We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE location, great staff, great beach....”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 6, 2013

Our stay at Cape Sounio was more than pleasant: great location, "close and...far" from the Athens centre, marvelous staff and superb breakfast. The only thing that needs a "light facelift" is the pool area which is showing its age...
It is not recommended for a very long stay (distance from recreational centres will turn you off), but three-four nights there will change your mood for good

Room Tip: The sea view rooms are great.
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maria-callas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (689)
There are newer reviews for Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

274 - 280 of 689 reviews

Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay at the Cape Sounio hotel. Rooms are spacious and clean and offer all amenities. The hotel has a large swimming pool and private access to the sea. There is also a gym and tennis courts.

The quality and variety of food is superb and all meals are served at a beautiful terrace offering spectacular views of the temple of Poseidon.

As to the quality of service offered, it is simply outstanding. All personnel are very polite and offering to assist before you even have the chance to ask for it. Special thanks to the hotel manager Mr Stamatiou for attending to all our needs and making this stay truly memorable.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Themis_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Same story as other guests.Booked the hotel in May, bungalow with sea view, changed rooms and none with seaview.
Hotel is over rated, hotel beach area very dirty, poor choice of meals unless you want greek salad every day. Miles away from a 5 or a 4 star hotel except for the price.
Employees very friendly and dedicated. Not impressed at all

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Calica1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

I stayed here with my girfriend and family.

Very nice setting, and spacious family room with a nice balcony. Very nice swimming pool and private beach with a little pricey but good restaurants. A very good place if you want to relax. The breakfast and view is amazing. The staff is very friendly and helpful. They have a golf cart service that can take you around in the resort. The spa area is very nice but I missed the wellness. There werent jaccuzis neither saunas or steam baths. There was one jacuzzi by the pool that I didn't like. We tried the aroma massage for two which was very good for the usual price at a hotel like this. One thing that took a while to figure out was the lock on our rooms door. They should change that want working very good it was kind of hard to open it. Once we figured out it was a lot easier though.

I would definitely come back here to relax.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gabor V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location, good service, good food, deaf management .....have told them five times on five different visits, verbally and in writing , that it is totally unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber the absence of ramps for people on wheelchairs and it seems noone is listening, so i'm not visiting anymore.
There is no ramp in the entrance but a step, so help is needed to climb and proceed to check in.
Furthermore accessibility to the gardens and rooms is difficult and further steps encountered at a section of the "a la carte" restaurant .
Definitely NOT what you expect from a well known and heavily publicized five star hotel especially when talking about very cheap modifications that will provide enormous help to the users .

Room Tip: If you are using a wheelchair, make sure you get some very thorough information about the accessibil...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at the Grecotel on a weekend half-price offer (Friday and Saturday night). Located in a pretty secluded area in Cape Sounio at the southern-most tip of the Attica peninsula, this hotel promotes (successfully so) its exclusivity. Rooms are small bungalows or villas spread over the hillside around the main building which houses the reception, lounges and restaurants.
There is no lack of staff and they are all very courteous and happy to oblige. The room was spacious and well-equipped, although emphasis was on design rather than practicality.
My only quip was that the double bed was two singles pushed together.
I consider the standard of a hotel's breakfast an important factor and the Grecotel's buffet breakfast was did not disappoint.
One can use the large pool -several villas also have their own smaller private pools - or the beach. Drinks and snacks or meal are available in both areas, served by the always polite and courteous hotel staff. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel - even on the beach.
Overall a high standard establishment.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mileclocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Grecotel Cape Sounio is a nice hotel. Great value. Breakfast is the best. Room is so nice clear and comfortable. Great view of the Sounio ancient temple and also of the nearby sea in a way that you sit back and relax any time of the day.The bungalow we stayed at was excellent, very clean and in general as we expected for a five star hotel like that. Every single employee was always eager to help and assist with any problem you had in the best polite way. the hotel provided free wifi which worked very well everywhere Our villa had the most amazing views of the Temple of Poseidon and it really makes the place. The hotel has a lovely beach plus a lovely pool near the main building plus two more near the Spa which also is top quality.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank DonPepe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sounio
10.8 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Aegeon Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sounio
327 reviews
5.9 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
733 reviews
17.8 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
16.5 mi away
The Porto Kea Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Address: 67th Km Athinon - Souniou, Sounio 195 00, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Cape Sounio)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range: $194 - $1,219 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous archaeological sites of Greece is the Temple of Poseidon in Sounio, south-east of Athens. The Grecotel Cape Sounio literally clings to the side of a pine-clad hillside with panoramic views over this ancient monument. Behind the hotel is the Sounio National Park and below the hotel are two bays (one sandy and the other is shingle) which are approached via tunnels under the road (ancient river path). The buildings are set in an amphitheatre shape allowing exhilarating views of the Temple of Poseidon and the sea from most guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Cancelon, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Cape Sounio Hotel Sounio
Grecotel Cape Hotel Sounio
Grecotel Cape Resort Sounio
Cape Sounio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing