We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel Athens Airport has outstanding sound-proofing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Plymouth, Devon
Level 6 Contributor
616 reviews
152 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 554 helpful votes
“Sofitel Athens Airport has outstanding sound-proofing”
Reviewed July 7, 2010

Well, the sound-proofing was better than other airport hotels that I've stayed in BUT first impressions count: one member of staff on duty (mid-afternoon) and the guests in front seemed to take a long time to be checked in...then, the receptionist said she had to go and do something. When I was dealt with, it transpired that there were no no-smoking rooms left in 'Superior' category and, to be fair, they upgraded me to the next category, i.e. 'Deluxe'. Not a lot of choice in my view as I'm an A Club member and there need to be benefits if they expect guests to join.

The room was good - a decent size, bath/shower room separate to w.c. YET no iron and ironing board! This has become a 'pet' item as can be noted on previous reviews (sometimes, it's absolutely essential). Having been travelling across Greece all day, I simply did not have the energy to ring down and wait for one to be delivered. As a five star property, I would have expected there to be such a facility in the room.

As to be expected, there are high quality finishes - quality of bedding, towels, shampoos, etc. Good lighting options but why the old-fashioned CRT-type television? On the plus side, it's useful to have a speaker in the bathroom piping the television commentary. All in all, despite the quality mattress, I could not sleep but that's not Sofitel's problem. Depending on the price paid, this hotel is a must for early flights.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

4,040 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,051
    1,360
    432
    126
    71
See reviews for
716
1,837
474
564
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (381)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
St Andrews, Scotland
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed there overnight to catch early morning flight. This is a gem of an airport hotel, definitely worth its 5 stars. Staff are friendly and attentive without being overbearing. The rooms are fantastic. The comfiest beds and pillows I have slept on for a long long time. The bathrooms are stocked with lots of products, big fluffy towels, dressing gowns and slippers. We spent some time outside at the bar area - drinks all come with plenty of nibbles - you dont evern need to order a meal, the nibbles fill you up nicely. Pool overlooks the runway at Athens airport. Nothing is too much trouble here.Not the cheapest of hotels by any means but deals can be found on the internet.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gill190963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland/Germany
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed June 28, 2010

I know this is the only hotel at Athens airport. But that is no reason to stay here. Staff have an arrogant attitude, the room I stayed in was very basic, with none of the usual bathroom accessories that you would associate with a 5 star hotel. The overall experience is no better than a holiday inn.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JonahIreland_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

Though we only stayed a single night in the hotel, we certainly enjoyed most of what it had to offer. The staff was helpful and got us into our room quickly. Bathrooms are gorgeous, rooms are stylish though may need some fix-ups here and there. The hotel is right across the way from the airport so that, after crossing a single crosswalk, you are in line to check-in for your flight. With our 6:00 A.M. flight, we needed the proximity to the airport. Only complaint: the food is incredibly expensive: a margarita pizza costs $20 dollars for room service, and then same at the bar upstairs, although the food was very good. If we ever have need again to be right next to the airport, this is definitely where we'll stay.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sf411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

As other people have said before, this is way nicer than a typical airport hotel. Its location is excellent, the staff are all very friendly and helpful, the rooms are very comfortable, even the food at the restaurant is good. Yes, it's on the expensive side for Athens, but if you are staying over one night between flights, it's totally worth the money to stay here. You can avoid the hassle of a long trip into the city by taxi (expensive) (and a bit scary), bus (crowded) or metro (on strike the day we were there). If you book ahead, you can save quite a bit off the rack rate.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cheryln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2010

I stayed in the sofitel Athens airport hotel for 10 days and honestly i think the hotel is really over priced compared to the hotels in the city center. If you want to go the city center it would take you atleast 45 mins either via bus or cab. there is not pub or bar in the hotel and also the food is far much better in the airport than in the hotel. coming to services .. eg Laundry: they say that they have express or regular service and trust me both the services takes equal time ... and never on time ... a normal service would have clothes delived by 5 in the evening and at several ocaasions i had them back the next day after 1pm ... so better not to give your suits ... or else you would end wearing a jeans at a client meet or end up buying a new one.

Language is a big issue... Room service, laundry etc only speak greek and only ppl at the reception counter can converse well in English. don't ask for a cab rather get it from across the road from the airport it would be way cheaper almost 2 EUR per KM.

do Visit glyfada ... thats where the night life is....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JayantJain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corpus Christi, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

Sad to say that the airport hotel was the best overall hotel we stayed in in Greece. The beds and pillows were very comfortable. The rooms were quiet and roomy. The bathroom was large. And all the staff were encountered were extremely friendly. Yes, it is the only hotel close to the airport which is why we choose it since we had a fairly early flight.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CCTraveler56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#20 of 326 in Athens
3,563 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 326 in Athens
3,026 reviews
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#13 of 326 in Athens
3,272 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Property: Sofitel Athens Airport
Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing