We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, Location, Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 9, 2012

We picked this hotel because it is connected (right across the street) to the airport. We were coming from Santorini late one night and departing the next day on an a flight back to the states. Check-in was quick since I had paid in advance on-line. Our room was modern and clean and the bed comfortable. I was concerned about airplane noise but we never heard anything. After we checked in we went to look for coffee. We thought the hotel prices were high so we just went back across the street to the airport and found a cafe. There were many to choose from. We did the same thing for breakfast. Again many choices including McDonalds. When checking in for our flight the next morning we did not follow the signs to departures which included an escalator, but went directly across the street into arrivals and took the elevator up to departures. Much easier with three suitcases. I would recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a close place to stay before a flight home.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rrobbinsCleveland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 12, 2012

Dear valuable guest,
We would like to thank you for your review on Tripadvisor following your stay with your family at Sofitel Athens Airport. My team and myself were happy to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of the rooms and the beds as well as the hotel's convenient location for early flights and late arrivals.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to welcoming you again to our premises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (4,401)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,728 - 2,734 of 4,402 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

We stayed here for one night in July before a morning flight. The room itself was a bit expensive for one night, (About $200CAD for a basic room) but it was worth it. The location is right across the road from the airport which is why we chose this hotel - you pay for the convenience. The hotel itself is very nice and updated with spacious and clean rooms and restaurants. The rooms are very quiet, we couldn't hear any plane noise. The food was nice, but also expensive. Overall it was a good choice for a quick stay before a morning flight. We would recommend staying here if you need a place close to the airport.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your stay in our hotel in July. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you enjoyed the overall quality of your accommodations as well as the hotel's convenient location, the quality of the food provided as well as the soundproofing of our rooms.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

This is the third time we have stayed at this hotel due to the convenience of it's location. You literally wheel your luggage trolley across the pedestrian crossing from the airport terminal and you are literally right there in the hotel. The rooms are excellent with superb soundproofing and the bathrooms are luxurious with very nice toiletries. The slippers which you can keep are a nice touch. The outside bar/restaurant area is very pleasant and the service is always excellent. The reception and concierge staff are always friendly, professional and helpful. Due to the short stay I am unable to comment on other facilities however I would have no hesitation in highly recommending this hotel and will no doubt stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alwaysexplorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your review in Tripadvisor and for your loyalty to our hotel. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you had once again a memorable experience from the overall quality of the service and accommodations provided to the hotel's convenient location.
At Sofitel we strive to provide a superior service experience to every customer. Therefore, your feedback is very important to us.
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to many opportunities of welcoming you again to the Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

The Sofitel is absolutely perfect. Luxuriously appointed room with extremely high end fixtures in the bath. Service was impecable, staff was very helpful, martinis and wine by the glass at the top story restaurant was first class. Makes you want to have an excuse to stay near the airport!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for sharing your experience following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your room, the bathroom, the top floor restaurant and bar as well as the service and the helpfulness of our staff. We thank you once again for sharing with us your experience and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Wow! We spent our last night here, and I wish we could have stayed longer! Or at least transplant this place to the Plaka area so it isn't used for just the early departures or late arrivals!
I loved the bed too, the best we had in the 17 nights in Greece! Soooo comfy after all the hard beds in previous locations. We got our wake up call at four thirty, and I really did not want to get out of that bed! Unfortunately, our flight departed at 6:50 a.m., so I didn't have a choice.
Breakfast at 5:00 a.m., and there was an amazing array of choices. We actually had a mango smoothie! Lots of fresh fruit to choose from, including passionfruit and papaya. The hot choices were great as well. We couldn't do the selections justice as we aren't breakfast people at that horrible hour, but we gave it our best shot!
The other great thing about this place is that the air conditioner was already running when we got to our room. Normally you have to have the key card in the slot to run all the lights and anything electrical.
We did share the "two sandwich" order in the bar that evening. It was just enough to satisfy our appetite at that late hour, after the last flight from Santorini.
A nice bath, and HOT water!!!!! Yeah! And facecloths too!
My only regret about staying here is that we didn't get there early enough to really enjoy it.
If you can arrange it, you really should stay here. You won't be sorry!

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank J0an123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your review in Tripadvisor following your short stay in our hotel before your flight back to Canada. We were happy to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of your bed, the hot and cold selections provided with the breakfast buffet, the light meal you had in the bar area.
We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Walking in your jaw is left wide open from all the opulence. My jet lag seemed to disappear. I didnt know what to do first, watch TV on the great big bed, Have a shower in the biggest walk in shower I have ever seen in a hotel, or just run around in the bath robe and slippers provided. Instead I had fun using the magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Be sure to book in advance to get the early bird price.

Room Tip: Stay here if you have an early flight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marylou66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your review following your stay in our hotel in September and were happy to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience.
We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

I don't normally review airport hotels but in this case an exception needed to
be made.

For our return from the Greek Islands, a last night stay near the airport was
required. So the Sofitel was selected.

Expecting nothing special, we were impressed by the particularly warm welcome we received upon arrival. Our plan was to drop off the luggage, grab dinner and try to catch a few hours sleep.

The room was amazingly efficient & modern, with pretty much everything a
traveler would need. There was a large table/bar in front of the window (with a nice view), perfect for placing...stuff. By the bed, not only were there modern lamps, but also high tech, individual reading lights on each side. There were plenty of power outlets, a pet peeve of mine. The TV was a large LED, and the entry to the room featured an angled wooden bench ideal for luggage placement. Also, the WiFi was excellent.

The bathroom was separate from the toilet room (very practical), and featured a "bathing area" with a shower, bathtub, and tile area between the two. The entire bathing room was separated from the vanity by a glass door that, when closed, completely sealed the two. In other words, when my wife was washing her face and I was showering, she was not disturbed. (Well, that is unless she wanted to be disturbed by looking at me but then, that's another story.) Anyway, it was very innovative.

Finally, the food was impressive. For dinner one could either order from the
menu or choose the buffet. The buffet was very nice with considerable selection and excellent quality. The same was true for the breakfast which, but the way, is available starting at 5:00 AM.

While the Athens Sofitel would probably not be considered a destination hotel, based on the excellent service, innovative and highly functional rooms and the quality of the food, it probably could be.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dukesteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 11, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your review in Tripadvisor following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport in October. We were very pleased to learn that you had a memorable experience from the service you were provided upon arrival, to the design and amenities of your room and bathroom, the buffet and breakfast variety and quality.
We thank you once again for your precious feedback and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel on future occasions.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Hotel Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
480 reviews
Dolce Attica Riviera
#1 of 1 in Vravrona
936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Myrto Hotel
#5 of 8 in Nea Makri
158 reviews
Plaka
AVA Hotel Athens
AVA Hotel Athens
#2 of 282 in Athens
1,748 reviews
Kiani Akti
#1 of 1 in Porto Rafti
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range: $195 - $292 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Accorhotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Hotwire, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing