We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Sofitel Athens Airport
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 28, 2012

This hotel is admiteddly a bed, shower and leave kind of place, and the price was not high. Very well located as it is literally part of the airport complex, with a walk of abou 50 steps and you are inside the terminal. Good bathroom. we did not use the restaurant facilities at all as we tried the several eateries in the terminal. This is not near to Athens - a taxi ride in is E35 and about 1/2 hours drive.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justintforfun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your constructive feedback following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience.
We do value your patronage and look forward to your next visits to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (4,299)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,661 - 2,667 of 4,299 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2012

We booked the sofitel for our flight home and it was worth every penny. It was the most expensive hotel we stayed at during our tour, but being able to walk to the airport was worth it. the rooms are spacious and quite. They have big wooden panels that roll over the window. I never heard a single airplane. After touring Greece for a week I slept like a baby in their plush beds. It was just what we needed to prepare us for our 10 hour flight home.

Room Tip: Be sure to book online to get a lower rate. I used booking.com
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NCottrell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

Thank you very much for your report on TripAdvisor following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. My team and myself are delighted to learn that you enjoyed the comfort of your room at the end of your tour in Greece. We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Shocked when we got home and there was a charge on our bill for 66.42 Euros for 1 local call to British Airways!! Unbelievable!! This should go into the annals of biggest hotel ripoff!
Further the carpets were old and very dirtily. The decor is 1950s Soviet Union. Yuck. Impossible that this hotel got a 5 star rating.
The only thing this hotel has going for it is that it is in the airport and a necessity for travelers.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NewportBeach1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

My team and myself would like to thank you for your review in Tripadvisor following your stay in our hotel on the 14th of September. As far as the charge related to your call to British Airways is concerned, our Assistant Front Office Manager reassured you, through your exchanges via e-mail, that you were charged only for one international call to the USA which lasted for 36 minutes.
We were sorry to learn, on the other hand, that your overall impression of our hotel did not meet your expectations from a 5 stars hotel.
We thank you once again for your valuable feedback and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2012

If you are just overnighting in Athens this is really the best place to stay. It's so convenient to the airport it makes the whole stop over relaxing. The rooms are lovely and really quiet despite being beside the airport. Staff at check in are really friendly and welcoming. Three restaurants to choose from - the one at the top of the hotel is lovely but very very expensive - probably explains why it was almost empty. The middle of the range restaurant which is open 24 hours is good but don't go for the buffet - it is also very expensive - best to choose from the A La Carte menu. Overall a really good hotel and will be back next year.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CarolAnnDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 28, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback on Tripadvisor following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport in August and appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience from the check-in service to the soundproofing of the rooms as well as the hotel's convenient location just in front of the Athens Airport.
We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2012

Huge hotel but great service and quality. Lovely room, plenty of space, and seperate toilet. Very clean. Extremely convenient for a late night arrival on the plane. Had a small meal in the restaurant (beautiful soup), but they also had what looked like a very nice buffet. Had no issues with the air-con, and the whole atmosphere was very relaxing. Great king size bed too. Had an early flight out so didnt try the breakfast unfortunately.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JKS2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded October 8, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for sharing your experience following your stay at Sofitel Athens Airport. We appreciated to learn that you had a relaxing stay as well as an enjoyable dinner. We thank you once again for your comments and look forward to welcoming you again to our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Nice hotel with convenient location - short walk from airport to hotel. Staff very pleasant and accommodating. Unfortunately restaurant prices are outrageous and there aren't many options nearby. Best is location, worst is restaurant prices.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dsd645
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Dear valuable guest,

We would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay in our hotel. My team and myself appreciated to learn that you enjoyed your overall experience, the hotel’s convenient location as well as the overall quality of service provided by our staff.
We took notice as well of your comment for our restaurant prices and wish to reassure you that our team does continuously its best in order for our rates to reflect the quality of products and service our clients are entitled to expect from a five stars hotel worldwide
We thank you once again for your feedback and look forward to your next visits to Sofitel Athens Airport.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 07956
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cyril M, General Manager at Sofitel Athens Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2012

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Spata
Syntagma
Hotel Grande Bretagne, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hilton Athens
#18 of 281 in Athens
3,763 reviews
Hotel Avra Rafina
#1 of 1 in Rafina
469 reviews
Thissio / Makriyanni
The Athens Gate Hotel
The Athens Gate Hotel
#14 of 281 in Athens
3,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Athens Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Athens Airport

Address: Athens International Airport, Spata 19019, Greece
Phone Number:
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Spata
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Spata
Price Range: $176 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Athens Airport 5*
Number of rooms: 345
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sofitel Athens Airport is located opposite the Athens International Airport, 10 km from museums, 35 minutes from Athens city center, and adjacent to the Attica Road junction for quick and easy access to any part of Athens. Enjoy a unique experience of both convenience and five-star luxury, in a blend of warm hospitality, modern surroundings, impeccable service and the latest technology. Gourmet restaurant, 24-hour food service, 2 bars and numerous facilities for both business and leisure. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, ACCOR, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Sofitel Athens Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Athens Airport Hotel Spata
Accor Athens Airport
Athens Sofitel
Sofitel Athens Airport Greece/Spata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing