We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice little hotel on Lake Peten”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casona del Lago
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 6, 2008

We stayed here for one night prior to our organized tour of this region. Flores is a cute little town although somewhat touristy. I thought this was one of the most charming of the bunch of hotel in Flores. Other hotels are either fairly basic or then seem very large and more commercial. This was in-between. We had a beautiful view froim the third floor room. We saw the lake from the room and could sit on chairs outside the door for an even better view. The room was quite basic, but had TV and AC (if needed). The bathroom had a shower with good water pressure, both hot and cold. Room even had a small TV. People at the reception were helpful and exchanged traveler's checks at a fair rate. The food at the restuarant was decent. I liked the wonderful little pool the hotel had and also the very nice terasse with great view of the lake and sunset.

  • Stayed: December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank danielswiss64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (222)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

106 - 112 of 222 reviews

Reviewed April 15, 2007

We had expected to stay on the island at the Casona de la Isla so were a little concerned when our driver (booked via STP in Palenque) took us to this hotel, but we needn't have worried. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable (though we could have used more shelf-space in the bathrooms). The pool was a great retreat after excursions and the view across to the island was spectacular. The staff were very helpful in rustling up a delicious breakfast at 6:30am before an early start to visit the Tikal ruins. We didn't mind the walk across the causeway to the restaurants and bars on the island: the nicest surprise of all was returning around midnight and having the hotel door held open by what appeared to be a soldier in full combat gear, with a hefty rifle. A broad smile and a friendly "buenas noches" told us we were in safe hands.

  • Stayed: April 2007, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LondonVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 19, 2007

The perfect place with a spectacular view of the lake and Flores Island.
Caribbean atmosphere, Exquisite food specially breakfasts, and a variety of activities around there.
You feel in a tropical place and exceptionally romantic in rainy days.
By the colors and decoration it is an ideal place to rest and enjoy your trip.

Stayed: May 2006
2  Thank mvalle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Con vistas al lago
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sergiorednek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chemamar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, traveled with friends
Thank Rokkomaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2017
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017
Thank Juan Antonio R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
335 reviews
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
321 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
194 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona del Lago

Address: Calle Litoral, Santa Elena, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range: $82 - $149 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Casona del Lago is located lakeside with breathtaking views of Flores Island. It’s special location is just 5 minutes away from the International airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. In June 2017, the hotel was awarded Trip Advisor’s Certificate of Excellence Award based on our unique service and the positive experiences shared by our guests. Designed with modern Caribbean architecture and common areas that include an infinity pool, Jacuzzi, bar, restaurant, meeting and event facilities, private parking etc. All areas add up to the perfect place to enjoy Peten. Every room has been created to rest after a day od adventure in Northern Guatemala. All rooms feature A/C, TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, a safety deposit box, full bathrooms, etc. Simply a perfect hotel for a business traveler during the week yet, at the same time, the perfect place to create memories with friends and family as well as couples. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Peten and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casona del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona Del Lago Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing