We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value hostel with a great atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Youth Hostel Los Amigos

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Youth Hostel Los Amigos
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
England
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent value hostel with a great atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2010

We stayed two nights in a private double room in Los Amigos on route from Guatemala City to Belize (of course taking in Tikal while we were there). We arrived early (in time for breakfast) on the first day and then spent the day chilling out in the little oasis that Los Amigos is.

The hostel had a great atmosphere and we found ourselves going little further. We did have a wander around Flores, but found it fairly uninspiring. The food in the onsite restaurant (all vegetarian) was fantastic; really tasty and filling.

The staff were very helpful in advising on travel to Tikal and onwards into Belize (which call all be booked through them). Check out their website; it really helped us when planning our travels in this region.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank EnnaH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

686 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    289
    240
    78
    55
    24
See reviews for
13
185
198
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
159 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2009

We had a reservation at another hotel in Flores, but got here on a shuttle before going to our hotel and liked this place, so we stayed here. It was comfortable and cozy, mostly geared towards the backpacker crowd, but nice. We stayed in a small private room, which was OK. but it is more about the ambiance. Their food is strictly vegetarian and awesome. The chica who runs the place is just a sweet woman and very helpful, dont leave without eating her food.
this is one of the best experiences i had in Guatemala. It is such a bargain too.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ThiaTravelvast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whistler
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2009

on my first trip to Flores we followed the Lonely Planet guide and stayed at El Mirador which was ok but we heard from some other travellers about los amigos and its cheap dorm rooms (25Q/nite?) sounded too good to be true almost. My second trip to Flores/Tikal i had to check out Los Amigos... we did the private room thing which was massive with a Queen bed and bunk beds... so u could sleep 4 comfortable with private bathroom. the hostel itself is amazing with ping pong table, cheap internet and great homemade meals. Owned and operated by a swedish man who married a local girl it is truly a backpackers heaven. affordable drinks, and u can arrange your tours to tikal, and other ruins sites right there. they play foreign films some nights in the lounge area and theres a good collection of travel guides there as well. highly recommended u make this your base when in Flores on a budget.

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank couloir17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2009

We stayed 2 nights at this hostel, one night in a dorm at the end (which was pretty damp) and paid 40 quetzales, but then at a dorm right by the entrance for 30 quetzales, which was ok. I think the atmosphere of the hostel is great, and the communal area perfect for reading, internt, or watching a documentary. They also have an excellent vegetarian restaurant. The only drawback is the cleanliness of the bathrooms, that I think could be much better.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mmhbcn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2008

Although we only stayed there for one night everyone loved the place, and it was one of many highlights to our trip.
We arrived very exhausted after a long coach journey, and the hostel was almost full but they still managed to accomodate all 12 of us. Whilst some had beds, a few had to sleep in the hammocks and sofas in the bar. the staff were very accomodationg to this by providing blankets and ensuring the bar was empty before midnight.
There is a vegetarian restaurant within the hostel, but they were happy to allow us to cook bacon on the trangias. We had a lovely breakfast the next day, which varied from fruit to a fry up. All of which was very filling, tasty, and good value for money. The cocktails and fruit smoothies avaibile were also of good range and very tasty.
The atmosphere and vibe we got from the hostel was brilliant, very relaxed and chill out, with dream catchers, candles and a swing.

A very lovely stay, with everything you would expect from a backpacking hostel.

  • Liked — The general atmoshpere and vibe.
  • Disliked — We were only there for one night!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank tantalictarmac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

I found Los Amigos a well run hostel which caters in every aspect for backpackers. They have a variety of rooms from hammocks and couches to bunk bed rooms with a double bed and private rooms

I only stayed for 2 days and one night before getting an overnight bus to Antigua.

The accommodation was clean, including the bathrooms (however the shower was cold), bedrooms were nicely decorated which makes a change from the usual blandness you see at hostels, and the general vibe of the place was exotic, relaxed and it was obvious you could see that they had everything well thought out.

For example, lockers for baggage when you check out for the day but you're hanging around for a while, including locks to go with them, books for book exchange, internet (not free and apparently a bit slow), tours and travel arrangements local and international, and finally their Vegetarian Restaurant with a range of interesting cocktails.

It was a sociable place where I met quite a few friendly travellers and would definitely consider returning.

Just a note that they have at least 2 dogs, a parrot and a cat all of whom are stranger friendly (one of the dogs would just sprawl himself infront of the reception/kitchen desk interrupting the line).

Few small problems was that the kitchen was fairly close to some of the rooms so could have been a bit disruptive. Most of the staff (while I was there) did not speak English that well.. especially those that was working at the reception desk. Although I could converse in a bit of spanish I can see how this could be a problem as the majority of travellers are english spoken. There is also this strange security system which involves pulling a string before you open the door, and also having to ring to get back in which isn't always heard.

Generally speaking I would definitely recommend this place as a stopover for backpackers visiting Flores and Tikal!

  • Liked — Interior Decor, Wealth of information regards to travel and tour plans, luggage compartments, free locks, range in non alcoholic cocktails, social vibe
  • Disliked — Although the food was good at the vegetarian restaurant, they should really start to cook meat! Most travellers want that!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Stormchild83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#5 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
5.2 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Los Amigos

Property: Youth Hostel Los Amigos
Address: Calle Central (Next to Pro-Peten), 1 Block From the Central Park, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youth Hostel Los Amigos is a unique hostel created by travellers for travellers with love, detail and creativity over the past 11 years. We consider it more than just a quick sleep or another stop on your way. Los Amigos is truly that warm nest that you'll be looking for during your travels. We provide a 5 star service at a backpacker price offering loads of extra free services like - a free cinema - pool table - Separate Night lounge - Reliable in House Agency - Wide lush green garden to relax - Free PC to use - Sauna and Spa - Soccer games with the locals - Boat tours on the lake - Rope swing tours and canoe rentals and much more! You catch our drift! Los Amigos is more than a place to stay, it is a place TO BE!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Los Amigos Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing