We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Casona del Lago
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice and Comfortable”
Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

I stayed there one night for work. It really is a nice hotel. No luxury but very comfortable. It's located accross Flores Island wich means is far from the noise of the local nightlife. Staff is kind and always looking to make you as comfortable as possible :-)
Nice view of the lake, and great pool and restaurant area.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Elsapitous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    86
    55
    6
    7
See reviews for
41
77
16
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2013

I spent two nights in Santa Elena on a trip to see Tikal. Overall I enjoyed my time at Casona del Lago greatly. I was more comfortable than I expected and at ease the whole time.

Check in was efficient and easy. I booked my day trip to Tikal upon arrival.

My room was quite large and very basic. The bathroom was very nice. The air-conditioning worked well and the WiFi was super fast. It was hot and II would have liked a fridge in the room. They did leave complementary water in the room for the guests. Breakfast came with my room, yay, and it was adequate.

I love exploring foreign grocery stores so I enjoyed stopping by the one near the hotel. I found the green pepper sauce they use in Guatemala, Tang (passion fruit flavored), and a yummy peach tea that was not over sweetened like it is in the USA.

I had dinner in Flores both evenings. It is such a cute and tiny town. I took a tuk-tuk once, but mostly walked. It's really not far. I tried the white fish because it is the specialty of the lake. The fish came whole, I wasn't expecting that. It was good, but not anything unique.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scarab8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 28, 2013

This hotel caters largely for groups, both foreign and national. If you have the luxury of been able to choose your hotel avoid this one at all cost. Flimsy rooms and cheap plastic finish will remind you of the worst business hotels located in Milton Keynes, moldy bread served at breakfast, noisy and unwelcoming. In contrast the nearby Maya International was excellent.

Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelstheRoad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

We booked here because we couldn't get anywhere on Flores. It worked out fine. 10 Q tuk tuk ride or 10 minute walk across to Flores. It was great to be able to come back and cool off in the pool. Rooms standard hotel rooms, lovely views across the lake, everything worked. I agree about security, our balcony door didn't lock, but the staff looked after stuff in reception. We went across to Flores to eat. we thought the hotel food pricey and not worth it.
You may prefer to be In Flores, but this is an ok alternative.

Room Tip: Ask for room overlooking the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ageing-hippie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
2 reviews
Reviewed February 16, 2013

We stayed in this hotel as part of a group. 2 of the 5 rooms booked did not have hot water (too far down the line). Of most concern was the security of rooms. The doors were thin and flimsy with cheap bathroom type locks. There was no inner bolt. The previous night in another hotel one of our locked rooms was robbed in the middle of the night, so we were all vigilant and placed furniture inside the door. With flimsy doors and cheap locks, pressure on the door will cause it to flex and the cheap lock is sprung! The beds had no mattress pads, only a very thin worn sheet placed directly on the mattress.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mayantour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, BC Canada
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Our room was right on the lake with our own balcony. Waiters have limited english skills but food was good in the restaurant for the evening meal. A short walk or tuk-tuk ride across the causeway to Flores and more restaurants. Swimming pool was great and the AC worked.

Room Tip: Be sure to ask for a room overlooking the lake and away from the busy street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seabrook Island, South Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2013

The Hotel in on the mainland, in Santa Elena opposite the island town of Flores and close to a big shopping mall, about 2 km from the Regional (international!) airport. It's comfortable, good spacious and clean rooms, working a/c with a good pool and so-so restaurant. It's a great base for exploring the Peten sites (Tikal, Yakza etc) but doesn't do anything really well.

Room Tip: The best rooms are upstairs overlooking the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GuySeabrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
320 reviews
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
315 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
191 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
0.4 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
164 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona del Lago

Property: Hotel Casona del Lago
Address: Calle Litoral, Santa Elena, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casona del Lago is located lakeside with breathtaking views of Flores Island. It’s special location is just 5 minutes away from the International airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. In June 2017, the hotel was awarded Trip Advisor’s Certificate of Excellence Award based on our unique service and the positive experiences shared by our guests. Designed with modern Caribbean architecture and common areas that include an infinity pool, Jacuzzi, bar, restaurant, meeting and event facilities, private parking etc. All areas add up to the perfect place to enjoy Peten. Every room has been created to rest after a day od adventure in Northern Guatemala. All rooms feature A/C, TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, a safety deposit box, full bathrooms, etc. Simply a perfect hotel for a business traveler during the week yet, at the same time, the perfect place to create memories with friends and family as well as couples. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Peten and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casona del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Lago Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing