We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor accessibility for people on wheelchairs” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, Greece
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Poor accessibility for people on wheelchairs”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location, good service, good food, deaf management .....have told them five times on five different visits, verbally and in writing , that it is totally unacceptable for a hotel of this caliber the absence of ramps for people on wheelchairs and it seems noone is listening, so i'm not visiting anymore.
There is no ramp in the entrance but a step, so help is needed to climb and proceed to check in.
Furthermore accessibility to the gardens and rooms is difficult and further steps encountered at a section of the "a la carte" restaurant .
Definitely NOT what you expect from a well known and heavily publicized five star hotel especially when talking about very cheap modifications that will provide enormous help to the users .

Room Tip: If you are using a wheelchair, make sure you get some very thorough information about the accessibil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nikolas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

596 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    321
    156
    64
    26
    29
See reviews for
205
245
15
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (108)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

I stayed at the Grecotel on a weekend half-price offer (Friday and Saturday night). Located in a pretty secluded area in Cape Sounio at the southern-most tip of the Attica peninsula, this hotel promotes (successfully so) its exclusivity. Rooms are small bungalows or villas spread over the hillside around the main building which houses the reception, lounges and restaurants.
There is no lack of staff and they are all very courteous and happy to oblige. The room was spacious and well-equipped, although emphasis was on design rather than practicality.
My only quip was that the double bed was two singles pushed together.
I consider the standard of a hotel's breakfast an important factor and the Grecotel's buffet breakfast was did not disappoint.
One can use the large pool -several villas also have their own smaller private pools - or the beach. Drinks and snacks or meal are available in both areas, served by the always polite and courteous hotel staff. There is complimentary Wi-Fi throughout the hotel - even on the beach.
Overall a high standard establishment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mileclocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Budapest
Level Contributor
84 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2013

Grecotel Cape Sounio is a nice hotel. Great value. Breakfast is the best. Room is so nice clear and comfortable. Great view of the Sounio ancient temple and also of the nearby sea in a way that you sit back and relax any time of the day.The bungalow we stayed at was excellent, very clean and in general as we expected for a five star hotel like that. Every single employee was always eager to help and assist with any problem you had in the best polite way. the hotel provided free wifi which worked very well everywhere Our villa had the most amazing views of the Temple of Poseidon and it really makes the place. The hotel has a lovely beach plus a lovely pool near the main building plus two more near the Spa which also is top quality.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DonPepe12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
219 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2013

We spent a long weekend at Cape Sounio Hotel and I must say we had a great time.
The hotel is located in a really fantastic location just over an hours drive from Athens and all their villas and bungalows are spread in a huge area full of mature olive and pine trees as well as lovely gardens.
Our villa had the most amazing views of the Temple of Poseidon and it really makes the place.
The villa was large enough with a small private garden and plunging pool.
The furniture inside needs some updating including the TV set with its 80's style.
Also the shower is over a bath tub which you don't expect in a 5star hotel.
The main building is quite nice with lovely lobby lounge and a number of restaurants.
The breakfast is served on the first floor and has lovely views and I must say an amazing selection of food served by really friendly and helpful staff. I must also say that the food in the Asian restaurant, Pool Bar etc was of excellent quality and big portions. I again want so say that in these restaurants we tried the staff was extremely good and nothing was difficult.
The villa was always clean and everything was perfect including the welcome treats of wine cakes etc.
The hotel has a lovely beach plus a lovely pool near the main building plus two more near the Spa which also is top quality.
Always remember that although the beach is "private", the area is open to all by Greek law.
Finally , pleasantly, wi fi is free across the hotel even by the sea side!
It's a great hotel in a fantastic location and we would happily go back again.

Room Tip: Make sure you have a villa with views of the Temple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OTT12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

A good luxurious hotels with a few problems but a great feeling at the end of your stay. Great view of the Sounio ancient temple and also of the nearby sea in a way that you sit back and relax any time of the day. The bungalow we stayed at was excellent, very clean and in general as we expected for a five star hotel like that. The only problem here was the really uncomfortable matresses we had on our beds. Great restaurants, excellent breakfast and also a quite good buffet during dinner but not as satisfying as breakfast. The beach below the hotel is quite good and almost private and can make you relax and enjoy drinks and refreshments from the inside bar. Great service from the personell. Every single employee was always eager to help and assist with any problem you had in the best polite way. I would definitely visit the place again although it is a bit more expensive than it should be for what it offers.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carni7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

we stayed 3 nights early June at the end of our honeymoon. having just got off a 7 night sailing trip with limited facilities this was a total joy.. the location and facilities were fantastic and it has a real resort feel to it where you can really relax . We had booked/prepaid a few months ago and got fairly good deal which included a honeymoon package upgrade of a sea view bungalow which was greatly appreciated along with a few nice touches (wine in room/upgrade etc)

whilst i do agree with a few of the other comments about tv being slightly old fashioned and strange sliding door between bedroom and bathroom (which is also quite small area), i have to say we actually liked the space and concept of the rooms and the overall space was very good especially with the outside terrace area..yes it could do with a touch up/light renovation in the bedrooms ( and a newer tv- but as we didnt even switch it on i cant say we cared!) but the room was of good spec , clean and comfortable and i felt good value for what we paid.

the decor in main hotel/restaurant/pool area is very high standard and we also loved the private beach facilities..
the hotel has a lovely spa (and great beach massages:).. the hotel provided free wifi which worked very well everywhere (except for parts of the beach)

we had a superb dinner on the last night in their a la carte restaurant- outdoor dining with great food and service- overlooking the spectacular Poseidon temple (worth a visit to watch the sunset)

Few minor flaws which individually didn't matter but became irritating as they amalgamated!
1. hotel provided tea and coffee in rooms- but no milk was ever brought/replenished
2. the excellent breakfast selection each day was totally spoilt by the continuing service of cold coffee- despite numerous requests, they continued to serve this from their urns which clearly dont retain the heat!
3. an excellent quality meal in their (expensive)asian restaurant was totally spoilt by the fact they did not serve the side dishes of rice, noodles and veg with main course...they brought out after we had finished the meal.. and annoyingly they could not understand why we would want these at same time as the main course!.. no apology (we didnt get charged for the veg )-
4. fridge didnt work properly in room and wasnt fixed tho we did tell them
5. the double "honeymoon"bed was actually two singles pushed together with double sheet.. the mattresses were comfy but having a split in middle wasnt!!

the above were minor irritants to be honest and didn't affect our stay and we would certainly go back .. they just need to be aware of these niggles especially for a 5 star hotel striving i would hope for consistency

Room Tip: all the bungalows are separate from the main hotel however they do provide carts to take you to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DJL3131
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
220 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Reaching the hotel we found a really warm welcome: "You booked the cheapest bungalow, so we upgraded your reservation to a bungalow with a sea view..." My wife looked at me with a sardonian smile and saved her comments for later: "Imagine my dear, if I would have been your date, how this would have seemed to me!" "Well, I replied, if 250 euro per night is the cheapest, I should probably ask the receptionist how many nights SHE would book out of her less than 1000 euro salary (in the best case scenario)" . It was really "nice" of her to remind me though how cheap I am!
Entering the room we went to the balcony from which you would't be able to see any part of the sea while seated (check photo no 1). I called the reception trying to find out if they had ever tried that view from our room. Our complaint didn't really work as moving us to an up front room gave us only a better view to the open sky (see photo no 2). Not to mention the noise from the hotel's transportation cars right in front of us!
We visited the Mediterranean kitchen buffet for dinner: average variety of dishes, unacceptable chicken (tasteless with increased "elasticity"), soft and tasteful kebab but not always well cooked, fair effort on cold plates with "fishy or floury" overtakes but again a well experienced chef should have done better. The desserts though were one of a kind and they were all worth to try. OVERALL : OVERPRICED buffet, with 45 euro per person + 42 euro for a decent bottle of white wine! At the same area we had breakfast the next morning. The staff is so polite you can't resist to smile and respond positively. Because most of them (if not all of them) are eager to serve well without any hypocritical intention.
Lets move back to the room (bungalow if you wish). The bathroom is so small you don't feel like having a bath to relax. The ashtray outside in the balcony was full from the previous customers smoked cigarettes and the ants were smashing their leftovers dropped on the floor... (hmmmm, sounds tasty). The tv set (check photo no 3) honors the previous century's hi tech with the exceptional quality snowing signal! I WILL mention the WC although my wife didn't want me to: it is placed on the side, separately from the bathroom (thank God) but the size of it is so small that I wondered if my rear end got larger suddenly...
To finish this, I'll go back several years ago, in a wonderful (real) 5* hotel of San Antonio-Texas upon the river side ,(can't recall its name), where I paid 176 USD for a suite, with a lovely view towards the river. The highlight was the restaurant called "Las Canarias" where the gastronomic dishes from the buffets were unforgettably tasteful.
As a greek citizen I am very proud for my beautiful country but the borders of enjoyment should be unlimited , especially if we pay a month's salary in just a few days!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank HellasKifissia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sounio
0.6 mi away
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Aegeon Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sounio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
17.0 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 659 reviews
10.8 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
3.5 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
17.7 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
16.4 mi away
Vouliagmeni Suites
Vouliagmeni Suites
#6 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Property: Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Address: 67th Km Athinon - Souniou, Sounio 195 00, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Cape Sounio)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous archaeological sites of Greece is the Temple of Poseidon in Sounio, south-east of Athens. The Grecotel Cape Sounio literally clings to the side of a pine-clad hillside with panoramic views over this ancient monument. Behind the hotel is the Sounio National Park and below the hotel are two bays (one sandy and the other is shingle) which are approached via tunnels under the road (ancient river path). The buildings are set in an amphitheatre shape allowing exhilarating views of the Temple of Poseidon and the sea from most guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Cape Sounio Hotel Sounio
Grecotel Cape Hotel Sounio
Grecotel Cape Resort Sounio
Cape Sounio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing