We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Simple, clean and great value !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Reviewed May 17, 2006

For what you pay roughly $50 a night it is a great hotel for people not looking for a 5 star treatment. However, for non-Spanish speakers it is recommended you learn some basics first as many of the staff speak very little English. If you are planning a trip to Tikkal (the Mayan Ruins) I suggest you go for a smaller tour company especially if you plan to get there early to see the sun rise. Most people use San Juan Tours (very popular) but by the time they picked up everybody in the huge coach half of the morning is over. Also, we paid for an English speaking guide but when we got there the guide didn't show ! Walking around Tikkal without a guide is pretty useless as there are so much history and finer details to be learned than what the tour books cover.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank aliceNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 269 reviews

Reviewed April 29, 2006

The three of us liked this hotel for everything it had. Paid about 65 USD per night for the room we got on the 4th floor with 3 beds. Located in Flores--a nice area where you can comfortably walk around day/night. The pool was great after a day of riding on buses coming all the way from the Mexico/Belize border or after a day at the Tikal ruins. Water in the pool was the perfect temp. for the hot days we spent there April 9-11. Didn't try the restaurant since there are plenty in the area. Nor did we order food poolside. Room had plenty of hot water, A/C, a fan on the high ceiling, TV with English channels, spacious closet, and chairs outside of rooms to view the awesome sunset. It's also right down the street from the San Juan travel agency from where we got our tickets to Tikal. (Go to Tikal on the 5AM departure--before the swarms of tourists arrive around 8! You won't be disappointed!)

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank funnychap24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 27, 2006

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for three nights. We picket the place, more or less at random, after being dropped in Flores by a taxi from the airport. At $45/night, it is mid-range for Guatemala. It was the most expernsive place we stayed during our two weeks in the country.

Like other reviewers mentioned the view is fantastic, and you can't beat relaxing with a Gallo on the deck overlooking the lake. True the rooms aren't what you'd get at the Ritz, but they were clean, comforatble, and safe.

If you stay here, grab a bite to eat at Captian Tortuga next door.

  • Stayed: July 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank maltschu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 18, 2006

This hotel reminds me of U.S. tomatoes... nice and colorful on the outside, but hard and tasteless on the inside. At first glance, the hotel looks was very nice with a lovely pool and deck in the back. The view from the rooms is equally nice. Unfortunately, the rooms left a lackluster taste in my mouth. Yes, the rooms have cable TV and air conditioning, but the beds were just plain nasty. The mattress was on the brink and the sheets were so thin you were practically touching the mattress underneath - in essence sleeping in other people's filth. The blanket was old and dingy and the bathroom was cruddy as well.

The room situation at this hotel is really unfortunate because if they had decent beds I would have given them a much higher rating due to the afformentioned amenities. A clean, comfortable bed (I'm not picky, just no springs in my back please!) is the most important aspect of any hotel. But, from the high turnover and vast amount of package tour groups that pass through this hotel, I highly doubt they will make any changes soon.

All in all, for the price here relative to other hotels in the area I was expecting more. I would not recommend staying here.

  • Stayed: February 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nisa77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 11, 2006

Our primary purpose for visiting Flores was it's proximity to Tikal. We were very happy with our decision to stay "in town". Flores itself is a quaint little island (an easy walk around) in the middle of Lake Peten that is full of hotels, restaurants and shops. We had a wonderful time just exploring Flores (mostly tourist area) and Santa Elena (the small town which is directly across the causeway). Note that not-surprisingly English is not widely spoken so be sure to have a Spanish phrase book with you if you are not fluent! We didn't have a problem but if you cannot communicate at least a little, it's good to "be prepared".

We stayed as La Casona de la Isla for 3 nights in late November and had a fantastic time. The weather was lovely. We took a taxi from the airport to our hotel. There were many taxi drivers waiting to drive you there at a cost of $2 US per person which seemed reasonable to us as it's too far to walk even if you wanted to! The hotel lobby, staff and pool area are very nice. The rooms are typical Central American hotel rooms - clean and comfortable but on the drab side. We even had a some US television and working air conditioning! The pool is small and quite cold but nice all the same. The hot tub looked inviting but was cold so we didn't spend much time there. There are many restaurants and shops around the hotel as well as travel agents for booking transport to Tikal and other neighboring sites (in addition to transport to Belize or other places in Guatemala). Most trips are done via minibus which picks you up at your hotel. We found them to be quite comfortable, convenient and relatively inexpensive.

Tikal was unbelievable – a once-in-a-lifetime event. The earlier you can get there – the better (we left Flores on a 5am minibus!).

All in all...a very positive experience. We would definitely stay at La Casona de la Isla again.

10  Thank kaniger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: en el medio de los pisos y preferiblemente pisos altos (3 o 4)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Luis Felipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017
Thank odyves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
339 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
256 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona de la Isla

Address: Calle 30 de junio | Isla de Flores, Flores 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range: $70 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona de La Isla is located lakeside featuring Caribbean architecture giving the hotel a sense of true hospitality and privacy. 26 rooms and a refreshing pool are ready to welcome you in Petén. Located on Flores Island, 5 minutes away from the International airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. The outside pool and Jacuzzi are simply one of the preferred areas for guests in a mix of options that include a bar, restaurant, etc. It’s location on Flores island is simply privileged, as it is just in the middle of the lakeside street; a location perfect to enjoy some of the most unique sunsets in the world. Rooms enjoy views of the lake and/or pool. All rooms have A/C, TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, full bathrooms, etc. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Petén and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casona de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La Isla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing