We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect way to end our trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nitun Private Reserve
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Reviewed March 23, 2014

We had four nights here and our hosts made sure we were very well looked after. The food was delicious. The rooms were quiet and spacious with large, comfortable beds, quiet fans when needed and excellent bathroom facilities.Nothing to hear but the sound of birds and the rustling of leaves in the surrounding jungle and the gentle lapping of the lake below.
.Lake swimming was very pleasant and we were all able to relax and just switch off after a long holiday travelling around, in such a unique environment .

Trips to various Mayan sites were well organised and very informative.Our hosts were charming, very friendly and made sure we felt at home. We felt very rested at the end of our stay. Thank you Lorena, Bernie and Arturo for a lovely stay in such a special place.

Room Tip: There are only four rooms, our son had a separate one, but imagine they are all as lovely as ours.T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DerbyshireMargaret
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Margaret,

It was a pleasure to have hosted and cooked for you and your family. Very happy that your tours were as adventurous and instructive as you expected. I am proud to share my country and culture with people from all over the world and the exchange provides so much positive to the eco friendly tourism industry as well as it helps the sustainability of our forests. Muchas gracias for your visit!

Lorena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 80 reviews

Reviewed March 19, 2014

Nitun is a fun place, plus it is good value. You can arrive by boat, already setting the stage for a different kind of holiday. You stay in clean thatched casitas with a liberal use of limestone and clever design. All the jungle sounds are around you, yet you are safe in a warm and gracious setting, with excellent hosts. We thought the food was terrific. This lodge is good for a mix of families, lovers, and singles, and is a good jumping off place for Tikal and Yaxha. Some things to consider: many stone steps, similar to all lodges on the Lake, and you are about 45 minutes from everything (Flores, Tikal, etc.). Dinner is family style, which we thought was delightful, but you might not, although you can arrange to eat alone. All in all, highly recommended. They respond quickly by email.

Room Tip: Choose by how many steps you can climb and whether you want a direct view and access to the Lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank huntphd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Andrea,

Thank you very much for taking the time and review Ni'tun. I am very happy that you enjoyed our family style, eco friendly spot in the Planet. Muchas gracias, above all, for having done the effort to stay at Ni'tun bearing with our steps. Real adventurers don't see the obstacles, but look farther beyond to the greater experience. Surely hope to have you back sometime in the future! Saludos, Lorena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2014

I stayed at Nitun for four nights with my husband and three young children at the beginning of March and we all agree that it was the best part of our excellent two week visit to Guatemala. Lorena, Bernie and Arturo go above and beyond to ensure their guests are taken care of. For start- Our bags were ejected from our evening Avianca flight because of weight issues, and Bernie returned to retrieve them the following morning on the next flight, going so far as to search the plane(!) when one of the bags still didn't turn up. He found it, earning the eternal regard of my 10-year-old daughter. The casitas are lovely, the lake, where we took early morning and evening swims, delightful. Lorena, Arturo and Bernie are fantastic company who are keen to share their love for and knowledge of Peten's ecology, Mayan culture and history- it was seriously enriching to meet these lovely people. We enjoyed our trip to Yaxha with Bernie, and when power went off in the entire Peten Department (for 15 hours or so) on our way back, Lorena and Carmen didn't miss a beat- dinner was still prepared and everyone rolled with it. Much has been said about Lorena's cooking, and it's all true. Honestly- I'm embarrassed by my swooning, but I cannot say enough good things about Nitun and the wonderful staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jennifer D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 27, 2014

Dear Jennifer,

Thank you very much for your fantastic feedback. I am glad that you had a great time at Ni'tun and at the archaeological sites and that you enjoyed my cuisine. I haven't forgotten to send you the antipasto recipe which I will send shortly. Take care and visit again soon. The best to you and your family,
Lorena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My parents and I stayed here for four nights at the end of our Guatemala trip, and it was a perfect setting to relax in. We really appreciated the quietness and serenity of this cachito of jungle, along with the friendly and charming hosts and staff. Highly recommended, the food is fantastic and it is easy enough to arrange any trips to see the nearby ruins of just to Flores for lunch/dinner.

Many thanks to Lorena, Bernie, Arturo and Carmen for making our stay such a wonderful experience!

Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
Thank Pete B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you so much for your wonderful review. We certainly loved hosting, cooking and planning activities for your family. I think it shows how committed we are to protect our reserve through sustainable low impact tourism. With your visit you help our protected area. Muchas gracias! Saludos. Lorena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

We found Ni'Tun on Tripadvisor and read the reviews. All the positive reports turned out to be true. The cabins were spacious and clean, our hosts could not have been more welcoming, friendly or helpful and the meals were excellent. Nothing was overlooked by our hosts. They were there offering help before you had to ask.
We had taken a day trip to Yaxha, (we had arranged this independently not through the Resort) and we got bogged in the disgraceful swamp that passes for a road down to the site on our way back. Dinner had been arranged for 7.00 but we didn't get back until after 10.30pm. Was the kitchen closed? No way. Lorena produced a stunning meal, fresh and inviting. Not the slightest sign that we were three and a half hours late.
Ni'Tun Private Reserve was just what we were looking for - great setting, great food and great people. Yes, you could stay in an air conditioned, impersonal resort but we think you'd be missing a unique and wholly enjoyable experience.
Thank you Lorena, Bernie and Arturo. You made Guatemala an unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sydneysider30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Muchas gracias for your wonderful review. Ni'tun is my home and I love to share it with guests. This is why the waiting with an open kitchen for travellers arriving late is not a big effort for me. I am passionate about cooking and enjoy sharing this passion with guests. Muchos saludos. Lorena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2014

My partner and I stayed here during Jan 2014, it was simply perfect.

The Hummingbird casita is very spacious for a couple, decorated in a simple but elegant way, the bathroom is also large and well appointed. It is of course very clean. Upstairs the eating area makes for a great shared experience with the wonderfull staff working in the open kitchen. There are many cool areas to hang out, read, and maybe knock back a couple of cold ones.

The food was a real highlight with Arturo, Lorena, and Bernie all gifted cooks. It is always a real pleasure to not eat off a menu and let the cook and the ingredients decide what is for dinner!

A special mention must be made on the quality of the private tours that Bernie leads to Tikal, Yaxha and so on, they reall are somthing special. Yaxha was a real highlight of our stay and having such god background information adds a lot to the day out, as does the tricky 4WD drive there.

If you are looking at the upper end of hotels in the Guat, Nitun really can't be beaten for rustic charm and personality.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you for your great review. I am very happy that your stay was such a pleasant one. We are very happy to share our country with adventurous travellers thirsty for culture and who love nature. It was my pleasure to have hosted you and certainly hope that you visit sometime in the future. Saludos. Lorena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2014

We have just returned from the Peten where Lorena arranged a 3 day trip for our family and a friend which included three Mayan sites with Bernie and a stay at the beautiful Nitun Private Reserve. Our days were filled with rugged travel to reach the exciting destinations, but we always had gourmet meals, a hot shower, and a comfortable bed. We were treated like visiting friends and loved every minute.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms. We had them all and everyone was happy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nitun, Owner at Nitun Private Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 15, 2014

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am happy that your tailored itinerary worked out perfect. We at Ni'tun love to host and guests usually leave as friends. So proud to share my country with adventurous travellers. Saludos. Lorena

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
343 reviews
0 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
671 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
224 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nitun Private Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nitun Private Reserve

Address: Km 22. 5 San Andres | San Andrés, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range: $99 - $130 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ni'tun is a small Guatemalan boutique lodge located within our own private reserve on the shores of beautiful Lake Peten Itza. We offer personal service, friendly staff, knowledgeable guides, drivers and tour operators. Kayaking is a must. We pride ourselves as being passionate about our cuisine. Local ingredients are used in our fusion meals. All itineraries are tailored and many destinations in the area can be visited. It is a peaceful spot to relax and be immersed in nature. Favorite amongst guests is chatting over dinner with other travelers and us, the owners. We are far away and near enough Flores island and we operate our tours and expeditions privately to the main sites, both for one-day tours as for longer camping expeditions throughout Peten, Belize, Honduras and Mexico. Collective tours to Tikal also available. Our main aim is to share our culture with travelers and to support sustainable activities that involve local communites as well as protected areas. Through low impact eco tourism, we are able to support our conservation projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nitun Private Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing