We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Good Hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Villa Maya
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Evanston, Il
Level Contributor
299 reviews
164 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Very Good Hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2014

We were on a 3-week, small (9) group tour of The Lost World of the Mayans. We arrived in the early evening after a long journey by boat followed by a van ride over an unimproved road. We stayed here 3 nights. Our room was large and comfortable and the bathroom fine. The room had an odor which is understandable given the humidity of the jungle. Our 2nd floor room overlooked the lake, sadly we were never in the room long enough to use the balcony. There was a buffet the first 2 nights, our last night's meal (after a large tour group departed) was cooked to order by the kitchen. The buffet was varied and excellent. I don't eat meat and the chef grilled a chicken breast for me. The breakfast buffet was also good. The hotel is lovely, with all the public rooms open to the outside. The wine at the Villas of Guatemala - we stayed at three of their other hotels - is potable and reasonably priced.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank angten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

247 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    105
    105
    28
    4
    5
See reviews for
45
94
17
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura, California
Level Contributor
106 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2014

I loved the relaxed atmosphere of the hotel compound. The jungle setting is gorgeous with a reasonable drive to visit Tikal. The rooms were basic but nice, very spacious with a small balcony overlooking the lake. The restaurant's food and service were good. I would not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diana5101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Asheville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2014

Guatemala is a beautiful country, and one place is beautiful....until you see another. This is how I felt when staying at Villa Maya. The surroundings are tranquil and very green (my favorite color!) The breakfast and dinners were well prepared, varied and quite delicious! I loved my little room, which is more like a shared cabin on the river. Nice walking trails everywhere. Would stay here again....close to Tikal National Park.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank CarolinaChickadee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
555 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The Hotel is located about 1 hour and 15 minutes from Tikal. It has a lovely setting on a lake. The room was basic. The bed was adequate. The shower didn't drain well. The room was clean. The meals were good. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank charles6346
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Panama City, Panama
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2013

Hotel is isolated infront of a nice lake and surrounded by nature, even by alligators! Food is good, good service!

About the rooms...they are basic, no TV, bed matress a little bit too hard, really good shower! internet free connection from rooms! Very clean.

Overall I will recommend the hotel, its worth what you pay for it...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank marievabarbarita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis, MO
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 17, 2013

We stayed at Villa Maya as part of a Caravan tour. The rooms are in bungalows, four rooms to each building, two up, two down. We had a first floor room but even that had a balcony that overlooks a beautiful ecological area. The room was spacious, clean, and air-conditioned. The buffet wasn't as extensive as some of the other hotels where we stayed on the tour, but the food was consistently good.

We didn't get to spend as much time on the property as we would have liked. We took a short walk on one of the paths, but we'd returned from Tikal late in the afternoon and it was already getting dark so we didn't venture too far. We used the pool in the evening, very nice, and the water was warm. There's a separate, shallow pool.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mimmy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hopatcong, New Jersey
Level Contributor
165 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2013

Villa Maya made an error and had us at their hotel in Antigua instead of Flores, even though our written reservation was correct. They worked with us to stay in another hotel the first night (Peten Esplindio) and then they found room for us at Villa Maya. Villa Mayan has beautiful grounds. We enjoyed the view of the lagoon and the colorful Macaws. The room was nicely decorated and I had WiFi in the room. What I did not like was the open concept shower. No privacy at all because the "door" was wooden spindels!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Caren_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
10.8 mi away
Jungle Lodge
Jungle Lodge
#1 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
6.1 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.0 of 5 bubbles 326 reviews
14.2 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.0 mi away
Hotel Tikal Inn
Hotel Tikal Inn
#2 of 2 in Tikal National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
17.4 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 17 in Flores
4.5 of 5 bubbles 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
La Lancha Lodge
La Lancha Lodge
#2 of 6 in Santa Elena
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maya

Property: Villa Maya
Address: Laguna Petenchel, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maya Hotel Flores
Maya Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing