We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cozy hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Sarnia, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
315 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Cozy hotel”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights with friends who had been here in the past. As they told us, the rooms were small and basic, but comfortable. The hotel could use some repairs and updating, but it was clean. Shampoo and soap were provided but no washcloths, so take your own if you use one.

The staff at the hotel and restaurant were very pleasant and helpful.

The front and back entrances make it easy to access the shops etc and the waterfront. At night, food vendors set up right along the waterfront outside the hotel, so there are many food choices if you want street food instead of restaurant food.

As for restaurants in the area, we ate at BBQ, Capitan Tortuga and Raices (excellent !!).

We ate one lunch at the hotel which we enjoyed. There was some discussion over whether breakfast was or was not included. It does say on their website that it is included with the room rate, so once we stressed this with the wait staff and front desk, it was included with our room. There are several items on the breakfast menu, but some are extra (bacon for example, and any substitutions).

Unfortunately the weather wasn't great when we were there, so the sunsets weren't visible through the heavy cloud and rain.

We would definitely stay here again on a return trip to Flores which is a charming town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeeMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    125
    57
    14
    9
See reviews for
46
101
20
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
jef-ind
Level Contributor
333 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 210 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2014

Spent one night here as part of an inclusive Tikal tour package booked through Turismo Aventura. Very pleased with the experience overall. The hotel is nicely located on the west side of Flores with nice lake views from the balcony and the pool area. The hotel's back door gives direct access to the lakeside promenade where there were a number of restaurants and food stalls. Very nice sunset views. Common areas were pleasant and well appointed. Our room was small but had everything we needed. A/C was old and a bit noisy but did the job. Staff were attentive and helpful and there always seemed to be someone who spoke English. They arranged a reasonably priced lake tour for our afternoon. The highlight was breakfast. There were a number of choices of interesting breakfasts. My daughter had a egg-tortilla-bean dish and I had a chicken-tortilla dish with a kind of mole sauce that was excellent, served with fresh ice-cold papaya juice and good coffee. Really a nice way to start the day and included in the package. Even though it seemed to be a rather slow time in Flores, I gathered that the hotel was full. Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jef-ind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walla Walla, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2014

It is right on the lake and I just finished watching a beautiful sunset from a chair just outside my room. The pool was wonderful to cool off in and there are many nice restaurants to choose from nearby. As many people said, the rooms have AC as well. It is a lovely hotel and I am quite content with what I get for the price.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank klawbaugh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst visiting Petén and Tikal. The Isla is just beautiful only takes about -0 minutes to walk around although they have loads of beautiful shops that make that walk a little longer ;) the hotel room was spacious beds comfy shower was lovely even had a little visitor in the form of a little lizard. Breakfast was to die for I had traditional breakfast black beans eggs and tortillas it doesn't get any better. Wifi is good. View to die for. Reception girls very friendly. Hotel overall very clean. Can get noisey with the bars nearby but wasn't really an issue it died down quite quickly.

Room Tip: Face the lake it's beautiful at sunrise and sunset
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCorbishley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
163 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2014

This hotel was a solid choice for Flores. It was well located, had a nice pool, and very friendly staff. The breakfast was delicious, and it was next door to another great restaurant. You should not expect luxury, as the room was dated, but clean, and the bed was hard as a rock. It was an enjoyable stay and easy for us to access Tikal the following morning.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KRob147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
52 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed June 1, 2014

I really appreciated that they let me check in at 8.30am in the morning after an early flight from Guatemala City. I expected to simply leave my bags and have to wait until late afternoon. After staying in several low-mid-priced hotels in Guatemala, this was the first with air conditioning which is an absolute must because of the humidity. Rooms are small and clean, view is great and the pool is pretty nice too.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KentM_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Logan, Utah
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 29, 2014

We stayed one night here the end of April 2014. The location is great. The pool was nice and the room was fine-quite small but fine for our needs. We stayed in a room that had 2 beds (full/double, not queen). The included breakfast was good. Right outside the hotel in the evening food vendors set up tables and sold locally made guatemalan food. We were adventuresome and tried a few things! I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SWC16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
301 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
187 reviews
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona de la Isla

Property: Hotel Casona de la Isla
Address: Calle 30 de junio | Isla de Flores, Flores 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the Island of Flores on the shores of Lake Peten Itza. It has 26 rooms with air conditioning , cable TV and private bathroom. Also offers the services of restaurant and bar, pool and jacuzzi , laundry , safe deposit boxes , free WIFI and conference room for up to 35 people. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Casona de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La Isla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing