We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very fun party hostel”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Youth Hostel Los Amigos
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Very fun party hostel”
Reviewed June 15, 2014

I really enjoyed my three nights at this hostel. They have a really great bar and common area which is great for meeting and hanging out with people. The food is very tasty but you will have to wait an extremely long time for it! They have a very handy travel agency in the hostel, from which you can book many tours, shuttles and other hostels.

I had a great time here. However, it is more of a party hostel so it is maybe not the best place if you just want to relax. Although, after 9pm, the bar in the common area shuts down to allow people to sleep and then the party continues in an upstairs bar so you definitely could still sleep here if you go to bed early (as many do for sunrise trips to Tikal). I would really recommend this hostel, had a fantastic time!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ciaran L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Great to hear you had such a fantastisc time! Yeah, I am sorry about the long wait for food sometimes! It is just that now and then we are a little bit busy! We do our utmost best however to smoothen things out and reduce waiting times! Have a great trip ahead! Lots of love, Los Amigos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

713 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    243
    82
    56
    25
See reviews for
13
194
205
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 9, 2014

I thought this place was the absolute business! we got the cheapest dorm which was half outdoors. It sounds mad but it was really cool. We were right beside the restaurant so the room was noisy during the day but who cares. At night when people are drinking they have a really good policy of moving people into the back function room by 9pm so that the hostel isnt really noisy if you need to sleep! it was in a great location in the heart of flores and you could book all your excursions to tikal, semuc champey etc as well as transport to honduras or belize or mexico for good prices at the hostel! the food tasted amazing but be warned, you have to wait AAAAAAAAGES for it so order early! the alcohol was so so cheap there and they had really good organised nights in their function room! i'd definitely recommend this place

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Ilievangelov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Thanks for recommending us to others! Glad you had such a great time with us! Love Los Amigos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 7, 2014

I tried to make a reservation for a dorm, and they put me in their loft dorm. The loft dorm was just mattresses set on the ground. The loft had a really low roof that was inconvenient to move around, a little dangerous, and very uncomfortable. It was basically open to heat, humidity and insects with no door or coverage aside from a triangular roof (this shape made it inconvenient).

I asked to switch to a real dorm the next day and was told to drop by in the morning to do so. When I tried, I was told they were sold out. I told one of the staff members that I was told I could switch the previous day. He had the nerve to tell me how my conversation with another staff member went, claiming that she said I could switch if there was space. I know what she told me. She never mentioned the possibility of there not being a switch. I took her word as a reservation. He tried to get me to pay for a deluxe dorm. Ridiculous. The hostel made a mistake and they should have offered to put me there at no additional cost. That would've been the right thing to do.

The food there is pretty good, but after this incident and being subjected to racism, I limited the amount of spending I did at the hostel. I should have switched, but I didn't want to deal with the hassle of moving around. One of the staff members tried to get my attention to clarify my order by calling me chino. That's completely unacceptable. As an Asian-American (not even Chinese, not that this would make the incident okay) I deal with this nonsense all the time in Latin America, but a gringo-run establishment should educate its staff to know better. Hell, no respectable hostel would have staff ever do this, including those run by locals. I just deal with this crap in the streets, not by service employees or anyone who is educated. So if you're black, being called negro would be fair game here. If you're overweight, you could be called gordo.

I also started a tab at the bar to avoid the hassle of having to continually pay cash. That was a hassle and the person asked me several times if I turned in my passport at the front. It's like she couldn't take my word for it. Another time when I told another staff member I had a tab, she said I didn't and needed to pay upfront in cash. I had a tab, get it together and find it.

In short, you should look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Google Translation
Gracias por escribir tu opinion! Que bueno que lo pasastes bien! Feliz Dia y hasta pronto! Saludos Los Amigos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
Reviewed June 3, 2014

This is a great hostel, but the customer service is not good. Expect to wait very long if you order anything, and expect your order to be wrong.

I stayed in a private room. Fine and quiet. Hot. But provided fans.

Issue was, when I awoke the second morning the sink piping had flooded my room. My laptop was on the floor charging and it is water damaged completely. Luckily my Nikon DSL withstood the damage and is still able to function (as far as I known)

I woke up and slipped and fell on my leg/butt bone. I asked what they could do for us. Since I hurt myself and my apple computer is most likely broken. They put our closed in the dryer. And are writing a note to see if my insurance can cover the damage to the computer. And continued to claim that the sink does not leak and I must have left it on.

Further more my girlfriend has been trying to work out the tab for about an hour since they charged us a lot of incorrect things....

It is a great and fun hostel. Good vibes. I had a great time here. Just a very unfortunate experience, and I wish they could have offered more help to my situation...

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dglazer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi! I am really sorry to hear about this unfortunate chain of events! Unfortunately I wasnt there at the time this happened. I checked with my staff however and the sink in question would leak only if you don´t close it down all the way. Then the water would drip down. So in a way it is because the tap wasnt closed down all the way but of course this isnt your fault. I am again really sorry that you had to experience so much inconvenience because of this. All i can say is that we have someone fixing any showers or sinks all the time. It is not our policy to leave them more than a day broken. Of course we have replaced the sink straight away. Again i am really sorry that this happened and I hope your insurance covered your camera when you returned.

Warm greetz Los Amigos
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 2, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at Los Amigos for 5 nights, 3 longer than initially planned. The rooms were very comfortable and clean and we felt very safe there. We got a private room with a shared bathroom, which was also very clean. There was drinking water available at all times and great tourist information, so to conclude it was a very good value, good experience. However, we found out that this hostel is not locally owned, and I would suggest supporting the local businesses of the island. If not a local hostel, support local bars, restaurants and travel agencies.

Room Tip: Get a room in Los Amigos Two, much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi! Thanks for writing your experience and sharing! Great to hear you had a great time! That the hostel is not locally owned is not true. Los Amigos is owned by one Dutch guy, me and also by Erica. She is Guatemalan and she is from Peten. We started the place together.

Also I personally don´t think what matters most is who owns the hostel but much more important what fingerprint the hostel leaves in the local economy, if fair salaries are paid, if they pay social securities and so on. I did not choose to not be born in Guatemala but I do choose to respect and be very thankful for my Guatemalan business partner and to all my beautiful local workers!

Sometimes it is even a bit ironical to me as tourists think they help local economy by eating in small local places that exploit their staff and heavily underpay their workers. Nothing is like it seems and things are not that black and white! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Really great place to stay in Flores. The tour company that works out of the place is really helpful and not pushy to sell and it's really easy to get to Tikal. The communal area is also a great place to chill. Service at the bar and kitchen can be a little slow but it's not really a big problem.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenniferRedfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi! Thanks for your review! Makes us happy you had such a great time! :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suisse
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2014

That was my first time here because of a few people told me that it was a good place but on my arrival , staff , service were to to bad, sorry for that but is not a place to stay. Is more for cheap people here. So, will never recommend this place even for stay. There is not a good vibe here and is not a place to met someone here. Rooms are not good, so hot, staff not even professional and the info when you arrived is so terrible. Never again in this place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MEXSUISSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this review, July 13, 2014
Hi! Thanks for writing and of course we appreciate your opinion! You sure have strong feelings about the place! A place for cheap people.... Well I think we offer a 5 star service at a backpacker price. But obviously you have experienced the contrary. I wish you would have come to see the management so we could have solved things for your straight away as now your reasons are very vague to me! Anyhow, I hope you had a lovely travel onwards and that you enjoyed this beautiful country!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
301 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
314 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
245 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Los Amigos

Property: Youth Hostel Los Amigos
Address: Calle Central (Next to Pro-Peten), 1 Block From the Central Park, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 23 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youth Hostel Los Amigos is a unique hostel created by travellers for travellers with love, detail and creativity over the past 11 years. We consider it more than just a quick sleep or another stop on your way. Los Amigos is truly that warm nest that you'll be looking for during your travels. We provide a 5 star service at a backpacker price offering loads of extra free services like - a free cinema - pool table - Separate Night lounge - Reliable in House Agency - Wide lush green garden to relax - Free PC to use - Sauna and Spa - Soccer games with the locals - Boat tours on the lake - Rope swing tours and canoe rentals and much more! You catch our drift! Los Amigos is more than a place to stay, it is a place TO BE!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Los Amigos Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing