We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Your stuck with their service”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 23, 2013

We live in Crete and in the winter when we travel we often have very early flights from Athens. That means staying as close to the airport as possible. So where do I begin.... Overpriced, not kid friendly. Had to book two rooms because we have two kids even though our littlest is 3, and can easily share our bed, but no flexibility at all on their part. Restaurant food was expensive and tasteless. Internet is not free in the rooms! Even the cheapest hotel in the Plaka offers this service. Only saving grace was comfortable beds. I know this hotel is generally for business travelers, but there is no other choice for families in transit. I will not stay here again even if it means paying more for tickets that leave at a better time. Oh and breakfast wasn't even free! One night equalled 350€ of money not well spent. Even though I payed cash they took my credit card details, and after a week I am still waiting for their deposit charge of 500€ to be removed from my charges. What else more can I say, avoid this place at all cost unless you are a wealthy business person and money means nothing to you.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Douglaspaul65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your detailed review following your recent stay in our hotel with your family and were sorry to learn that your overall experience did not meet your expectations. As far as your remark for the accommodation is concerned, kindly be reassured that as per the local authorities we are not allowed to accommodate families of four in one Double room. Therefore, we always recommend our guests to book either two connecting rooms or a suite for families of four even with small children. We took notice as well of your remarks for our food & beverage offer and wish to reassure you, in regards to the internet, that our hotel provides free Wi-Fi connection both in the rooms and public areas of the hotel. As far as the pre-authorization taken for your stay and extras is concerned, we would like to inform you that our hotel sends systematically a release order to the bank upon departure of the guest and the amount is released after some days. In case you would like us to check this issue once again with our bank, please do not hesitate to contact us at h3167-fo@sofitel.com and it will be our pleasure to provide further assistance. We thank you once again for your constructive feedback which helps us better understand your expectations.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,184)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Athens Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,955 - 1,961 of 4,186 reviews

Reviewed December 23, 2013

It was like many others, a night at the hotel before a flight out from Athens. Great location and a very short walk out of arrivals / departures. Staff was polite, but a bit cool.

Our room was average and for some reason the minibar was locked ! For the price paid, It hink that was really shabby. Room and bathroom were clean but not spotless.

Ate at the restaurant on the ground floor and found the staff to be very attentive and the food was good.

Would recommend it for someone not interested in getting into Athens town and catching a flight the next morning.

Room Tip: Most rooms are soundproofed, so I dont think it matters. We had something not facing the airport te...
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Bee-Mumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your recent stay in our hotel and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed especially the convenient location of the Sofitel at the airport area as well as the soundproofing of our rooms, the politeness of the staff and your restaurant experience. We were sorry to learn, on the other hand, that our mini-bar policy did not meet your expectations. Please be informed that cash or credit card is requested upon arrival to guarantee guest's stay and extras such as mini-bar consumptions. Once this guarantee is received, the receptionist provides the client with the mini-bar key. We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to the Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

My stay was overall very good except the cleanliness of the WC and the bathroom. I have found a lot of hair on the flour, but the most irritating thing was that the WC was not clean at all and I had to do it myself.
Everything else was ok - staff was polite and helpful, the top flour restaurant was very good and I recommend everybody to visit it, it is expensive, but very good value for money!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Sofitel.com
Thank Velko L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel while on a business trip and were happy to learn that you enjoyed the staff's helpfulness as well as your gourmet restaurant experience at Karavi. We do apologize, on the other hand, for the inconvenience you experienced with the bathroom's and wc cleanliness. Please be reassured that your complaint on the matter has been brought to the attention of our Responsible Managers for immediate actions and improvements. We thank you once again for having taken the time to write and look forward to your next stays with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

Very good business/travelling hotel if you’ve an early flight in the morning and you like to sleep as much as possible: it’s in front of departure entrance! Room was very quiet, clean and wide. I cannot suggest it if you’re there for vacation because is pretty far from city center and Athens’ traffic jam doesn’t help. Very good for business purposes if your office is in the south-east of the city. Staff was really nice and professional.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GriGio91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in our hotel in November while on a business trip and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the room's cleanliness and soundproofing as well as the staff's friendliness and professionalism. Our hotel is indeed ideally located and convenient for early morning flights. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 21, 2013

More attention to cleanliness especially in bathroom!

Only once we manage to be at their restaurant "karavi" because of their strange timetable!

Front desk excellent and efficient.

The "mesoghaia" restaurant needs an update : chairs / decoration etc

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FANARI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 24, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your loyalty to the Sofitel Athens Airport and for your feedback following your recent stay with us. It is indeed a pleasure to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience as well as the service provided by the front desk staff. We took notice also of your remarks for the bathroom cleanliness and the Mesoghaia restaurant. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kostas G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed December 16, 2013

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kathleen1126
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 26, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#20 of 324 in Athens
3,700 reviews
Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
445 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range: $181 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Ctrip TA, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com, Agoda, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing