We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel Nitun was delightful and a real find”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Nitun Private Reserve
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Reviewed February 22, 2008

Hotel Nitun was delightful and a real find. We were brought to the hotel by moonlit boat, which was a nice relaxing way to arrive. There were only 4 rooms and only one other room was filled, so we had a very private personal experience. The owner was a former Guatemalan coffee farmer with a Masters Degree in Eco-Farming from the 1970's, when no one else was doing Eco-farming. He retired to Flores 20 some odd years ago and has been running Nitun for the last twelve years. He was highly educated and knowledgeable about both ancient mayan culture and modern Guatemalan history and was also our guide to Yaxha. He was quite an eccentric character with a unique insightful perspective that was quite different from your standard tour guide, which we really appreciated and enjoyed. Meals here were the best we had the entire trip. Although the menu was limited (a fixed menu for the day - even though I'm sure they would prepare something else if we were to ask), the cook was the best and everything was the best freshest ingredients prepared individually for us. We had fancier meals but none more satisfying. The other people who stayed here were more adventurous interesting people and we had many interesting conversations. We much preferred it to Hotel La Lancha, which was very nice, but nothing out of the ordinary. At Nitun, the room was nicer, larger and very private in the woods, access to the lake was by a private swimming dock near the room instead of the lake being a very long far steep hike down a muddy path, the food was much better, the company more interesting, and the owner a delightful personable character - all around a more special experience. We liked it much better than La Lancha which was more like a very nice standard resort hotel - remind me to always take the advice of my travel agent in the future.

Doing a sunset at Yaxha was one of the best days. We had the archeological site virtually to ourselves in the afternoon and the unique perspective and commentary by the owner of Nitun was special. We spent hours learning about mayan history while at the same time watching parots, toucans, oro pendulas (gold pendulum birds), spider monkeys, howler monkeys and every kind of local plants and animals. We were allowed to climb above the tree tops to the apex of several fantastic mayan temples with spectacular views of the forest, wildlife and sunset. At the last temple top the guide brought wine and cheese and we rested and snacked watching the sunset to the song of the birds and the howler monkeys.

Tikal was a bigger more complete archeological site, but we had to share it with hoards of other tourists like ourselves. The young 25 year old Viaventure guide was extremely knowledgeable and well trained and provided us with excellent and different information about the Mayan culture. We definitely enjoyed and appreciated our day at Tikal but will always remember the day at Yaxha as more different and special.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfiniw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (80)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

71 - 77 of 80 reviews

Reviewed January 15, 2007

Our family of four (kids ages 8 & 10) stayed at Ni'Tun for 3 nights in November '06 and it was a wonderful experience. This may not be the right place to stay if you are simply jumping up for one night to see Tikal, but we can highly recommend it if you are looking for a relaxing and unique Guatemala experience. The four bungalows are very comfortable, large and private. Dinner and full breakfast are served family style in a relaxed, outdoor setting. The food is wonderful and the native plants and wildlife are amazing. There is a private dock and a warm lake for post-tour swimming. The best part of Ni'Tun, however, was getting a personal tour of Tikal with owner Senior Bernie. We booked the day-trip by email ahead of time and while it is not inexpensive, it was more than worth it. Bernie was able to make the ruins real for us, and for our children, while also sharing his amazing knowlege of the native plants, animals and archeology. And the smoked salmon, fresh-baked bread and cooler of beer was not your typical tour picnic lunch. On another day, Bernie took us for a private tour of an animal rescue preserve where we saw tucans, macaws and even a jaguar. The whole 4 day visit, from airport pick-up to drop-off was perfectly easy and relaxed -- travelling by small boat under the clear night sky after arriving on the late afternoon flight was a special treat. visit their web site at nitun.com.

  • Stayed: November 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank ruthbern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: このホテルでは、テレビもインターネットも忘れてください。そして、自然と、人とのコミュニケーションを楽しんでください。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, traveled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Konoe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: December 2016, traveled as a couple
Thank Arriaga506
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones me parecieron ubicadas en lugares estratégicos dentro del terreno, todas disf...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Moniquita Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: January 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jes-Maj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2014
Google Translation

Room Tip: Todas las habitaciones son increibles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank jmachem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
0.0 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
0.0 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
335 reviews
0.0 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
656 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
321 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
253 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bolontiku Hotel Boutique
Bolontiku Hotel Boutique
#1 of 1 in San Andres
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nitun Private Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nitun Private Reserve

Address: Km 22. 5 San Andres | San Andrés, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range: $92 - $96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ni'tun is a small Guatemalan boutique lodge located within our own private reserve on the shores of beautiful Lake Peten Itza. We offer personal service, friendly staff, knowledgeable guides, drivers and tour operators. Kayaking is a must. We pride ourselves as being passionate about our cuisine. Local ingredients are used in our fusion meals. All itineraries are tailored and many destinations in the area can be visited. It is a peaceful spot to relax and be immersed in nature. Favorite amongst guests is chatting over dinner with other travelers and us, the owners. We are far away and near enough Flores island and we operate our tours and expeditions privately to the main sites, both for one-day tours as for longer camping expeditions throughout Peten, Belize, Honduras and Mexico. Collective tours to Tikal also available. Our main aim is to share our culture with travelers and to support sustainable activities that involve local communites as well as protected areas. Through low impact eco tourism, we are able to support our conservation projects. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nitun Private Reserve reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing