We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place, nice people”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Villa del Lago
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Flores
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“nice place, nice people”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

We loved it. The location is fantastic, right on the lake, and they have a very nice balcony.
Room was not fancy, no amenities whatsoever, but it was clean and very quiet.
We spent three nice days and we loved it.
The staff was very friendly, especially an older lady who had the sweetest smile :).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank babbua
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    108
    50
    17
    13
See reviews for
35
102
38
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, Arkansas
Level 6 Contributor
1,170 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 532 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

We stayed in Villa del Lago for one night on a recent mission trip to the Peten in February. Our rooms were clean and had good views near the terrace overlooking the lake. The a/c worked good and the showers had hot water which was appreciated. The staff at the front desk was very friendly and helpful. Carol at Finca Ixobel had stayed at Villa del Lago recently and recommended it to us. It worked out good for us.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Razorfish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2014

We stayed at this hotel for a night before our Tikal tour and had a great sleep. Bed was comfortable, room was clean, a/c worked great and the two meals we ate there were good. They set us up to eat out on the sunny patio, very nice. I feel this is a very good value for your money, and I would stay there again.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 29Reid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toluca
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2014

We arrived in Flores after a long motorcycle trip from Belize with no reservations anywhere.

We parked the bikes and walked around the island looking for a room. It was New Years Eve and the island was very full. This hotel had a room available, would allow us to park the bike in the lobby and were friendly.

I was a little concerned about the reviews I was reading on here, but we kind of had no choice, so we went for it.

We ended up staying 3 nights, and it was fine.

Yes, there were tiny sugar ants in the room, but having lived myself in the tropics for many years I know that it is just a part of life in this part of the world. No big deal.

The view over the lake was nice, the shower was hot and clean, the fan and A/C worked fine and we slept like babies.

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel, or to stay here again myself.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank paxmaac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2014

The hotel was directly across from the Retpsa tour company we used. We got a balcony room overlooking the lake, the rooms were clean with a fan, tv and (most importantly!) hot showers. They have a restaurant below with good food and service. The bed was comfortable and the staff friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room. They are only 2-3 dollars more and the view is spectacular especially when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Justlucky49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2014

Not the best hotel in town but has the great value for money. Central location - right near the causeway. Dark but clean rooms equipped with AC and safe box, fresh linen, excellent hot shower. Great lake overview from huge lovely terrace excellent for breakfast with your own food. Staff is friendly and helpful, late evening we bought transportation to Tikal on the reasonable price. Popular with local and Mexican tourists, so may be noisy. While raining (i.e. every day in wet season) the first floor flooded.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VKalmykov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atyrau, Kazakhstan
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2014 via mobile

Perhaps the whole island is not for a family used to real 3-star accommodation. Walked the island to try to find another room and didn't find much better. One of the beds was very wet upon arrival... smelled like pee. Bugs in rooms. The cleaner left a bottle of chemicals and a kid drank it in the middle of the night and felt horrible all day and they were rude about it. Doors won't stay closed. Shower so icky we are wearing shoes. Towels feel like sandpaper. No one speaks English. So loud as well, needed earplugs to sleep.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
Thank EllenSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Flores hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
320 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
315 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
164 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Villa del Lago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Villa del Lago

Property: Hotel Villa del Lago
Address: Calle Centroamerica y Calle 15 de Septiembre, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Villa del Lago 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Villa del Lago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Lago

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing