We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,019)
Filter reviews
1,019 results
Traveler rating
544
263
126
42
44
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
544
263
126
42
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviews poseidon temple main building kids club breakfast and dinner private beach half board asian restaurant beach bar sea view huge variety beautiful resort relaxing holiday luxury hotel public areas salt water outdoor pool sea water
Sort and selected filters
Sort Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 1,019 reviews
Reviewed October 14, 2020 via mobile

This hotel has reorganised well to achieve high standards of Covid awareness and protection whilst enabling an atmosphere of relaxation and enjoyment.
The location is good for easy access from the airport. The hotel is beautiful and Has lovely views and a private beach.
Special mention of Evianios who gave fantastic service in the beach. And Georges and Christos in the restaurant.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank irenep470
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Minadakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Dear irenep470,

Thank you for taking the time to share your generous feedback further to your recent stay at Grecotel Cape Sounio.

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you felt safe in the resort, enjoying the tranquility and peacefulness of the natural surroundings. This year, the Hotel has operated according to the Covid-19 operations protocol of Grecotel, guided by the guidelines of the Hellenic Government for the safety of our guests.

Thank you for praising our team members with these kind words. Rest assured that your comments will be shared with all of them and especially with Evgenios, George and Christos.

We will be delighted to welcome you again in our resort. Till then, we wish you all the best and most importantly stay healthy!

Kind Regards,

Michalis Minadakis
The General Manager
Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2020 via mobile

Not a 5 star hotel and poor value for money. Staff is motivated and friendly but accommodation old and needs to be renovated. Also several things were not working in the room (ie telephone, safe etc). Food very expensive, a main course starts at €35. Beach is nice though

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
2  Thank 6848Michael
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Minadakis, General Manager at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Dear 6848Michael,

Thank you for taking the time and effort to write a review regarding your recent stay at Grecotel Cape Sounio. We appreciate your kind words regarding the beautiful beach of the Hotel as well as regarding the motivation and friendliness of the Hotel team.

We were very concerned to read about the points you have expressed disappointment with and I would like to apologize for any inconvenience caused. This is certainly not indicative of the atmosphere we would like to offer and the high level of accommodation.

We would like to assure you that we will take each and every one of them into serious consideration, in the framework of our efforts to improve the level of service we provide to the guests who honour us with their preference. However, we would like to assure you that your remarks will be addressed with the maintenance department as well as the food and beverage department.

We do hope you will give us another opportunity to welcome you back at Grecotel Cape Sounio, to enjoy an experience that truly reflects the service we provide.


Kind Regards,

Michalis Minadakis
The General Manager
Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2020

My Family and I spent our summer in Greece. Grecotel Cape Sounio has been a must for us the past few years. The scents, sounds, and beauty are the norm on this exquisite property. During these troubled times the words patience, understanding, and communication are a must. We are very familiar with the property and although things were different this year, in our minds and hearts things were the same the staff made sure of that. This years first experience was upon arrival, and there were 2 beautiful bouquets waiting for my wife and daughter for a special celebration, all the idea of the hotel. We were greeted by the General Manager, Mr. Mihalis Minadakis, Ms. Vera took care of our every need, no request went unheard. We took what we received and always turned into a positive. The glass always remained half full for us. The staff, customer service, room, food, and just common decency was nothing less than first class, typical of the Grecotel experience. This all under the supervision of Mr. Mihalis Minadakis (General Manager). I have coined the phrase "Minadakis Magic". When do you see a GM who picks up garbage if he sees it, and says hello, and makes time for every guest. He rolls up his sleeves if necessary and is even willing to assist in the kitchen. That is dedication, and the need for excellence. Whether it's a weekend, 5 or 10 days you will experience the true calmness, beauty and magic of the resort and all if has to offer. 5*+ Can't wait to return. Kali Sinexia!!

Room tip: Choose a room with a view of the Temple of Poseidon. The scene at night is magical.
Date of stay: August 2020
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank LouieTzatzanis
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Minadakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2020

Dear Explore43850295998,

We would like to warmly thank you for taking the time and effort to share such a lovely review further to your recent stay at Grecotel Cape Sounio. Feedback coming from our loyal guests, like you, is extremely important for all us and at the same time is the greatest motivation during the difficult circumstances that the world is facing.

Nothing can be compared with the happiness that is spread all around our team when we are welcoming back guests who choose our resort as their “personal sanctuary”. We consider you as members of our Grecotel Family and we will always attend to each and every detail in order to ensure you magnificent stays in our premises.

Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members and myself. Rest assured that your wonderful review is shared with all our team!

We are looking forward to welcoming you again and again! In the meantime, we wish you a happy and safe winter!

Sincerely Yours,

Michalis Minadakis
The General Manager
Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2020 via mobile

I agree with the recent TripAdvisor reviews. We were very much looking forward to coming to this hotel but unfortunately were quite disappointed on many occasions. The hotel itself looks like a 5 star hotel and certainly has a great position. We arrived and was told the Oriental restaurant and spa was closed - this left just 2 main restaurants to eat at that basically served the same food. There is not much to do at the hotel and outside restaurants and towns are quite far. The bedrooms did not represent the photos advertised, our room needed renovating and a thorough clean (dirty floor, old damp bathrooms, cobwebs and many bugs would walk in). We did request a double but were given a twin bed. Housekeeping only came once during our stay and when we requested towels, shower gel, cups, toilet roll etc. this never came. Personally, I think housekeeping is vital and should be daily at least given the current climate and staff should have correct PPE to protect themselves (like the U.K. have approached). The door locking system was complicated and odd - I can imagine it’s hard for weaker and older people to slide those large doors shut (my mum found it quite difficult). Every meal we had was warm-cold and certain food or drinks would be forgotten - often we just let it go because service was unfortunately slow. Particularly in the morning buffet, they had a system where they’d place yogurt, pastries, cheese, meats etc. on your table and we were vegetarians so almost every morning this was wasted. The hot beverages we ordered were mostly forgotten and always warm-cold when we did receive them. We requested milk alternatives with our hot drinks but this was also forgotten. I understand mistakes happen, but this happened every morning and we had to continually ask again. I emailed the hotel prior to our arrival to ask for details and a late check out, but this never got responded to. I do understand this is dependant on availability. When I asked the gentleman at reception for a late checkout the day before we were leaving, he was very hostile and did not want to help. Coming from a hotel management background myself, I did not appreciate his resistance to help. I asked him if the next guests could be moved to another room to allow us to have a later check out. The hotel was very empty and I cannot imagine every room was booked out on a Wednesday evening.. He checked again and then replied no sorry unless you pay €100 and something (that to me meant he must have availability if he was able to charge me to keep the room..?). Overall we were disappointed and would not return to this hotel.

Date of stay: October 2020
Thank elliemaicollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Minadakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2020

Dear Ms. elliemaicollins,

We would like to thank you for taking the time and effort to share your experience here at Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Hotel.
Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience you experienced during your stay with us.

While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve. We work hard to deliver an exceptional guest experience, and it's apparent in this case that we fell short. If you give us a chance to earn back your trust, I can assure you that we will do our best to give you the great hotel experience that so many of our guests have grown so fond of.
We have reviewed all the issues you have encountered in our resort with our management team and we have taken all necessary actions to ensure this unfortunate lapse in our services will not recur.

Hopefully we will be given the opportunity to welcome you back at Cape Sounio in the future and in the meantime we wish you all the best and stay healthy!

Kind Regards,
Michalis Minadakis
The General Manager
Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 2, 2020 via mobile

I agree with other recent reviews. The resort outside looks beautiful and very 5 star but the bedrooms are pretty basic. The bathroom is small and quite old with worn out towels and the beds are small singles with only a sheet and blanket. Also, the rooms only get tidied (not cleaned) every 2 days so you have to request clean towels, tea / coffee. Because of Covid precautions, check in was electronic and breakfast is brought to the table, not necessarily what you would choose as you are not allowed to touch anything on the buffet but wait to be served so it's all pretty slow even with few guests here.Staff do their best but it all feels quite cold and impersonal. Also, the bedrooms have the worst, most complicated door locking system I've ever come across and within a couple of days, both our rooms wouldn't unlock / lock so we were constantly backwards and forwards to reception to get them fixed.

The other main point to mention is that there is nowhere to walk to from this resort because of a busy main road. You either have to eat and drink here at hotel prices or get taxis out in the evening which we did - €15 each way to the nearest town.

We had a nice few days but I wouldn't return.

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Traveled with family
2  Thank BillieBrighton_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews.
Michael Minadakis, Γενικός Διευθυντής at Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort, responded to this reviewResponded November 3, 2020

Dear BillieBrighton_UK,

We appreciate the time taken to share your valuable feedback with us through Trip Advisor. We are sorry to learn of your dissatisfaction during your recent stay at Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Hotel.

Our primary goal is to offer each and every one of our guests an enjoyable stay. We are extremely disappointed to learn that we did not succeed in this during your stay regarding the room and door lock and would like to offer our sincerest apologies. We have reviewed all the issues mentioned with the heads of department, in order to take all necessary actions. While I wish you had a better experience, it is feedback like this that we learn from and use to improve.

This year, according to the Covid-19 operations protocol, some of the services provided were different. We understand that this may seem unpleasant, but we are taking very seriously the disastrous consequences that the world is facing because of the pandemic and we took all the necessary precautions against its spread.

We do hope that you will reconsider visiting us again, so that we can offer you the exceptional experience that you should have received. Till then, we wish you all the best and most importantly stay health!

Kind Regards,
Michalis Minadakis
The General Manager
Cape Sounio Grecotel Boutique Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews