We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel, bad weather”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casona del Lago
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Flores
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great hotel, bad weather”
Reviewed January 29, 2010

I had a comfortable stay here on my way to Tikal. The hotel was quite nice but the weather was very hot and humd, which the hotel couldn't do anything about.

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank lenin13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    78
    51
    6
    7
See reviews for
40
71
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City
2 reviews
Reviewed October 4, 2009

I spent 2 days there with my GF on our trip to Tikal. We were impressed that they didn't ask us to leave the Jacuzzi at any time, we ended up staying in there till 1130pm (6 hours).
Great view! Good value, Good food at their restaurant, also the front desk knew good deals on boat ride and transportation to and from Tikal.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wombatald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roma
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2009

We moved in this hotel after having a very bad experience with another hotel on Flores. The room that we got was really big, with a nice view on the Flores island. In general is a clean, average hotel, definitely better than many other in Flores.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Milko V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
103 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2008

A nice hotel with a good pool, but really just a characterless business hotel. The reception staff is less than helpful. It's a clean, decent place to stay for a night, but certainly nothing to write home about.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Disliked — Just another hotel.
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Incognito-one
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level Contributor
209 reviews
140 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed here for one night prior to our organized tour of this region. Flores is a cute little town although somewhat touristy. I thought this was one of the most charming of the bunch of hotel in Flores. Other hotels are either fairly basic or then seem very large and more commercial. This was in-between. We had a beautiful view froim the third floor room. We saw the lake from the room and could sit on chairs outside the door for an even better view. The room was quite basic, but had TV and AC (if needed). The bathroom had a shower with good water pressure, both hot and cold. Room even had a small TV. People at the reception were helpful and exchanged traveler's checks at a fair rate. The food at the restuarant was decent. I liked the wonderful little pool the hotel had and also the very nice terasse with great view of the lake and sunset.

  • Liked — Setting
  • Disliked — Rooms were kind of small
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank danielswiss64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
76 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 15, 2007

We had expected to stay on the island at the Casona de la Isla so were a little concerned when our driver (booked via STP in Palenque) took us to this hotel, but we needn't have worried. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable (though we could have used more shelf-space in the bathrooms). The pool was a great retreat after excursions and the view across to the island was spectacular. The staff were very helpful in rustling up a delicious breakfast at 6:30am before an early start to visit the Tikal ruins. We didn't mind the walk across the causeway to the restaurants and bars on the island: the nicest surprise of all was returning around midnight and having the hotel door held open by what appeared to be a soldier in full combat gear, with a hefty rifle. A broad smile and a friendly "buenas noches" told us we were in safe hands.

  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LondonVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
san Salvador, El Salvador
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 19, 2007

The perfect place with a spectacular view of the lake and Flores Island.
Caribbean atmosphere, Exquisite food specially breakfasts, and a variety of activities around there.
You feel in a tropical place and exceptionally romantic in rainy days.
By the colors and decoration it is an ideal place to rest and enjoy your trip.

Stayed May 2006
Helpful?
2 Thank mvalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
290 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
312 reviews
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#5 of 17 in Flores
182 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ramada Tikal Isla De Flores Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona del Lago

Property: Hotel Casona del Lago
Address: Calle Litoral, Santa Elena, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casona del Lago located in Santa Elena, Petén. It is a new concept inspired by Caribbean architecture from various cities. It combines a tropical style with very special details to offer the guest a unique comfort and relaxation ambiance. Hotel Casona del Lago offers 48 rooms with air conditioned, private bathroom, TV, Conference Room, Free Wifi, pool and jacuzzi, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Casona del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Lago Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing