We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place to stay in Flores!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Flores
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Youth Hostel Los Amigos
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Really great place to stay in Flores. The tour company that works out of the place is really helpful and not pushy to sell and it's really easy to get to Tikal. The communal area is also a great place to chill. Service at the bar and kitchen can be a little slow but it's not really a big problem.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JenniferRedfern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi! Thanks for your review! Makes us happy you had such a great time! :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (754)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 754 reviews

Reviewed May 20, 2014

That was my first time here because of a few people told me that it was a good place but on my arrival , staff , service were to to bad, sorry for that but is not a place to stay. Is more for cheap people here. So, will never recommend this place even for stay. There is not a good vibe here and is not a place to met someone here. Rooms are not good, so hot, staff not even professional and the info when you arrived is so terrible. Never again in this place.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEXSUISSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi! Thanks for writing and of course we appreciate your opinion! You sure have strong feelings about the place! A place for cheap people.... Well I think we offer a 5 star service at a backpacker price. But obviously you have experienced the contrary. I wish you would have come to see the management so we could have solved things for your straight away as now your reasons are very vague to me! Anyhow, I hope you had a lovely travel onwards and that you enjoyed this beautiful country!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 19, 2014 via mobile

Fun, party hostel! The bar stays open really late yet they're very conscientious about noise in the area of the rooms and you can sleep soundly- everyone's happy! Great base for Tikal, good food, great atmosphere. I'd definitely recommend staying here.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank Crucialflounce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi! Thanks for letting us know that you enjoyed your stay and the service! Hope you had a great trip! Warm Greetz, Los Amigos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the los amigos2 which is the second building of the hostel where the private rooms are, so my review applys only to this part of the hostel (not the dorms).

For starter, to get to our room we had to duck under the stairs every time, which was pretty chalenging with our big bags on our backs. Then we found out water entered our room through the little balcony's door and wetned our bag and almost destroyed our books. The room, and the bed especially, was full of ANTS.
And in addition, our building had no hot water for the 2 days we stayed there (the first building did have hot water)!

Unfortunatly we paid for both nights in advance so we couldnt switch to another place, though friends of ours who stayed in one of the hotels paid the same price (150q) but got a much better room. Plus, the hostel was full so we couldnt change rooms (not that it mattered, we heard other rooms also had beds full of ants).

About the restaurant- the food was ok with reasonable prices but it took them about an hour to serve it, so not recommended if you're realy hungry..

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank lironeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi! Thanks for letting us know your inconveniences! Well, yeah... Most people dont really mind the fact that you have to duck under the stairs to get to the room. Especially since the room has a extra benefit that it has a little private patio where you can lie down in your own hammock. Ants in the rooms is very strange to hear for me as I almost never hear that complaint and as rooms are cleaned and desinfected on a daily basis. But I will definately look into it!

As for the waiting time! We have hired extra staff and we make it a policy to inform everyone if waiting time is longer than 30 minutes so guests can choose for themselves if they mind the wait or rather eat outside.

I am sorry to hear you didnt have an ideal stay with us and I apologize for any inconveniences!

Warm Greetz
Los Amigos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Pros: great location, restaurant on site, travel agency that will help you arrange tours and travel (although some of the things that they claim to offer are not longer really offered), big lockers, fun atmosphere to meet people and hang out. Cons: NOISY. Although they have a huge bar/restaurant area in the back, they claim that they make everyone be quiet and go to the noise-proof room in the back after 9 PM. Not true for any of the four days I was there, even with ear plugs I had trouble sleeping (and I'm generally a pretty heavy sleeper) since people banged in and out of the dorm room at all hours, yelled to friends in the bar area, and generally just made noise. The bathrooms were also pretty dirty. Overall: a fun place to stay if what you want is to hang out and party, if you are looking for someplace chill to get some relax or get some sleep, look elsewhere.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the front dorm room on the right when you enter--very noisy since you can hear everythi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingbadger2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi! Thanks for letting your opinion know to us! It seems like our nightguard wasnt on top of things as normally it is really unacceptable that people make noise when leaving the bar! I wish you would have come to see me as I could have provided a room in Los Amigos 2, the quieter building around the corner with your private roof terrace and view on the lake! I am sorry again!

Have a great time ahead! Warm greetings, Los Amigos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2014 via mobile

Emailed ahead to book a dorm room for two nights, but when I arrived they had given it away and had no space. I then payed for a hammock which is in the common area near the bar. I was told that at 9:00 they close the area off so people could get some sleep, but this did not happen and although they turned one light off, they did nothing to make the area quiet. And when I got into the hammock it was soaking wet cause there was a hole in the roof. Although the food was nice and the information on tours and buses was good, my experience was not.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Habasssd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi! I am sorry to hear about your bad experience. It is very rare that we double a reservation. Often we tell people to confirm their arrival if they arrive after 5 pm as it happens very often that people change their minds last moment and we stay with empty beds. Did you arrive later at night? For everyone else reading this. If you arrive after 5 pm please confirm your reservation, so we are sure you will really show up.

The roof has been replaced above the hammocks! I am sorry for the inconvenience. And rest assure that the sound issue has been adressed as our nightguard absolutely needs to keep quiet any people in the late hours!

Warm Greetings,

Los Amigos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Was so happy to stay in this Hostel, was a fantastic experience all the staff here are amazing, they go above and beyond to make your stay here enjoyable! The food here is exceptional considering the amount of people that eat here for a hostel, they must work like crazy! They have a great night lounge in the back which opens at 9pm, we was told this is for keeping the noise down for people to sleep in dorm ready for Tikal early trips! which is really considerate! Also a free Tequila also goes down a treat. Would recommend this hostel to everybody travelling through Flores, because its about the only hostel in town thats equipped for travellers! Loved this place, could of spend a lot longer here!

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank APowney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Matthias d, Manager at Youth Hostel Los Amigos, responded to this reviewResponded July 13, 2014

Hi! That´s what makes all our hard work our while! People like you that have such a great time in our house! Thanks so much for taking the time to share! Warm greetz, Los Amigos

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
343 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
325 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
258 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Green World Hotel
Green World Hotel
#10 of 16 in Flores
89 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Villa Margarita
Hotel Villa Margarita
#9 of 16 in Flores
42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Youth Hostel Los Amigos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Youth Hostel Los Amigos

Address: Calle Central (Next to Pro-Peten), 1 Block From the Central Park, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range: $3 - $9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Youth Hostel Los Amigos is a unique hostel created by travellers for travellers with love, detail and creativity over the past 11 years. We consider it more than just a quick sleep or another stop on your way. Los Amigos is truly that warm nest that you'll be looking for during your travels. We provide a 5 star service at a backpacker price offering loads of extra free services like - a free cinema - pool table - Separate Night lounge - Reliable in House Agency - Wide lush green garden to relax - Free PC to use - Sauna and Spa - Soccer games with the locals - Boat tours on the lake - Rope swing tours and canoe rentals and much more! You catch our drift! Los Amigos is more than a place to stay, it is a place TO BE!!! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Youth Hostel Los Amigos Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing