We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Athens Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great Hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2013

My wife and I had a quick evening layover in Athens after staying in Santorini before flying home to Colorado early the next morning. If you have to spend the night in Athens because of a quick layover, you cannot go wrong with this hotel. You literally walk out of the airport, cross a small street with your luggage and there is the hotel. It is expensive, but well worth the cost. if you have a lot of luggage, and need a cart, you can park it at a designated spot at the hotel and get another in the morning. Never heard any noise from airplanes landing and taking off. Staff were wonderful and our room was spotless. During a layover of a night, you simply cannot beat this place.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bagpiper549
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your precious feedback following your overnight stay in our hotel prior to an early morning flight. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the convenience of the location as well as the service provided by our staff and your room. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and look forward to your next stays at Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,922
    1,277
    404
    119
    67
See reviews for
665
1,712
450
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cowes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
122 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 27, 2013

Convenient location facing the terminal, yet quiet, and classy. Excellent, facilities and staff service.
Short walk to airport metro station to take train 40 mins to Acropolis. Lobby bar great service and comfortable. Main restaurant superb for breakfast buffet, lunch and dinner, with international and interesting local dishes to try. Not the cheapest stay, but international quality. Upstairs restaurant looked very expensive and was empty..

Room Tip: All rooms quiet and some great views in all directions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pete J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your review following your stay in our hotel while on a business trip and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience with us and especially the facilities and the service provided by our staff. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to the Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2013

Super convenient to the airport....just across one airport roadway. Hard to believe we were across from an airport because it was very quiet. We used the airport for "entertainment" and dinner the evening before our flight. There is a nice pool and spa although we did not use those facilities. Although a little more money than staying in Athens it is well worth it for those with an early morning flight.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Schoolnurse95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in our hotel in November and appreciated to learn that you had a memorable experience with us. Our hotel is indeed ideally located by the airport area and very convenient for early morning flights. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visits to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamata, Greece
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2013

We stayed here overnight before flying to Germany.The room was so warm and cosy,the bed was comfortable,it was sheer luxury,well worth the extra euros. Couldn't hear noise from outside at all.They provide fluffy dressing gowns and slippers.The bathroom was clean ,modern and luxurious.
There are often special offers on the internet so make use of the reductions.
Eating in the hotel is expensive so we took breakfast with us and ate our evening meal in the airport.
The staff were efficient and friendly.
It was great to just walk across the road to the airport to catch our plane rather than have to travel in the early hours of the morning.
We would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: We had a room at the back of the hotel,not overlooking the terminals which was very quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stoupastomper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your review following your stay in our hotel in January 2013. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed the soundproofing as well as the design, comfort of your room and bathroom and the amenities provided. Our hotel is indeed ideally located at the airport area and is convient for early morning flights. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and look forward to your next visits to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kavousi ,Crete
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

We live in Crete and in the winter when we travel we often have very early flights from Athens. That means staying as close to the airport as possible. So where do I begin.... Overpriced, not kid friendly. Had to book two rooms because we have two kids even though our littlest is 3, and can easily share our bed, but no flexibility at all on their part. Restaurant food was expensive and tasteless. Internet is not free in the rooms! Even the cheapest hotel in the Plaka offers this service. Only saving grace was comfortable beds. I know this hotel is generally for business travelers, but there is no other choice for families in transit. I will not stay here again even if it means paying more for tickets that leave at a better time. Oh and breakfast wasn't even free! One night equalled 350€ of money not well spent. Even though I payed cash they took my credit card details, and after a week I am still waiting for their deposit charge of 500€ to be removed from my charges. What else more can I say, avoid this place at all cost unless you are a wealthy business person and money means nothing to you.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Douglaspaul65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed review following your recent stay in our hotel with your family and were sorry to learn that your overall experience did not meet your expectations. As far as your remark for the accommodation is concerned, kindly be reassured that as per the local authorities we are not allowed to accommodate families of four in one Double room. Therefore, we always recommend our guests to book either two connecting rooms or a suite for families of four even with small children. We took notice as well of your remarks for our food & beverage offer and wish to reassure you, in regards to the internet, that our hotel provides free Wi-Fi connection both in the rooms and public areas of the hotel. As far as the pre-authorization taken for your stay and extras is concerned, we would like to inform you that our hotel sends systematically a release order to the bank upon departure of the guest and the amount is released after some days. In case you would like us to check this issue once again with our bank, please do not hesitate to contact us at h3167-fo@sofitel.com and it will be our pleasure to provide further assistance. We thank you once again for your constructive feedback which helps us better understand your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was like many others, a night at the hotel before a flight out from Athens. Great location and a very short walk out of arrivals / departures. Staff was polite, but a bit cool.

Our room was average and for some reason the minibar was locked ! For the price paid, It hink that was really shabby. Room and bathroom were clean but not spotless.

Ate at the restaurant on the ground floor and found the staff to be very attentive and the food was good.

Would recommend it for someone not interested in getting into Athens town and catching a flight the next morning.

Room Tip: Most rooms are soundproofed, so I dont think it matters. We had something not facing the airport te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank The-Bee-Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your recent stay in our hotel and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed especially the convenient location of the Sofitel at the airport area as well as the soundproofing of our rooms, the politeness of the staff and your restaurant experience. We were sorry to learn, on the other hand, that our mini-bar policy did not meet your expectations. Please be informed that cash or credit card is requested upon arrival to guarantee guest's stay and extras such as mini-bar consumptions. Once this guarantee is received, the receptionist provides the client with the mini-bar key. We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to the Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

My stay was overall very good except the cleanliness of the WC and the bathroom. I have found a lot of hair on the flour, but the most irritating thing was that the WC was not clean at all and I had to do it myself.
Everything else was ok - staff was polite and helpful, the top flour restaurant was very good and I recommend everybody to visit it, it is expensive, but very good value for money!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com

Helpful?
Thank Velko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel while on a business trip and were happy to learn that you enjoyed the staff's helpfulness as well as your gourmet restaurant experience at Karavi. We do apologize, on the other hand, for the inconvenience you experienced with the bathroom's and wc cleanliness. Please be reassured that your complaint on the matter has been brought to the attention of our Responsible Managers for immediate actions and improvements. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and look forward to your next stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#11 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,085 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Property: Sofitel Athens Airport
Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing