We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Reviewed May 25, 2012

This was a budget hotel which was in our price range. Yes the room was a bit small but we didn't spend much time in it. The bench located outside of our door was great for sitting and enjoying the view. The best feature of this hotel was the pool. We spend a lot of time lounging in the pool to cool off. The atmosphere around the pool was also very inviting. This hotel was very close to a 24 hour grocery store with an ATM. It was convenient for picking up water and snacks. The other side of the hotel was facing the water with a lot of little restaurants near by. This hotel also had a restaurant but we never ate there so I can't comment on the food. The air conditioner was loud but worked well considering the 100+ degrees it was outside. Overall we enjoyed the location, hot water in the bathroom, the air conditioning and the pool.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank NVtoSF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

127 - 133 of 269 reviews

Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed two nights at Casona de la Isla and thoroughly enjoyed it. I understand from others that the rooms are tiny but we asked for 2 beds and ended up in room 16 with 3 beds. It was perfect and we had the most private place to sit in nice chairs overlooking the pool. We had drinks at their happy hour the second night and watched the sunset. The staff aren't the brightest or the swiftest so you have to remind them of things like calling the taxi you need to take you to the airport or bus station. They seemed to have a tendency to forget but they were very sweet about it. Just don't leave checking that they have called till the last minute. There are plenty of tuk-tuks on the island so you will have no problem getting around and it is about a 20 minute walk around it. Also take a boat trip for sure while you are on the island. It is absolutely beautiful.

Room Tip: We loved room 16 as it was big and had the most private sitting area outside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 28, 2012

i usually dont write lots of comments,..exept when i read negative or ridiculous comments on Hotels i stayed in,..that i did like. Like this one.i think many of those "Reviewers" have really nothing else to do than complaining about stuff,..that they shouldnt.
first,..you nee dto understand that you are not in the Us or Europe, so dont measure it with those standards.You are in Central America, Guatemala,..a poor Country..if you cant handle that people dont speak English, that the streets are filled with actually Happy people (noise) or that someone doesnt throw a soda can in the trash ,..Stay HOME!

we ( me , my wife, y kids 3 and 5 years and Grandpa) liked it so much,..that we extended our stay. staff was very friendly eventhough the Hoptel was 100% booked and they went out of their way to leave us in the same, spacious, clean, safe, quiet 3 dbl bed room.
so, that had to be said. come and enjoy this Hotel

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mikyway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Our room was huge (3 double beds)! The property was well maintained and very clean. The traffic is a bit noisy but our room was located on the main street side. The staff was very helpful with directions and providing restaurant recommendations. The best part about this hotel was the upper bar seating area (great lake views) and the small pool in the courtyard.

Room Tip: Request a room on the pool not main street to avoid early morning traffic noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PDXglobetrotter_DUO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 17, 2012

You have to understand the surroundings - Flores is situated on a small island with nothing but bars, hotels, restaurants, tourist shops, and a church. It is pretty noisy overall, though I had no problem sleeping with the A/C to drown out the noise. It is located ideally - about 90 minutes from the ruins in Tikal and Yaxha (Survivor Guatemala).

The rooms are pretty basic - I was traveling as a single and got a double bed that was shoved against one wall - this would have been horrible if I had to share. The room itself was situated on two levels, with the bathroom bing up one step (had to remember that in the dark).

The breakfast was hot and plentiful and they were accomodating if you wanted to mix up your order. The internet in the lobby was extremely slow (but free); they also had wi-fi in the lobby. The staff was vey helpful with making restaurant recomendations and arranging for massages. I was able to sleep well (especially after a massage), but several of the folks that got upgraded lake view rooms bore the brunt of the noise, so you might want to request a coutryard or city room.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tracy V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2012

Location: not very quiet. Rooms in meed of an upgrade. The sink almost comes down from the wall. Very soft bed with very hard pillow. Airconditioning makes as much noise as a dragline. Staff is not very interested.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fritsenmaya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

As others have commented, this hotel looks great as soon as you step inside and it is in a good location. However it's more like a budget motel, with the rooms being no more than adequate and they are pretty shabby in many ways. There's not a lot of space, the windows are small and the bathroom is basic, although the shower was good. On the positive side, it was clean, there is free Wi-Fi in the rooms and breakfast is fine. It's also only a 10 minute ride from the airport. From looking around, it may be as good as it gets in Flores, which despite its guidebook descriptions, has little going for it other than a pretty location on the lake and proximity to Tikal. There are a few colonial style buildings, but it's generally shabby and can be discovered in less than an hour. It can also be extremely noisy at night.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amm1u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Flores hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
340 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
224 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
323 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Villa del Lago
Hotel Villa del Lago
#4 of 16 in Flores
257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 16 in Flores
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casona de la Isla? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casona de la Isla

Address: Calle 30 de junio | Isla de Flores, Flores 01010, Guatemala
Phone Number:
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 Hotels in Flores
Price Range: $70 - $87 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Casona de la Isla 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casona de La Isla is located lakeside featuring Caribbean architecture giving the hotel a sense of true hospitality and privacy. 26 rooms and a refreshing pool are ready to welcome you in Petén. Located on Flores Island, 5 minutes away from the International airport and 60 minutes from Tikal National Park. The outside pool and Jacuzzi are simply one of the preferred areas for guests in a mix of options that include a bar, restaurant, etc. It’s location on Flores island is simply privileged, as it is just in the middle of the lakeside street; a location perfect to enjoy some of the most unique sunsets in the world. Rooms enjoy views of the lake and/or pool. All rooms have A/C, TV, complimentary Wi-Fi, full bathrooms, etc. In our lobby, we offer a complete array of tours that we can set up for you to make it extremely easy to discover Petén and all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Casona de la Isla reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casona De La Isla Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing