We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 30, 2013

The key mechanism is very bad, not friendly. I would spend each time 15 minutes trying to enter the room. No internet connection in the room. No privacy regarding the balcony or the bathroom. For one glass of water during the lunch they would charge me the whole 1 l which I did not drink. With my bottle they would give water to other guests and they would charge them too for the whole bottle they did not drink. This was not correct. Other: view, nature, flowers, food perfect.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank DebbyChue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (690)
There are newer reviews for Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 691 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2013

I stayed at Cape Sounio for 4 days last week. Stunned to find that there was NO INTERNET connection for guests, most of whom were conference participants. Some guests had been assured via e-mail that there would be wifi in the rooms so imagine the frustration and incredulity at finding no wifi connection in the hotel and no telephone connection in the room. Telephone was reconnected after a couple of days - long after a near nervous breakdown of one of the guests who needed to keep in urgent contact with family.

The bath in the room scenario is a pathetic idea. Fortunately I wasn't sharing! Reading lights were ineffective and the furniture was more appropriate for a horror movie. I went to the mini market outside the main entrance for bottled water. Bath robes had seen better days and were certainly not generous. Cupboards were dated. The bathroom area needed attention.

Food: A coffee cost 5 euro!! Wine was expensive - the plastic bottles mentioned above were 8 euros each! As the conference progressed, the food became less varied and more canteen style.

We didn't have time to sample the pool which looked appealing. The door was a nightmare to open and close and the lock was a challenge. I was terrified I would lock myself in - I wasn't too worried by the difficulty getting into my room since I could call on fellow conference participants to rescue me. But with no telephone in the room and locked in, I felt I was incarcerated.

Checking in on line for departure was a long drawn out affair and like a previous reviewer, getting the luggage brought from the room to the lobby took 40 minutes and then only after I walked to the reception to demand that a buggy be despatched to collect it. The staff, certainly the best asset of this pathetic outfit, just cannot cope at a very busy time. You can't wheel your luggage to an elevator and ride down to the lobby - the rooms are arranged around the site which is basically a series of terraces on a steep hill. Luggage has to be collected by a golf cart style buggy - there are only so many available at a time.

The staff were all pleasant and as helpful as they could be BUT they are not magicians and they have to charge the exhorbitant prices that are listed. No member of staff can produce a telephone connection or internet connection that is simply not available. Having a conference at this establishment means that the management knew a large group of people would require instant communication facilities and not providing such basic services is unforgiveable.

I don't know what category this belongs to but I would place the actual room at 3 star; communication services at 2 star and physical location at 4, if you get the sea view room - otherwise you might as well stay at a local farmhouse.

Room Tip: Insist on a sea view - preferably a view of the Temple of Poseidon. Make sure you can manage the doo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Anna F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Stayed here for three days, and the cracks certainly appeared. The location may be magnificent, but that is what you pay for, certainly NOT the service. The hotel had recently opened after its winter break, and there was no internet available. I had been counting on that so i could do work while my wife attended a conference in the hotel. The exterior of the rooms needed maintenance - exposed wood needed to be revarnished etc. Inside the rooms are dated, and could certainly do with a makeover.
If the food provided to the conference was anything to go by, the chef really needs to be changed. It was bland and of the quality you expect at a motorway services.
On the day of departure, I got locked out of the room, and it took two trips to reception to get my key to work to gain entry, the sort of service you do not expect from an 'exclusive' resort.
This is certainly NOT a five star resort, or five star anything. Would I stay at this hotel again, not by choice.

Room Tip: If you don't want to climb a mountain, or have to rely on a buggy ride to get to your room, choo...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rob M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 11, 2013

I stayed there for 3 days with my boyfriend and friends who had a 6 month old at the time. My bf and I had our own room and our friends had their own room, but we were only a few doors away so it was close enough to visit in a few minutes but far enough that we didn't hear any baby cries at night ;)

The hotel itself had gorgeous landscaping, several different buildings dedicated to various activities (e.g. spa/gym, kids area, main building with the lobby had the breakfast served upstairs and meeting/business rooms in the basement). Everyone working there was amazing and jumped at our every need. They really seemed to want to work there which was incredible in making us feel welcome.

The breakfast each morning was amazing - tons of food, lots of variety, and it changed from day to day. The pool was spacious enough for everyone to swim and lounge around in. The beach was nice but the water was cold and I'm more into pools anyway so it worked out. The enclosed hot tub was cool and not many people seem to use it so my friends and I had the place to ourselves when we were there. My friend tried one of the spa services and loved it.

There's a small enclosed area that my bf and I found when we went for a walk that a bunch of animals were in - looked almost like a petting zoo of sorts. There were two peacocks, one of which was making a ton of noise, and it was the funniest thing. Seek it out if you're there!

The only downsides for me - the bathroom was open to the rest of the room so it seemed like it lacked privacy. The toilet, for example, was in a separate room, but the door was opaque and you could still see the outline of the other person. Not great for someone who likes their toilet time to be private. Be comfortable with who you're sharing the room with! Another con for me is that everything seemed to close early. I wanted a snack in the evening and walked over to the mini mart and it was closed already. It seemed like once 8pm hit, everything shut down.

Even with those two potential downsides, I enjoyed my stay and would go back for their fresh juices at breakfast and the friendly employees.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Liz C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2013

i was really dissapointed when i woke up from the ants which were walking on the bed and we ask for new sheets but they answered us that they could not do anything as it is really early. the breakfast buffet was really good but the area was full of flies but the food was uncovered

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank aspasianaxaki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 7, 2012

this hotel has one of the most amazing views, facing the sea . the famous sunset of sounio and the temple of poseidon. What a pitty that it does not stand out to that scenery. Don't get me wrong, the place is not bad, but i just kind of got the feeling that it has not been taken care of. maintenance, gardening, service...not terrible but second class. I did not like the room. I hated the bath IN the room, nothing but a shower curtain separating the tub from the room and a glass door separating the toilet from the room. Water coming out everytime we flushed the toilet. medium sized bed and rather hard to lie on. the room furniture looked, or was in fact, old. the balcony did not offer any privacy.
the room was very far from the reception, most of the times we had to use the golf cars, which was tiring.
bad service at the pool, dirty , really dirty towels at the pool.
nice food, only tasted the buffet though.
we took a standard room so maybe the really expensive villas are better.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chicabianca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2012

It was our second visit to this perfect 5 star hotel. Amazing!!!. Top class service , excellent breakfast and dinner buffet (we had the romantic offer). Recommended for sure...Just have in mind that this place is suitable to relax and there are no other places (bars, restaurants, cafes) near by...

Room Tip: Have a sea view room or the one with the private pool (if you can afford it)
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank StergGR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sounio
10.8 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
440 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Aegeon Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Sounio
327 reviews
5.9 mi away
Plaza Resort Hotel
Plaza Resort Hotel
#2 of 3 in Anavyssos
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.0 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#2 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
734 reviews
17.8 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
16.5 mi away
The Porto Kea Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort

Address: 67th Km Athinon - Souniou, Sounio 195 00, Greece (Formerly Grecotel Cape Sounio)
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Sounio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sounio
Price Range: $206 - $1,276 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most famous archaeological sites of Greece is the Temple of Poseidon in Sounio, south-east of Athens. The Grecotel Cape Sounio literally clings to the side of a pine-clad hillside with panoramic views over this ancient monument. Behind the hotel is the Sounio National Park and below the hotel are two bays (one sandy and the other is shingle) which are approached via tunnels under the road (ancient river path). The buildings are set in an amphitheatre shape allowing exhilarating views of the Temple of Poseidon and the sea from most guestrooms and public areas. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Cape Sounio, Grecotel Exclusive Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grecotel Cape Sounio Hotel Sounio
Grecotel Cape Hotel Sounio
Grecotel Cape Resort Sounio
Cape Sounio

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing