We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very convenient!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Athens Airport

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
165 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Very convenient!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Positive: You walk out the doors of the hotel, and within 20 seconds you are in the airport.

Negative: It was a little on the expensive side, but the convenience seemed to out way the cost for my 7am flight. The hotel staff wasn't too friendly, but maybe because they were a bit busy?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank doc111872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear valuable guest,
Thank you for your feedback and taking the time to post your comments following your stay in our hotel. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the hotel’s location in front of the airport and are sorry for the inconveniences you experienced with the quality of the service provided from our staff.
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Athens Airport in order for you to have a brand new experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,789 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,922
    1,277
    404
    119
    67
See reviews for
665
1,712
450
539
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (358)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

Out of all the hotels we have stayed at in Europe, we never ever had to REQUEST a non-smoking room. It should be the other way around. However when we checked into Sofitel at Athens Airport we were given the unpleasant news that all the non-smoking rooms were unavailable and we were placed in a smokers room (so disgusting). The man at the reception desk told us that if we wanted a non-smoking room, it had to be requested for when we made the booking which wasn't stated anywhere on the online booking form. I understand we were in Europe, but in this day and age, why are there even smoking rooms anymore? Also, the smoking room does not have any open-able windows so we couldn't get any fresh air. We were very disappointed. Luckily the room did not smell too bad (we left all the fans on high) and we were able to make it thru the night. We were catching an early morning flight so we only needed the room for less than 10 hrs. We spent time at the pool and steam room and ate dinner at the airport (The Olive Tree restaurant) to avoid spending time in the room as much as possible. On the plus side, you can't beat the location of the hotel - it is literally across the street from the airport. The rooms were spacious, clean and bed was very comfortable. It is an ideal hotel for those with an early morning flight.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travel_bug0122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear valuable guest,
My team and myself would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport and we apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the smoking room you were assigned as your preference for a non smoking room was not listed on your reservation.
In the meantime, we appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the hotel's convenient location for early morning flights, the cleanliness and the comfort of our beds.
My team and myself thank you once again for your feedback which is important for us and look forward to welcoming you back to our premises.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012 via mobile

The moment we arrived the services were impeccable. The concierge and front desk staff members were enthusiastic and kniwkegeable. Excellent interpersonal skills. Having just disembarked from Silversea Spirit we were pleasantly surprised by the excellent service.
The location is very convenient for early morning flights and the room is very comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HonrNGlory
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to post your feedback on Tripadvisor following your recent stay in our hotel. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you particularly enjoyed the quality of the services provided by our front desk staff and concierge and that you also appreciated the comfort of your room and the hotel's location convenient for early flights.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the place to stay for those early morning flights from Athens especially if you are worried about metro strikes or traffic jams. The rooms are comfortable and quiet and you literally walk across the street to the airport. Typical to airport hotels, the meals are expensive. There are more food selections with better prices in the airport.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Leonard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your feedback following your visit to our hotel and were happy to learn that you appreciated the hotel's convenient location, the comfort and quietness of your room and took notice also of your remark in regards to our food & beverage offer.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
326 reviews
216 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 330 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

You could be in any airport hotel anywhere in the world.

Its advantages are that it is close to the terminal - just across the road - easy walking distance, even with a trolley of luggage.

Are you likely to enjoy a bargain - absolutely not. You pay a premium for the location and the avoidance of a ride into town.

Our room was comfortable and quiet. It had all the amenities and comfort you would expect from a major international chain hotel. Roomwise we had no issue.

Our one criticism was a very long and slow check in - we waited for a good 15 minutes to check in, which didn't leave the most favourable of initial reactions.

The staff were pleasant and helpful - we couldn't fault the service.

We left the next morning to catch our flight satisfied with the experience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geddes_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

Thank you for your feedback in Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel in September. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the hotel's location, the comfort and quietness of your room as well as the provided amenities and the overall service.
We took notice, on the other hand, of your remark in regards to the process of check-in.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Athens Airport on future occasions.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Claremont, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

We only stayed at the Sofitel for one night before our flight home to the U.S. the next day. Although we were there for a very short time, it really stands out as a nice, luxurious hotel. You should see the bathroom! The room, and especially the mattress on the bed, is very comfortable. You have everything you need there including the coffee in the room. The convenience in relation to the distance to the airport is excellent - walk across the street (about 2 minutes) and you are there, ready to check in! We will definitely stay here the next time we are in Athens.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 5iveStarGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport on your short stopover in Athens. We appreciated to learn that you had a very enjoyable experience and look forward to your next visits to our hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
50 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We stayed here one night at the end of our trip to Greece. The location is perfect for making the trip to the airport stress-free the day of your flight, as we were able to drop the rental car, walk to the hotel and check in, and walk to the the terminal the next day. It's also right by a subway stop, so it was easy for us to go into Athens for dinner and a last little bit of touring.

The hotel itself is a standard variety airport hotel. The room was comfortable and reasonably nicely decorated, and I was surprised how little hall noise we heard given that people are coming and going at all hours. However, the public areas need a redo. The halls in particular were showing a lot of wear, with worn carpet and beaten up walls. Service was so-so from the regular check-in counter personnel and but good from the concierge desk.

It seemed a bit overpriced for Greece, but you're paying for the convenience.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NSsummerset
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this review, October 12, 2012
Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your overnight stay in our hotel during your trip to Greece. We appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your room's comfort and design, the service provided by the concierge as well as the hotel's convenient location in the airport area with easy access to the city centre. We took notice as well, on the other hand, of your remarks for the halls and public areas.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Plaka
Plaka Hotel
Plaka Hotel
#9 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,087 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Syntagma
King George, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Plaka
Electra Palace Athens
Electra Palace Athens
#14 of 325 in Athens
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Property: Sofitel Athens Airport
Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, HotelsClick, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing