We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced for what you get”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 6, 2012

The major plus for this hotel is that it is located at the airport, avoiding the need for a trip back into town.

However, you pay a premium for the experience. The rooms are acceptable - nothing that special - on the European small size.

The inside swimming pool was small. The ventilation system failed to remove the strong chlorine smell in the room.

Check in was slow with a queue of people waiting to check in.

The buffet breakfast was fair - expensive for what it provided.

Airport hotels are never that remarkable.

The Sofitel manages to re-inforce this view with a product that provides poor price value.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mcc101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your recent stay in our hotel on business purpose and were sorry to learn that your overall experience as a guest did not meet your expectations.
We took good notice of your remarks for the check-in process, our indoor swimming pool and the breakfast buffet.
As far as our prices are concerned, we would like to recommend you to always book well in advance in order to be able to benefit from our best offers.
We were happy to learn, on the other hand, that you appreciated the hotel's convenient location at the airport area.
We thank you once again for your comments and hope to have to opportunity of welcoming you again to Sofitel Athens Airport on other occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,375)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,645 - 2,651 of 4,375 reviews

Reviewed December 4, 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pelekis31
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed November 30, 2012 via mobile

I stayed one night after a late flight arrival. Staff welcoming and professional. Comfortable room. Walked out of airport and across street to the entrance. Excellent breakfast. Noted an interesting upcoming concert-I don't know if this is a regular occurrence but was impressed with the quality of the upcoming event.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SmallBoatCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent visit to our hotel and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of your room as well as the quality of the breakfast and the professionalism of our staff.
As you mentioned it in your review, Sofitel Athens Airport hosted a Polish Festival for a one week's period. A well-known and exceptional pianist as well as two cooks from Sofitel Warsaw made on this special occasion the attendies of the festival travel to the romantic melodies of the famous Composer Chopin and discover the Polish flavours.
We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to our premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

On 14.11.12, due to a schedule change to the Crete to Gatwick flight we had to overnight in Athens. Unfortunately not long enough to go into the centre of the city so chose to have a meal at the hotel. From the friendly professional welcome, through the upgraded room with great shower, excellent buffet restaurant and attentive waiting staff, to the efficient departure, our overnight stay couldn't have been better. Good value for money. We will definitely visit again.

Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Susie2566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for having taken the time to post on Tripadvisor your experience following your overnight stay in our hotel on the 14th of November.
We were more than delighted to learn that you had a memorable experience from your arrival to your room, the quality of the buffet selections provided at the restaurant, your departure as well as the friendliness and professionalism of the staff.
We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to your next stays at Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2012

This hotel is steps from the airport-- in fact you just cross the street and you're there. There are even airport carts at the lobby to help you make the 3 minute crossing. The hotel is unremarkable and rooms are very small -but clean and comfortable. The swimming pool is small but indoors so all-seasons. The lobby bar is a good place to get a drink and have a snack although it is a limited menu. The rate for the hotel seems high for a basic airport hotel (i think it was 200 euros!) but if you know that it is 50+ euros to get to downtown Athens and a good 60 minutes at times, it is actually worth the price and convenience. Plus if you want to get to Athens, you can take the clean and efficient public train which leaves just next door from the hotel.

Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
Thank sfbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience, the hotel’s facilities, the comfort of your room as well as our convenient location just in front of the Athens Airport and a few steps from the metro station.
We thank you once again for sharing your experience and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2012

Best location for transfer or early morning flights. Modern, well maintened house with great service. The staff were pleasant and freiendly in all situations. We had a nice upgrade upon our arrival. The room was spacious and extremly comfy with clean and modern bathroom. Good food in the restaurant however not cheap. Great breakfast. Definitely I will stay again there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CracowDanang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded December 3, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport on August and for your warm words of appreciation for the quality of service provided by our staff. We appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the upgrade and the comfort of your room, the menu selection in our restaurants as well as the hotel's location which is very convenient for the early morning flights.
We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2012

Everything about this hotel worked for us. A 6:45 am flight meant being at the airport by 5:00 am - woke up at 4:30 very rested and ready for the day! Will stay here whenever necessary - early booking rates made it reasonably priced as well.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kellytz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. My team and myself were happy to learn that you enjoyed the hotel's convenient location for early flights and late arrivals.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to our premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Hotel Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
475 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,838 reviews
Myrto Hotel
#5 of 8 in Nea Makri
158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range: $182 - $280 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing