We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We couldnt fault this hotel at all. Check in was smooth and simple, the bar was great and the rooms superb! Big comfy beds, a lot of space, MASSIVE bathroom with the most wonderful shower head ever.
Room service dinner was great. We order a 'TV meal' (I think that is what they were called) and it was big enough for the 2 of us to eat. One of us had the ceasar salad and the other the burger. We had 2 slices of cheesecake as the desert and about 4 rolls I think. It was a huge meal so 1 was big enough for the 2 of us.
The hotel foyer has a airport checkin computer which was helpful and screens all around the place so you can check on your flights. The inhouse TV had this also.
Location to the hotel is literally across the street. Our room overlooked the runway but we didnt have any noise at all. We arrived at 1pm and were out at 530 the next morning for a flight to Santorini so didnt venture into Athens itself. LEAVE YOURSELF PLENTY OF TIME AT ATHENS AIRPORT, it was a nightmare event at 6 in the morning.
Just a note that there is a convenience store type concept in the airport which is great if you prefer to hang out in your room instead of the bar (and hotel prices!). They have a big selection of cold drinks (including beer and wine), food, nibbles, gourmet Greek food etc.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEO029
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your warm words of appreciation following your recent stay in our hotel and were happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience, the bar, the room, the bathroom, the room service, the airport check-in computer & flight information, as well as the location. We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,372 - 2,378 of 4,375 reviews

Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Kate252_13
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

It is above average airport hotels.Very clean, comfortable, quite and with a nice bathroom. It is a few steps from the airport lobby. Very safe if you arrive late at night. I checked in 1:00am and checked out early in the morning. Nothing better than it. I could rest and relax after my long overseas flight and I did not waste my time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank giselledbueno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. We were delighted to learn that you particularly enjoyed the convenience to the airport, the safety, as well as your room and bathroom. We do value your patronage and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank wbick
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank nic255118
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Most airport hotels are spartan (pun intended) business like affairs. This hotel is a cut above that standard in a few ways. First the rooms were a little larger than most competitors in this category. The bathroom was huge and separate from the toilet which was in a separate tiny space beside it.

The shower is an enclosed room that includes a double shower head and the bathtub (yup) as well as a bench. Bizarre in design, yet very functional.

The room was all 90's. Very nicely done, but really needs a update. The flooring material...something synthetic...was coming up and the door movement was impeded as a result.

The lighting in the room, for once, made sense even if the switches did not. I plug in the headboard? Brilliant. Light switches were also embedded in the headboard, but the reading light...probably wonderful a decade ago was missing the part that would focus the light on the wake reader so as not to disturb the sleeper beside him/her. Minor, but there you have it.

There is s roof top pool with a spa. The spa was odd. Who would think it a good idea to put spa treatment rooms in the pool area with what (I hope!) we're one way mirrors...I know I could see the pool people...I presume they could not see me! When the therapist opens the door, any sense of privacy is gone as the customer is now essentially on the pool deck. The real issue though is the noise. Soft spa music is completely overtaken by screaming pool kids...and Idon't blame the kids. This is a complete design fail.

The spa treatment itself was odd too. Paid for a foot massage and more of a calf massage. Complete waste of time.

We used the main restaurant Mesoghaia and found the service impeccable, probably the best hotel resto service we've experienced. The food was well above average. The breakfast buffet was very good with good local selections and more North American offerings as well.
When they say it is 50 metres from the airport...that is an exaggeration...it's more like 30! You could crawl to departures in five minutes.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aroundth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 17, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to share your experience following your stay in our hotel and were happy to learn that you appreciated Sofitel's convenient location at the airport area, your room and bathroom, as well as our restaurant Mesoghaia. We were sorry to learn, on the other hand, that the room design and lighting, and the spa treatment rooms and foot massage did not meet your expectations.
We thank you once again for your feedback and hope to have the opportunity of welcoming you again to our premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 14, 2013

Reception was busy but was able to handle the traffic in a few minutes.
Food was generally ok. The rooms and beds are excellent and n=worthwhile after travelling for many hours.
All in all a great hotel - well positioned.
Mark

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Mark195606
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded July 15, 2013

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for having taken the time to post a review following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience from the hotel’s location to the quality of accommodation, and the service provided in general.
We thank you once again for your detailed feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our premises on other occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Hotel Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Myrto Hotel
#5 of 8 in Nea Makri
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range: $182 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing