We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel, great value for money, beautiful beach and amazing sunset”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Aegeon Beach Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel, great value for money, beautiful beach and amazing sunset”
Reviewed September 8, 2012

My husband and I are from Melbourne and we have stayed at this family owned hotel now quite a number of times. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and the hotel staff are incredibly obliging and friendly.
The breakfast provided is very generous and the restaurant has a very good menu.
For the avid photographers, the sunset from all the rooms is amazing and the Temple of Poseiden can be accessed by foot.
The hotel is located opposite a beautiful beach and feels as if you are on a small island.
There are two taverns just a walk away which we both recommend.
I will continue coming to this hotel whenever I am in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    157
    102
    22
    4
    1
See reviews for
75
145
8
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
paphos
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We were invited to a wedding in Lavrio, Attika, Greece and obviously looked for reasonable accommodation in that town. As previously reported there is no place to stay there!!! Locals inferred that most guests would be one nighters passing through for the ferry and that is not a good business proposition. So, we had little alternative but to stay in Sounio and the cheaper of the hotels was the Aegean.
It is a beach hotel, ie there is a beach and a hotel; plus of course the temple of Poseidon on top of the hill. As such it was really very good in every respect and there are a couple of excellent fish tavernas on the same beach, so, if you need a couple of nights in that part of the world it is ideal but if you're looking for a short stay before or after the ferry it might not fit the expenses bill. It will not hurt to ask for a special rate.
Access to Sounio from Athens airport was very easy and quick; catch the bus outside the Sofitel at the airport and change at Markopoulos for the bus to Sounio. From Athens city the link is direct. Ask the bus driver to drop you off at the top of the Aegean access road and the hotel is a short walk downhill. To catch the bus away from Sounio the hotel gave us a lift with the suitcase up to the bus stop. The bus fare was four Euros; another guest negotiated a taxi from the airport to Sounio for 50 Euros.
On the night of the last full moon of the summer there was a special concert at the temple - the result was total traffic jam from 2200 to 0100; however, from the hotel you can walk to the site.

Room Tip: I believe they are all sea view and all perfectly satisfactory.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Knockingonabit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
33 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2012

For an excellent price in the middle of full season (late August), we enjoyed a great 6 day holiday at this nice, recently refurbished hotel, in a clean, elegant room at ground level, a breath away from the beach. Decent breakfast, excellent kitchen, nice beach. Calm and quiet during the weekdays, becomes busy during weekends. Pleasant and efficient staff. Congratulations to all people involved. We will come back next year for sure.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimTerzis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Beautifully renovated hotel at the foot of the Poseidon temple in Sounio (it has a footpath to get there).
The beach is really great and within a very short distance from your room. The weekends of the summer season it gets overwhelmed with visitors from the local area, but you still have your own lounger and umbrella. The beach is so close you can have a swim before breakfast and before dinner as well!
The breakfast selection although small, it is of good quality

Ideal for a short stopover in Athens (fairly close to the airport) with an added benefit of a great beach and an amazing ancient temple next door.

Room Tip: The family rooms at the ground floor have their own garden and are practically within a hop from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theoharis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield - Delaware County, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
49 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was our third visit to this beautiful hotel having stayed here in 2010 and 2011. We visited the Aegeon Hotel again for several days in June, 2012.

The location is fantastic, just below the Temple of Poseidon on its own private beach. The beach is easily accessible from the lower level of the hotel. There are umbrellas and sunbeds available to the guests of the hotel. The beautiful Aegean Sea in front of the hotel is usually dotted with boats and private yachts. The sunsets are spectacular.

The rooms are spacious and well-decorated. All the rooms have private balconies. The bathrooms are clean and well-appointed and the toiletries provided for the guests are of very good quality.

The views of the beach and surrounding area are amazing. The area is quiet and tranquil. All you hear at night are the sounds of the sea.

The breakfast is generous with various items including pastries, and is included in the price of the room. The staff was cordial, efficient and professional.

Access to the site of the Temple is just a few minutes away by car, and there is a very nice restaurant just before the entrance to the Temple and a Gift Shop, as well. The surrounding area of the Temple is populated by dozens of colorful partridges!

The view of the white marble structure at night is magical....the illuminated Temple seems to be suspended in space.

We had a very pleasant stay at this hotel and hope to return again soon.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kathy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level Contributor
54 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2012

Excellent location right by the temple of Poseidon, literally on the beach and with amazing sea views. The hotel offers good, modern design, basic breakfast and a decent restaurant and room service menu.

This was the second time we spent the weekend at this hotel, The previous one was in May, so very different experience. In May we found so relaxing, as the weather was pleasant, there were not many people staying at the hotel and the beach was practically empty.

This time, however, it was all very different. The hotel was full (which is OK), but the beach was jam packed with day bathers, making it very difficult to enjoy a swim. Also, the hotel car park is not very well organized resulting in people parking in every available free spot, making it extremely trick to manoeuvre in and out of the car park.

Room Tip: Unless you are desperate for a view of the temple of Poseidon, do not select a room with this view a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yiorgok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Level Contributor
316 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,072 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2012

We loved our stay at the Aegeon, on a lovely private beach in Sounon. Not far from Athens, we felt we were staying at some far-away island with a perfect beach, private sunsets, and an unbelievable view of the Temple of Poseidon from our room and the hotel restaurant

Room Tip: All rooms face the beach and the Temple of Poseidon
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank EANYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sounio
17.6 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
664 reviews
11.4 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
385 reviews
6.5 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.4 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
17.1 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
190 reviews
20.4 mi away
Brasil Suites Hotel Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Aegeon Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Aegeon Beach Hotel

Property: Aegeon Beach Hotel
Address: 68 Klm Athens- Sounio Ave, Sounio 195 00, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Aegeon Beach Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aegeon Beach Hotel is placed at the most beautiful spot in Europe, at Cape Sounio, where ancient Greeks worshipped the god of the sea Poseidon, right on the seashore. All 45 rooms claim a superb sea view and a private balcony to marvel the world-known sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Aegeon Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence Inn Sounio
Sounio Residence Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing