We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“sounion”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Temple of Poseidon

Temple of Poseidon
Book In Advance
More Info
$62.24*
and up
Sunset at the Cape Sounion Half Day Tour
Ranked #1 of 8 things to do in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“sounion”
Reviewed April 9, 2014

If you want to get a great taste of the country and the civilization you visit, if you go to Acropolis museum and see the marbles of Parthenon, don’t lose this great cultural event and experience.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank NIKOLAS S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,392 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,007
    316
    58
    8
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
184 reviews
69 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Once you see Athens...”
Reviewed April 5, 2014

...you can go here. We did a four-hour bus excursion. After you've "done" Athens, it's a nice drive along the coast and you get to see some nice vistas.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Temple of Poseidon”
Reviewed March 26, 2014

Easy bus ride from Athens, not expensive at all, beautiful view of the water during the bus ride (sit on the right side on the way down (door side), and left side on the way back (behind driver).

Not much there except the temple- which is an amazing sight, right on the water! Check site hours (limited in winter to 3pm, so get there about an hour before 3pm, and stay for end of day for a great sunset view. Check the bus schedule to make sure you can get back (in March, last bus back to Athens was 6pm I think).

There is a small restaurant at the bottom of the hill (not a tough climb at all), good drinks, but food is limited (ice cream was great)! Near the restaurant is another hill with a great view to the temple (bring your camera)!

It was definitely worth the trip!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Slyzak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“One of the best days of my life !”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

It is worth a trip out to Sounion to see the temple of Poseidon! The temple itself is very neat but there isn't a lot else in Sounion, no museum or anything. But the coolest thing is that there is a nice beach underneath where the temple is. From the beach you can see the temple. So I will always be able to say that I swam underneath the Temple of Poseidon, which I think is wicked cool, this made for one of the best days of my life. I highly recommend a day trip here if you are staying in Athens for a period of time (and especially if it is a good beach day).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank britravelgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kingston, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
113 reviews
60 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“worth the trip”
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The views of the greek coastline while driving from Athens to Sounion were breathtaking. We really enjoyed it. this temple is in great condition and there are amazing views of the Aegean sea. The waters were such beautiful shades of green and blue. This temple is less crowded than those in Athens which was a huge relief. We were able to relax and just enjoy the area. There are facilities, a shop, and a snack center at the base of the site.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank amybeth24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Temple of Poseidon also viewed

Sounio, East Attica Region
Sounio, East Attica Region
 
Vouliagmeni, East Attica Region
 

Been to Temple of Poseidon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing