We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room with air con”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casona del Lago
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Bishop Auckland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great room with air con”
Reviewed February 25, 2012

Good room, helpful staff and clean. Good stay for me

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenniferandco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    84
    52
    6
    7
See reviews for
40
75
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mesa
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 19, 2012

My husband and I were travelling with a wonderful tour company, however this stay was disappointing. Our room was not as clean as I'd expect (dust bunnies with maybe some hair...) and a room that needed some refurbishing. Our door let in light (i.e. possibility of mosquitos). As an aside we were not attacted by flying insects. The sound-proofing is lacking, so music from a few buildings down and a firewoks display were easily heard when we'd rather have had some quiet after our fabulously full days.

The view is amazing, the pool inviting, the restaurant was good to very good and the receptionist was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: There are evidentally rooms that have been refurbished. As we were with a group, I can understand th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jnunu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie Ontario
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed February 15, 2012

I have been to Tikal National Park 5 times now and have stayed in the park overnight each time. It is nice to stay right in the park but this year we decided to finish our Tikal tour and go back to Flores. Our room was in Hotel Casona del Lago. I traveled with 5 other people and we had three rooms here. Every room was beautiful and spacious. I lucked out with the nicest room. It was the last room at the end of the hall way (room 31) with our balcony overlooking the water and the town of Flores. In fact two of the walls in this room were all windows with a balcony that wrapped around both sides. (beware, the rest of our group wanted to hang out in our room!) This hotel has a pool and hot tub, and breakfast was included in our overnight package. I would definitely stay here again. It's a short walk over the bridge to Flores and a 5 minute drive to the airport.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank discover-fun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2012

The place was a pleasant surprise, not what we expected from a Hotel in that area. Rooms are nice and clean, however a few things to take note

1. The smell of sewage can be offensive at times.
2. There are two types of rooms, we did not know that, our friends stayed in the newer area, great rooms with flat screen TV and everything. Our room was older, clean, nice but a little humid. TV quite old, nice view.
3. Towels are very limited, you have to ask for more in the front desk
4. Restaurant service is quite slow

That said, we{d go there again, it is a good deal, at a good location and a good price.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dexter2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 24, 2011

This is one of the newest and most expensive hotels on The Flores area, but it is across the lake from Flores. Flores is where you really want to stay. It is much more quiet than in the city proper. In addition, all of the old-world charm is in Flores. Be sure to go to the square by the church at night. You might catch a pretty good basketball game.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank FamilyTraveller157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
79 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed December 22, 2011

Nice hotel right on lake and within walking distance of Flores where there are lots of restaurants. The rooms were big, nice flat screen TV, 2 double beds.  Only complaint, the bottom sheet must have been a twin and you constantly ended up sleeping on the mattress.  Same complaint from others in our group who slept there. They had free wifi in the room.

We stayed here while visiting Tikal and Yaxha. Be sure to visit them both!

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank belllasadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 25, 2011

We paid extra for a triple room for three adults, but had to ask for the third set of towels and third water glass. They refused to give us a third bottle of water without an extra charge. We asked to change money as per the sign at the reception desk, but staff was unsure whether they could accommodate us either that day or the next day. The location is not ideal for tourists walking at night.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JeanWB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
301 reviews
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
187 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
12.1 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona del Lago

Property: Hotel Casona del Lago
Address: Calle Litoral, Santa Elena, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casona del Lago located in Santa Elena, Petén. It is a new concept inspired by Caribbean architecture from various cities. It combines a tropical style with very special details to offer the guest a unique comfort and relaxation ambiance. Hotel Casona del Lago offers 48 rooms with air conditioned, private bathroom, TV, Conference Room, Free Wifi, pool and jacuzzi, restaurant and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Hotels.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casona del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Lago Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing