We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice pool”
Review of Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maya
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
A TripAdvisor Member
102112
Reviewed February 18, 2006

This hotel has a lovely pool area. The food was average. We also had difficulty with the room. The first day and a half we had no hot water and once that was corrected the air conditioner stopped working. This hotel is close to Tikal.

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 269 reviews

Reviewed February 3, 2006

My daughter and I stayed at this hotel after a day at Tikal...it was our last night in Guatemala and a wonderful place to unwind after exploring the ruins. We had a lovely room with balcony overlooking the lake. There is a nice pool and hottub and also a nature walk around the lake. We went into the town of Flores (about a 20 minute cab ride) for dinner and ate at a well-known restuarant, Luna, which is frequented by locals and ex-pats alike. The woman at the front desk hired the cab for us and he waited three hours for us to finish shopping and dinner and then brought us back to the hotel. While there are other nice hotels much closer to Tikal, they are pretty isolated and we were happy to have had the chance to see Flores. This would be a nice place to spend a couple of days simply relaxing.

  • Stayed: January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2005

Travelling to the Tikal ruins national park in Guatemala we stayed at the Hotel Villas Maya. It is about 30 minutes outside the park. Built in the rainforest it has a rustic feel but also has a beautiful pool and great restaurant/bar area. They built the place around a lake and the property is full of birds and flowers. They have an aviary with Scarlet Macaws. The main hotel Villas are located circularly around the aviary.There are also larger villas with 2-3 bedrooms located separately around the lake. It felt private and quiet, with no television or phones in the rooms but A/C! At night on your balcony you can just listen to the frogs and other night creatures. We even got a picture of the "pet" caiman that waits for his fruit from the kitchen. Thoroughly enjoyed this little piece of paradise! ps the fully stocked gift shop provides great shopping and ice cream! Just be sure to pack your mosquito repellent, after all its in the jungle!

26  Thank munizera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Luisa A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago
Google Translation

Room Tip: Os quartos estão divididos em várias casinhas, com quartos no térreo e primeiro andar. Dê preferênci...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cecilia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Jorgejota
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: August 2017, traveled with friends
Thank 2014marietamiyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
4.3 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
343 reviews
1.1 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
224 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casazul
Hotel Casazul
#6 of 16 in Flores
198 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
325 reviews
8.8 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maya

Address: Laguna Petenchel, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 25 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range: $106 - $123 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maya Hotel Flores
Maya Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing