We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel polite employees bad management” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Plaza Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Plaza Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anavyssos
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel polite employees bad management”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

The hotel is located in an amassing beachside location near Athens and Athens Int Airport. The buildings, rooms and the landscape of the hotel is very nice, certainly above average.

The employees are extremely polite with an exception of the reception manager, an old lady who looks and acts like she is an owner of a low budget motel in a third world country. The rest of the reception personnel were very helpful and polite.

The service at the hotel and pool bars was extremely slow! We never got anything in less than 30 minutes (including coffee and water) and it took up to one hour to get served.

The restaurant service was really good and the food excellent.

We had a lot of mosquitoes and that must be a general problem because there was an anti mosquito device in the room but there were no tablets to use it with. I aske in the reception for some but they didn't have any!!!

We also had to change room the second night because when we got in the room it was full of ants (thousands of ants)!!!

Also the gym and spa were not open during our stay.

The hotel could be perfect 10 but a lot of small things made it less than average.

Room Tip: The mountain view rooms are not worth it. Bad view of an ugly town and the hotel parking. The sea-vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FFivos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    58
    49
    20
    12
See reviews for
56
63
4
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013 via mobile

Although I wouldn't really call it a five-star hotel, Plaza resort comprises a wonderful setting as it is built very close to the sea and the gulf of Anavyssos. It includes a lovely and large size swimming pool and meters away there is private beach which is not fantastic but is nice. The breakfast buffet was rich but to me a four-star rather than a five-star in terms of quality. Same goes for the Easter dinner and Easter Sunday lunch we had as well as for service in general. The fruit salad however, was plainly a joke! 5€ for a tiny bowl with chopped pieces of apple!
The rooms are rather nice and the beach facing ones offer fantastic sea views. In that respect, I would go for the ones on the third floor rather than the second. Another amazing thing was the free wi-fi service that was available everywhere around the hotel and beach,even in the elevators! As we went with my gf there in May, the hotel was far from full and the weather was excellent so we had a wonderful and relaxing time. It' s a bit pricey but would recommend it for short weekend break as it is not that far from Athens.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Indiej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2012

The hotel is perfect located at the sand beach of anavissos. The rooms are comfortable and the view at the sea just perfect! The rooms and the corridors need a renovation and the equipment leaves a lot of wishes open ( for example no el. Sockets near the mirror, or no mirror near the sockets). The breakfast was very good in matters of quality and quantity. the access to the beach is very comfortable and you can use the sun beds and umbrellas from the hotel free of charge.
We spent the first night of our wedding at the hotel, and although we informed the hotel in advance, they just ignored us. The personnel was very impolite and every wish we had was just impossible. Although we had paid for breakfast, it was impossible to organise for us a late breakfast after our wedding, and they forced us to pay another 37€ for a club sandwich and 2 coffees, that they brought to our room (they collected the rests after 24 hours). Even the request for some photo shooting at the hotel was at the beginning impossible, after negotiations with the management was allowed, and during the shooting the kept asking us how long will it take. We felt very uncomfortable in total and we had the feeling that we were unwanted. Perhaps they prefer congresses than individuals. Summing up, very good location, nice beach, good breakfast, but with unacceptable service. For this amount of money, you can find similar and more comfortable hotels at the area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank alkinoos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Anavyssos hotels

Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The hotel has a nice location especially for kids.We booked a room with a large double bed as it was indicated in the reservation form and it turned out to be a room with two single beds side by side.When i asked them about it they said i had to make a specific request when booking that i wanted a real double bed!!
Although the beach restaurant is nice located and the food O.K. the service is unacceptable and the manager without manners!

Room Tip: Tell them what kind of bed you want.Rooms at ground level easier for samaller kids.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christinakarantani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

A perfect choice to stay far from the noisy city,next to the beach.The room was great,clean and big enough. Great facilities and decoration.Nice breakfast and staff willing to help always with a smile. I recommend this hotel 100%. One negative thing to mention is the bad image of the neighborhood.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank antonio_reth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piraeus, Greece
Level Contributor
161 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2012

Went for a dessert to the caffee of this hotel this summer. They had a great menu but they didnt serve half of the desserts. The garcon was polite but he didnt bring enough cold water and we were really thirsty. Furthermore, in the end we paid less than it said at the menu while they didnt bring a receipt but they said they did, and actually meant we took it and said in never came.

I would visit the caffee again cause its situated at such a lovely place, in the woods but also nearby the sea and a great pool. It is a great place you cant find easily

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank elenitsaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012 via mobile

The moment your reach the hotel from the outside you probably won't think much of the surrounding neighborhood, but the moment you enter the hotel, the picture changes dramatically! Beautiful lobby, very friendly front desk staff... And then you step outside towards the pool area. Wow!!! Lush greenery welcomes you before the pool that overlooks the beach! The choice to be able to use one, or the other is really nice as the beach loungers are two steps from the pool area. Very nice rooms and very clean hotel in general. Ask for a sea vie room, much better than their city view ones. The food in the pool restaurant was really good and the pool bar service was ecellent. The breakfast buffet offered variety of choice but to my taste was not quite up to the five star quality and in need of improvement. If you ask at the front desk they will also point some good nearby tavernas. We really had four very nice days there overall full of sunshine, very tasteful and realaxing ambiance, nice food in their elegant pool restaurant and great service. Thank you Plaza Resort!

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank archdukedio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anavyssos
5.0 mi away
Grand Resort Lagonissi
Grand Resort Lagonissi
#1 of 1 in Lagonisi
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
6.5 mi away
Aegeon Beach Hotel
Aegeon Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Sounio
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
11.3 mi away
The Margi
The Margi
#1 of 7 in Vouliagmeni
4.5 of 5 bubbles 638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.9 mi away
Divani Apollon Palace & Thalasso
11.2 mi away
Arion, a Luxury Collection Resort & Spa
14.7 mi away
Mare Nostrum Thalasso Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza Resort Hotel

Property: Plaza Resort Hotel
Address: 52nd km Athens - Souniou Ave. | Anavyssos Beach, Anavyssos 190 13, Greece
Location: Greece > Attica > East Attica Region > Anavyssos
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Anavyssos
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Plaza Resort Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 135
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A new 5 star hotel in Athens' most exclusive area, where leisure and business meet. This luxurious yet cozy hotel, with its amazing setting on the sandy beach of Anavyssos, offers the accommodations and facilities of a city hotel in a resort location. Just 32' away from the airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Plaza Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza Hotel Anavyssos

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing