We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Reviewed September 6, 2013

I stayed here to go to Tikal Mayan Ruins. Great location. .. right in front of public swimming pier to the lake. Staff is very professional & friendly, will call Taxi for you or set up minibus ride to Tikal Mayan Ruins. Rooms have A/C & free in room Wi-fi. Rooms are a little small but not a big deal. Ask for rooms with lake view. 4 floors but no elevator. Very quiet, you don't see or hear others guests too much. On weekends more locals stay here which makes it fun. Small clean pool. Small restaurant with basic affordable meals. Free hot breakfast & great guatemalan coffee which starts at 7:00 am which I was not able to enjoy because I headed out before breakfast started. If you walk the lakeside road there is two other hotel restaurants that have great charcoal grilled beef & chicken for only $8.00 plate. One is Hotel Casarona or something like that...just look for the roadside grill. Minivan tour picked me up at 5am for the 5 hour drive to Belize City for only $25.00.
Bring sunscreen & bug repellent if you go to Tikal Ruins, also entry is Q150.00 each & Tikal map is Q25.00, there is no ATM there so bring at least Q500.00 for entry, food, souvenirs, etc.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank Yoipitydafool67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (279)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 279 reviews

Reviewed August 23, 2013

The rooms are not luxurious but its clean and comfortable. My husband, daughter and I stayed in one room but werent given sufficient towels. The view is amazing and there are lots of great places to eat in the area. There is wifi in lobby but no signal in the room so my husband had to walk four levels down to check our mails. The staff are lovely people.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Belize G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

First of all, Flores is an amazing island. The people are great and the island is just great. The hotel was really nice. Not much for a budget traveler but if you want an extra touch of comfort after a long day at Tikal under the sun this is the perfect place. Had a 2nd floor room facing the lake and pool. Not much of a view with all the palms but in a short walk, you are at the street at the edge of the island. On the opposite side you can walk right into the street up the hill to the top. The restaurants breakfast was good and so were the staff. Side note: At least know some spanish. Great place to stay !!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

We spent one night here before heading to Tikal. Rooms are on the small side, but good A/C, clean and enough power outlets to charge your stuff. Great view of the lake from our room, and the hotel is very conveniently located near shopping and restaurants. Service was very good at both the front desk and the restaurant in the hotel. Food was basic but good. Priced pretty well compared to other hotels.

Room Tip: The hotel has four floors, so if you don't like stairs, ask for a room on a lower floor. Pool ca...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kravmaguffin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

Hotel casona de la isla Flores 
Likes: great location on the island. Very clean and staff helpful.  Well located for restaurants, supermarket and ATM located behind hotel.  Swimming pool and spa very clean and well maintained .

Dislikes: 

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ToTravelToo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

My family of four stayed in room 45 on the top floor. There were three double beds crammed into the room - looked much smaller than the triple room shown on the website and booking.com. The hotel is very quaint, and the pool is super. The beds weren't all that comfortable, and the wifi was spotty outside of the reception area. They have two computers available in the lobby, but only one has a monitor clear enough to work on. The staff was very friendly, and the views from the fourth floor over the lake are fantastic.

Overall, a good budget choice in Flores. That is, as far as the hotel itself is concerned. We had our laundry done through the hotel, and the price of a few small bags of laundry was $60!! That was almost as much as the room cost. We had the same amount of laundry done in Orange Walk, Belize, through the Hotel de la Fuente, and it cost us around $20. Don't have your laundry done through the hotel but instead check out the prices in the numerous laundromats in the streets of Flores.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JeffinPrague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Despite arriving at 8am, we found that our room was ready for us. It was comfortable, if a bit cramped, with reliable hot water and a semi-reliable air conditioner which the staff promptly fixed when the remote control stopped working. From outside our room, we had beautiful views of the lake and a refreshing breeze. We ate at the restaurant, which was priced the same as all the other restaurants we saw in the area, and had decent food. We also spent a fair amount of time in the lovely pool-- it was very clean and big enough to actually swim in. Lastly, we were able to access pretty much everything from the hotel; there were several convenience stores, tourist shops, and restaurants on the same block, and around the corner was the travel agent we used (Sergio Crasborn, highly recommendable). And the lakeshore was right behind the hotel. I'd definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank madrutravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
364 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
233 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#7 of 16 in Flores
201 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
188 reviews
5.3 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona de la Isla

Address: Calle 30 de junio | Isla de Flores, Flores 01010, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range: $65 - $81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona de La Isla is located lakeside featuring Caribbean architecture giving the hotel a sense of true hospitality and privacy. 26 rooms and a refreshing pool are ready to welcome you in Petén. Located on Flores Island, 5 minutes away from the International airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. The outside pool and Jacuzzi are simply one of the preferred areas for guests in a mix of options that include a bar, restaurant, etc. It’s location on Flores island is simply privileged, as it is just in the middle of the lakeside street; a location perfect to enjoy some of the most unique sunsets in the world. Rooms enjoy views of the lake and/or pool. All rooms have A/C, TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, full bathrooms, etc. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Petén and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casona de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La Isla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing