We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Surprisingly good private zoo” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Attica Zoological Park

Attica Zoological Park
Book In Advance
More Info
$51.94*
and up
Attica Zoological Park with Optional Shopping Experience and Private Transport...
Ranked #1 of 7 things to do in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Attica Zoological Park offers its visitors a unique journey to the five continents, through the lives of over 2.000 animals, from 350 species.A self-funded creation, extends to a total area of 20 hectares, hosting more than 2000 animals from 350 different species. It is located in Spata area near Athens International Airport
Europe
Level Contributor
543 reviews
209 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 319 helpful votes
“Surprisingly good private zoo”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Having regularly visited great zoo's like San Diego, Frankfurt, Zurich etc, I was surprised to find a smaller, but decent zoo in Athens.

Besides having a great collection of birds and other specials (white tigers, jaguars, bird of prey show or educational dolphin show for kids), it has a good space for some species, ie savannah (zebras, oryx, giraffes etc) or bears and shimpanzees.

Some predators and birds clearly lack space, but I've experienced much worse in many of Europe's zoos.

The staff at ticketing and cafeteria is quite apathic unfortunately.

Overall, a good place to go with children and we go there mostly on cooler days.

Do avoid in very hot weather, as hardly any shade around and if you go at least 3x a year, simply buy the annual ticket.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Matyas L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

329 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    203
    97
    17
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limassol, Cyprus
Level Contributor
57 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Fun Family Day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2014

I am not a big fan of zoos. However due to the insistence of the rest of the members of my family I have visited quite a few.

The one in Spata, Athens, has proved to be a real fun day out. Though the actual zoo is not as big as similar ones in other European countries, it still hosts a large variety of animals in what appears (in my humble/ I know nothing about opinion) clean and pleasant enough (for the animals) environment.

A specific feature we enjoyed was a fake jeep, sort of entering half way the lion cage, giving you the change of a real close up with a lion when you are in the driver's seat.

Additionally we enjoyed the dolphin show, again because of the chance to sit very close to the pool (and get wet on a hot day- excellent!).

What would improve the experience would be: cheaper tickets, cheaper zoo shop and more trees...we were lucky enough to have cloudy weather, I believe that on a sunny day it will be very hot and unpleasant.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank pioann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyprus
Level Contributor
149 reviews
65 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“A great experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2014

A greta experience, very nice place to visit at athens.
The only negative was the cafe which was not clean (tables were not clean and chairs her and there, the staff of the cafe was just chating with other staff and actually did not work, leaving the cafe in a mess).
I visited the park mid of june 2014

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aramis-Klo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A Must-see of Athens”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

A beautiful place full of interesting animals with excellent facilities. We go at 6pm. It was a good time cause most of the animals are in action. Very funny place the Big Cage with the lemurs that you walk inside of it and they come to you to play with them. Giraffes, penguins, bears, lions, white tigers, black panthers and many many other animals where all there. I hope the next time I will meet some Elephants there also! If you are in Athens you have to visit this place for sure. Many pictures at the Facebook Page will convince you.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Vasilis P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larnaka City, Cyprus
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

The location of the zoo isn't the best. We went there right after arriving in Athens as it was in our way to the hotel. We had to take the taxi as the metro couldn't get you anywhere close to the park and we paid about 27 euro. After leaving, we had to wait for 45 minutes for the only bus that can take you to the closest metro station and then take the metro to the centre of Athens where our hotel was. As for the park, it seems smaller than advertised. The rhinos were trying to avoid the heat and st at a corner far away from the viewing spot. The hippos hidden under the mud pool. Three cages empty without any notice of what happened with the animals (one of them was supposed to be for cheetahs). The crocodiles were quite small and most of the park was filled with birds, some of which were common like parrots you can find at pet shops. They have a dolphin show for which you have to pay extra. You might not be glad paying for this if you have been to a good enough zoo before.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kyriacos A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Attica Zoological Park also viewed

 

Been to Attica Zoological Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing