We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“You can't beat it if you need it!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Cypress, Texas
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“You can't beat it if you need it!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

We stayed here just to catch our flight home the next morning. Check in was a breeze at 10pm. The hotel is modern, clean and quiet. I never heard an airplane in our 3rd floor room. Nicely appointed. Definitely worth staying here based on convenience alone. We had a king bed even though it's listed as a queen on the website.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drmeows
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your precious feedback following your stay in our hotel and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the design, soundproofing and cleanliness of the hotel as well as the speed of the check-in. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and look forward to your next visits to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,952
    1,292
    406
    120
    68
See reviews for
673
1,732
458
547
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (366)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Although the staff was very friendly and the atmosphere much better than the airport, we planned to spent a couple of hours to have a coffee, drinks and rest before the next flight. Unfortunately they asked for 5euro for 1 hour of internet. This made us leave and move to the airport as a matter of principle. We have had beverages and we were a paying customer, however they refused to provide us with free internet access! very disappointing. If they have given us internet for free I am sure that our bill would be 4-5 times more than what we did as we would stay much longer and spend more on drinks. For 5 euros they lost probably 100.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Menicos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent visit to Athens while on a business trip and took good notice of your remark for our internet procedure. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and hope to have the opportunity to welcoming you back to our premises on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
126 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

I hate to say it, but I'll probably stay here again the next time I'm in Athens as it's really quite convenient. But, ugh. Just. Ugh.

Okay, for starters.

Outside of reception and housekeeping, the staff is incredibly rude. They pretty much just stare at you like you're a hunk of crap. From the service in the restaurant to the spa upstairs. It was so obnoxious that when my friend and I went to check out the pool, we were followed by a spa worker. Who just stood there, and stared at us. Like..what are we going to do? Steal the pool?

The food. It's really crap. and ridiculously expensive. The strawberry daiquiri was delicious...and fourteen euros. But that's really the only plus about anything we ate at the hotel.

The room:

plus: it was QUIET. Super quiet. Definitely sound proofed and you could block out all light and pretty much just sleep like the dead. The bathroom was nice, divided up into a separate toilet and separate shower/tub room. Water pressure was nice.

minuses: the temperature control was bananas. The room became so cold we were shivering, but then turning it up a few degrees made it a sweat box. We ended up with cold but the covers were so thick and heavy we ended up sweating through the night. Just bizarre.

The TV didn't work. And we only had one towel for two people. We had an early flight the next morning, so honestly I didn't report the missing towel and broken tv because we were running behind (sorry future guests). I can't say whether or not the hotel fixes things in a timely manner. I'm sure they do, the room wasn't shabby at all with plenty of space for luggage, and they obviously want to cater to high end people...but still. How do you put only one towel in a room? Bizarre.

So yeah, I'll probably stay here again ONLY BECAUSE the airport is right frickin there which is so nice but I'll know to expect rude service, being followed like a thief, weird temperature controls and probably having to call for more towels. Then again, I've stayed at other hotels with airport shuttles and they were nicer with better food and nicer staff. So...all depends on what you're willing to put up with.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lulugirlgoing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay in our hotel with your friends and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your room & bathroom design as well as the level of soundproofing, the strawberry daiquiri you had in the bar and the hotel’s convenient location at the airport.
We were sorry to learn, on the other hand, that you had difficulties with the setting of the
temperature through the thermostat available in the room and that the service provided by our staff other than the Front Desk and Housekeeping employees did not meet your expectations.
We wish to reassure you, however, of all our staff’s full dedication and commitment to provide a superior service experience and satisfy each guest of the hotel. We took notice as well of your remarks for the towels and the food quality and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to our premises in order for you to have a brand new experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2014

We needed a place to stay, as we were only passing through Athens with a 12 hour layover. This hotel is literally right outside the airport front door, so extremely convenient. The hotel amenities are what you would expect from the Sofitel name, and completely sound proof. We were a bit worried that due to its proximity to the airport it would be noisy, but it was perfectly quiet, not a sound. Slept very well. This is a perfect place to stay the night if you have too. A 40 minute train ride will take you close to the center of town, with a short jump over to the subway system needed too. Expensive but like I said, right at the airport. Would stay again if passing through.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your warm words of appreciation for our hotel following your overnight stay with us in May. It is a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the comfort, amenities and the level of soundproofing provided. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, sometimes
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2014

This is an airport hotel and therefore I imagine few people are going to spend more than one night here. It's extremely convenient for the airport, sitting between the airport metro station and the terminal building - but note that the signage from the metro to the hotel is poor and the route isn't obvious.

Sofitel is at the upper end of Accor's range of brands and the prices reflect that. So do the rooms and the open areas. Mine was spacious and incredibly quiet for an airport hotel, despite a view over the terminal buildings to the airport apron.

I had an evening meal and continental breakfast and both were excellent. The hotel seems to cater well for those who might not be in the local timezone and therefore might want to eat or drink something outside the usual hours.

This worked well for me after spending a few days on work in central Athens and with a 7am checkin for my flight home, and wasn't any more expensive than an extra night in the central Athens hotel + an early morning taxi. By staying here I was able to use the metro the previous night.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cziwkga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, June 5, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your stay in our hotel in May while on a business trip and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the spaciousness and soundproofing of our rooms as well as your dinner and breakfast experiences and the location of the hotel ideal for early morning flights or late arrivals. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to the Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#12 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,138 reviews
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#15 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,849 reviews
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Property: Sofitel Athens Airport
Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Bookgreece.com, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing