We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hostel in Flores”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Youth Hostel Los Amigos
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Best hostel in Flores”
Reviewed March 12, 2010

The hostel is probably the most active in terms of backpackers and most are either returning from Tikal, or heading out in the morning. For this reason, the bar closes up around 10pm so that people can get rest without too much racket outside their windows. However, I think its the closest thing you can get to a "party hostel" in Flores. There are always large groups of travelers eating and drinking in the bar, playing cards and other games. Some go out to bars afterwards late into the night.

The location is safe during the day, however its not safe to walk around alone on the streets in Flores at night, no matter where you stay. I met someone who was mugged a few blocks from the hostel when she was stumbling home drunk.

They have dorms and private rooms (for pennies more) with warm showers (not hot, but good enough), as well as hammocks in covered areas for $3 US or so. I think I paid $10 US for the private room with bath. No complaints there, I worked as far as hostels go. It rained a lot so it was quite muggy, but the room had a fan and several beers helped me sleep through the night without waking.

It was easy to set up trips at nearby agencies or from the hostel reception (which is located at the bar in the back.)

I took a day trip to the ruins of Yaxha and another day to Tikal. All in all a great experience and have recommended Los Amigos to other travelers I met.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

712 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    242
    82
    56
    25
See reviews for
13
194
205
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2010

This place seemed great, excellent restaurant, nice staff and a good location.

Unfortunately it was all ruined by the presence of bed bugs in our room. We stayed in a double room located above the shower area, the room was alright (I've stayed in nicer cheaper backpackers in Guatemala) it didn't really have windows it rather just opened into the trees. So we decided to put up our mosquito nets so that we didn't get bitten during the night and went downstairs for dinner. When we came back our nets were filled with bed bugs (this was the first time we had used them) it was disgusting, we then pulled back the sheet and they were crawling everywhere. This was the last thing we wanted when we had to get up at the crack of dawn before going to Tikal. The staff were sort of helpful, but I kind of felt that they thought it was our fault and begrudge having to help us. Thankfully they let us change rooms into a dorm and they cleaned our nets for us. Albeit in a not so helpful manner.

I really hope for their sake they've sorted out the bed bug problem as we really enjoyed the place otherwise.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claire_45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed two nights in a private double room in Los Amigos on route from Guatemala City to Belize (of course taking in Tikal while we were there). We arrived early (in time for breakfast) on the first day and then spent the day chilling out in the little oasis that Los Amigos is.

The hostel had a great atmosphere and we found ourselves going little further. We did have a wander around Flores, but found it fairly uninspiring. The food in the onsite restaurant (all vegetarian) was fantastic; really tasty and filling.

The staff were very helpful in advising on travel to Tikal and onwards into Belize (which call all be booked through them). Check out their website; it really helped us when planning our travels in this region.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EnnaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
198 reviews
156 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2009

We had a reservation at another hotel in Flores, but got here on a shuttle before going to our hotel and liked this place, so we stayed here. It was comfortable and cozy, mostly geared towards the backpacker crowd, but nice. We stayed in a small private room, which was OK. but it is more about the ambiance. Their food is strictly vegetarian and awesome. The chica who runs the place is just a sweet woman and very helpful, dont leave without eating her food.
this is one of the best experiences i had in Guatemala. It is such a bargain too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2009

on my first trip to Flores we followed the Lonely Planet guide and stayed at El Mirador which was ok but we heard from some other travellers about los amigos and its cheap dorm rooms (25Q/nite?) sounded too good to be true almost. My second trip to Flores/Tikal i had to check out Los Amigos... we did the private room thing which was massive with a Queen bed and bunk beds... so u could sleep 4 comfortable with private bathroom. the hostel itself is amazing with ping pong table, cheap internet and great homemade meals. Owned and operated by a swedish man who married a local girl it is truly a backpackers heaven. affordable drinks, and u can arrange your tours to tikal, and other ruins sites right there. they play foreign films some nights in the lounge area and theres a good collection of travel guides there as well. highly recommended u make this your base when in Flores on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couloir17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
60 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this hostel, one night in a dorm at the end (which was pretty damp) and paid 40 quetzales, but then at a dorm right by the entrance for 30 quetzales, which was ok. I think the atmosphere of the hostel is great, and the communal area perfect for reading, internt, or watching a documentary. They also have an excellent vegetarian restaurant. The only drawback is the cleanliness of the bathrooms, that I think could be much better.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2008

Although we only stayed there for one night everyone loved the place, and it was one of many highlights to our trip.
We arrived very exhausted after a long coach journey, and the hostel was almost full but they still managed to accomodate all 12 of us. Whilst some had beds, a few had to sleep in the hammocks and sofas in the bar. the staff were very accomodationg to this by providing blankets and ensuring the bar was empty before midnight.
There is a vegetarian restaurant within the hostel, but they were happy to allow us to cook bacon on the trangias. We had a lovely breakfast the next day, which varied from fruit to a fry up. All of which was very filling, tasty, and good value for money. The cocktails and fruit smoothies avaibile were also of good range and very tasty.
The atmosphere and vibe we got from the hostel was brilliant, very relaxed and chill out, with dream catchers, candles and a swing.

A very lovely stay, with everything you would expect from a backpacking hostel.

  • Liked — The general atmoshpere and vibe.
  • Disliked — We were only there for one night!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tantalictarmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Los Amigos

Property: Youth Hostel Los Amigos
Address: Calle Central (Next to Pro-Peten), 1 Block From the Central Park, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youth Hostel Los Amigos is a unique hostel created by travellers for travellers with love, detail and creativity over the past 11 years. We consider it more than just a quick sleep or another stop on your way. Los Amigos is truly that warm nest that you'll be looking for during your travels. We provide a 5 star service at a backpacker price offering loads of extra free services like - a free cinema - pool table - Separate Night lounge - Reliable in House Agency - Wide lush green garden to relax - Free PC to use - Sauna and Spa - Soccer games with the locals - Boat tours on the lake - Rope swing tours and canoe rentals and much more! You catch our drift! Los Amigos is more than a place to stay, it is a place TO BE!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Los Amigos Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing