We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa del Lago
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Nice clean hotel. We got a non lake view room with AC fan and large private bath. Our beds were uncomfortable slightly saggy and able to feel the springs. Hotel has a second floor deck overlooking the lake so we still had a place to enjoy the view. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Stayed: June 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank yahwey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (257)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

74 - 80 of 257 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

It wasn't amazing but it was not the best budget accommodation I have stayed in. The place needs a bit of a revamp and the rooms need an upgrade. All a bit outdated but if you at Flores to explore the sights then you will manage just fine. We had a good party at Los Amigos but they don't have AC so I would be hesitant to go there.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
Thank mpougnet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 6, 2014 via mobile

Smiley staff, basic rooms with a balcony (you need to ask for one) good view of the lake, ok bathroom (although ours smelt a bit funky from time to time), cable tv amd that's it....what more do you need? We checked out about ten places to stay on the island and If you wanted a lake view you had to pay a lot, lot more than here. Ok I'm sure the rooms were a bit more polished but this place is a bargain.

Only tiny grumble is that wifi signal is really poor but available with enough pacing and patience.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Randygit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We loved it. The location is fantastic, right on the lake, and they have a very nice balcony.
Room was not fancy, no amenities whatsoever, but it was clean and very quiet.
We spent three nice days and we loved it.
The staff was very friendly, especially an older lady who had the sweetest smile :).

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank babbua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in Villa del Lago for one night on a recent mission trip to the Peten in February. Our rooms were clean and had good views near the terrace overlooking the lake. The a/c worked good and the showers had hot water which was appreciated. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Carol at Finca Ixobel had stayed at Villa del Lago recently and recommended it to us. It worked out good for us.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a night before our Tikal tour and had a great sleep. Bed was comfortable, room was clean, a/c worked great and the two meals we ate there were good. They set us up to eat out on the sunny patio, very nice. I feel this is a very good value for your money, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 29Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived in Flores after a long motorcycle trip from Belize with no reservations anywhere.

We parked the bikes and walked around the island looking for a room. It was New Years Eve and the island was very full. This hotel had a room available, would allow us to park the bike in the lobby and were friendly.

I was a little concerned about the reviews I was reading on here, but we kind of had no choice, so we went for it.

We ended up staying 3 nights, and it was fine.

Yes, there were tiny sugar ants in the room, but having lived myself in the tropics for many years I know that it is just a part of life in this part of the world. No big deal.

The view over the lake was nice, the shower was hot and clean, the fan and A/C worked fine and we slept like babies.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, or to stay here again myself.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank paxmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Green World Hotel
Green World Hotel
#10 of 16 in Flores
89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Lago

Address: Calle Centroamerica y Calle 15 de Septiembre, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range: $44 - $54 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Lago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing