossible to take a shower in without getting the floor soaking wet but this is more than compensated by the friendly and helpful staff and the spectacular setting! We will definitely return to this hotel many times on our Greek travels especially as it is only 40 minutes away from the airport.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I are from Melbourne and we have stayed at this family owned hotel now quite a number of times. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and the hotel staff are incredibly obliging and friendly.
The breakfast provided is very generous and the restaurant has a very good menu.
For the avid photographers, the sunset from all the rooms is amazing and the Temple of Poseiden can be accessed by foot.
The hotel is located opposite a beautiful beach and feels as if you are on a small island.
There are two taverns just a walk away which we both recommend.
I will continue coming to this hotel whenever I am in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
paphos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were invited to a wedding in Lavrio, Attika, Greece and obviously looked for reasonable accommodation in that town. As previously reported there is no place to stay there!!! Locals inferred that most guests would be one nighters passing through for the ferry and that is not a good business proposition. So, we had little alternative but to stay in Sounio and the cheaper of the hotels was the Aegean.
It is a beach hotel, ie there is a beach and a hotel; plus of course the temple of Poseidon on top of the hill. As such it was really very good in every respect and there are a couple of excellent fish tavernas on the same beach, so, if you need a couple of nights in that part of the world it is ideal but if you're looking for a short stay before or after the ferry it might not fit the expenses bill. It will not hurt to ask for a special rate.
Access to Sounio from Athens airport was very easy and quick; catch the bus outside the Sofitel at the airport and change at Markopoulos for the bus to Sounio. From Athens city the link is direct. Ask the bus driver to drop you off at the top of the Aegean access road and the hotel is a short walk downhill. To catch the bus away from Sounio the hotel gave us a lift with the suitcase up to the bus stop. The bus fare was four Euros; another guest negotiated a taxi from the airport to Sounio for 50 Euros.
On the night of the last full moon of the summer there was a special concert at the temple - the result was total traffic jam from 2200 to 0100; however, from the hotel you can walk to the site.

Room Tip: I believe they are all sea view and all perfectly satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Knockingonabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

For an excellent price in the middle of full season (late August), we enjoyed a great 6 day holiday at this nice, recently refurbished hotel, in a clean, elegant room at ground level, a breath away from the beach. Decent breakfast, excellent kitchen, nice beach. Calm and quiet during the weekdays, becomes busy during weekends. Pleasant and efficient staff. Congratulations to all people involved. We will come back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTerzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Beautifully renovated hotel at the foot of the Poseidon temple in Sounio (it has a footpath to get there).
The beach is really great and within a very short distance from your room. The weekends of the summer season it gets overwhelmed with visitors from the local area, but you still have your own lounger and umbrella. The beach is so close you can have a swim before breakfast and before dinner as well!
The breakfast selection although small, it is of good quality

Ideal for a short stopover in Athens (fairly close to the airport) with an added benefit of a great beach and an amazing ancient temple next door.

Room Tip: The family rooms at the ground floor have their own garden and are practically within a hop from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoharis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sounio
6.5 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
3.5 of 5 stars 159 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
4.0 of 5 stars 322 reviews
17.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#1 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 stars 562 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
The Porto Kea Suites Hotel
17.5 mi away
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
16.7 mi away
Aigis Suites
Aigis Suites
#3 of 5 in Kea
4.5 of 5 stars 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegeon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegeon Beach Hotel

Property: Aegeon Beach Hotel
Address: 68 Klm Athens- Sounio Ave, Sounio 19500, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegeon Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegeon Beach Hotel is placed at the most beautiful spot in Europe, at Cape Sounio, where ancient Greeks worshipped the god of the sea Poseidon, right on the seashore. All 45 rooms claim a superb sea view and a private balcony to marvel the world-known sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Aegeon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sounio
Sounio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing