We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Location, not really a Sofitel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 1, 2012

Very convenient for a night stop - rooms not up to Sofitel standard, but very quiet & comfortable. Easy access from the terminal, no more than a 2-3 walk from baggage claim. Didn't use the F&B facilities as we ate breakfast in the Airline Lounge.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the Elevators
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KiwiNZExplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback following your stopover in our hotel. We were happy to learn that you appreciated the comfort of our rooms.
We were sorry to learn, on the other hand, that Sofitel Athens Airport did not meet your expectations of a luxury hotel and thank you once again for your feedback which is very important for us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,196)
There are newer reviews for Sofitel Athens Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,539 - 2,545 of 4,196 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2012

A very short walk (less than five minutes from passport control) from both Arrivals and Departures this is a perfectly placed airport hotel. The hotel is the usual mix of business and tourist that you would expect at the airport location.
We arrived (pre booked) at 6pm on Thursday for a one night stay, picking up a hire car from the airport on Friday morning, the car rental pickup location is about a five minute walk from the hotel.
Reception staff were excellent with a good command of English which is always helpful, we were heading to the room on the first floor very quickly. Room was of a good size and very clean,, bed and bedding were very comfortable. The bathroom was spotless and contained good quality amenities.
The hotel has an excellent bar with bar meals available there is also an outside area where you can sit and enjoy some good food and drinks from the hotel bar. Being located in the centre of the airport complex noise is not a problem even in the outside bar.
Breakfast was served in the main restaurant, there was a wide choice available and the staff were again excellent, really friendly and professional, a credit to the hotel brand.
When we left Greece a few days later we stopped at the hotel bar for a light lunch before venturing into the airport, it made for a very relaxing change to the hustle of an airport departure lounge.

Room Tip: Even the basic rooms at Sofitel are of a good standard.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stizettox
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear valuable guest,
My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel and for your warm words of appreciation for the quality of service provided by our staff, the comfort of the room and the bedding as well as for the hotel's convenient location.
We thank you once again for sharing your experience and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2012

What a find...this hotel was wonderful! The food in the restaurant was fabulous! And, our room was so nice! We had a late night flight and had left our Cruise Ship early in the morning, so we asked them about a room for the day. Their day rate was so reasonable and close to where we were flying out.

Room Tip: Very comfortable room, so clean and nice! Delicious food in restaurant and I love dessert, wasn'...
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 30, 2012

Dear valuable guest,
We would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your short at Sofitel Athens Airport. My team and myself were happy to learn that you enjoyed the quality and the service provided in our restaurant as well as the comfort of your room.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to our premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

I had the unfortunate necessity of having to stay in this hotel because of the Greek airport strikes last year. After a wonderful and relaxing trip to Santorini, our return flight was delayed over three hours which made us miss our connecting flight to Germany. Needless to say, we arrived here in the middle of the night and our onward flight was at 6 am. We only got enjoy the bed of this clean and modern hotel. The bed was very comfortable and the shower was very upscale. Needless to say, I would have prefered not to have stayed here and then at the outrages price for a last minute booking.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Miguel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2012

Dear valuable guest,
My team and myself would like to thank you for your review in Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel. We appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of our beds and the hotel's convenient location.
We took notice as well of your remark in regards to our rates.
We thank you once again for having taken the time to share your experience and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 27, 2012

I stayed overnight because of an early morning flight. There are airport hotels, and there are airport hotels. This is the best located airport hotel I have ever stayed. A two miinute walk across the street. In fact, I walked over to the terminal food court for dinner. Very well insulated building. You would never know the airport is next door. Very spacious room. Giant bathroom with separate shower and tub. WC was in a completely separate room by itself. Great value for Sofitel. Very professional staff. Would most definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback following your stopover in our hotel. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed the soundproofing of the room, the design of the bathroom as well as the hotel's location which is indeed very convenient.
We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to your next visits to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2012

This hotel in front of the airport. After a long flight is was nice to walk five minutes, get checked into the hotel and then get, by chance, get upgraded and then land in a soft bed. The rooms are quite, clean and have nice amenities. SInce, we were provided with the upgrade, the club room was available. This is really not on the scale as some others but it did have self serve drinks and food basically all day. The price paid was certainly in line with the value provided. I

Room Tip: If you are going to the port take the x96 bus. It is cheap compared to other alternatives.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wrmomxg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the upgrade to a Club room, the comfort of your bed and the room amenities.
We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

EXCELLENT!
EXCELLENT!
EXCELLENT!

The Sofitel is practically in the Athens Airport. We had a 2 day layover because we were bumped off a flight from Athens to JFK. The room with tax was about $300 a night US and since Delta was picking up the tab... it was most enjoyable. It felt like the same scale as a 4 Seasons or Ritz Carlton. Breakfast buffet was $42.00 per person including coffee and tax... too rich for our blood. We walked across the street to the Airport Food Court and dined handsomely for $8 each! The pool, spa, sauna and massage rooms are on the top floor overlooking the mountains and the airport runways. Very relaxing and comfortable after a long day of travel. Just a side note: The soap was the best smelling soap I've ever used. Must be Bayberry like they use to make by hand in Colonial Williamsburg, Virginia! Got 3 bars just for the asking... still smells good! Also free internet and computers in the lobby if you left yours at home.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cnmatl7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2012

Dear valuable guest,
We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience, the hotel’s wellness centre as well as our room amenities.
We thank you once again for sharing your experience and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#17 of 282 in Athens
3,704 reviews
Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
446 reviews
Omonia
Pallas Athena Grecotel Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range: $181 - $353 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing