We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice hotel”
Review of Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maya
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Very nice hotel”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in Villa Maya as part of our honeymoon. It was a nice place to stay for access to Tikal and the local airport where we fly to Guatemala City.

The hotel was very quiet while we were there, we counted 4 other people the first night, so this made for a slightly eerie feel to the place. However, the rooms were very nice and the view from the decking and resteraunt over the lake were lovely.

The staff were very friendly but had very limited english. This was more our issue than theirs as the rest of the guests were able to communicate without any issues. We had to do a lot of hand gestures and pointing at pictures. All taken in good humour by the staff.

There was wifi available at the pool but not in the rooms but this wasn't a major issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank murpmich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    109
    29
    4
    6
See reviews for
48
97
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

I knew going in from reviews that there would be no television or radio but at least it had air conditioning and boy did we need it! It was also kind of strange there was no door to the bathroom area. The shower stall and sink was out in the open; only the toilet had a door. Nonetheless, the room was clean and that's all you really need anyways. I do wish they did something with their open air restaurant. Even with insect repellent we were getting devoured by the mosquitoes! It really made eating dinner unpleasant, almost intolerable. My mom had to leave the table right after she was done. The next day we counted her mosquito bites and she had 20-30!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shuhan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

The first time I visited this hotel was in 2006 with a friend from the US and i have kept coming every year. we really enjoyed the attention and service. The bungalows are always clean and have good AC and showers. I enjoy this place because it is secluded in the jungle. It has a very good swimming pool and you can even go for a walk around the natural reserve, which is private. I kept coming to this hotel every time I brought visitors from other countries and also because I like to use it as a base of operations. It is conveniently located 10 minutes away from Flores and 45 minutes away from Tikal. A very good thing about the place is that they accept credit cards and they also have good discounts for bungalows with the Bi card. If one wants to travel around Guatemala one can purchase the traveler checks (specific for these hotels) at the central agency and one can change each check for a night at any of the hotels they own, Villa Maya, another one in. Atitlan, Livingston, and Antigua. They last for 1 year and include the night for two people and breakfasts. Good price for what you get.

Room Tip: Get the bungalows located near the lagoon to see an amazing view, birds, crocodiles, etc. watch out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jpac87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Woke up to a symphony of birds singing over a serene lagoon. Room was comfortable & cool Food was delicious & home made. Loved that tomato soup!
Service with a smile. Clean and welcoming
We had a glass of Chilean red wine which was lovely (Frontera) at sunset by the lake
Yes, you do need insect repellant, we are in their territory after all!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VVB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay here! The hotel is in the middle of the rainforest, so you need to adjust your expectations. Yes it's bathroom tissue in basket v toilet bowl, but if that's a problem for you then perhaps you should reconsider visiting the jungle. The place felt like our most amazing Africa trips right in the middle of nature. Staff was superfriendly and supper efficient! Food is excellent. Don't quite understand the comments about asking for rooms in 600/700s - rooms are the same standard. Had no problems with bugs even though it was the rainy season - get a good Deet!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
Level 6 Contributor
330 reviews
210 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 284 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

Property is located within the jungle approximately 1 hour from Tikal. Food was basic, but at least you got food. The rooms are very basic, also. There was a struggling air-conditioner. The bed was hard. The blanket smelled moldy, so I did not use it. This place is sort of like "roughing it". There is no TV. The radio plays pleasant Spanish music. We were warned not to swim in the lagoon because of crocodiles. We did have one take advantage of a photo opp. I nicknamed him Pedro. I am sure there is probably nothing better nearby to stay at, and we all took the inconveniences in good spirits, considering where we were located. If you stay here, you will enjoy the beautiful grounds and all of the lovely sounds of nature.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank karoleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level 6 Contributor
158 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

If you are looking for amenities or service, this is NOT the place to stay. There were 2 small bottles of drinking water in the minibar (10 quezales each -- about $1.50 USD), and one glass. I was told that the tap water was not potable, but if I wanted to take a bottle down to the bar/restaurant, that they could fill it.
Be advised that all of the rooms require climbing or descending stairs, in case that it an issue.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cheribokern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
1.1 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
320 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
350 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
316 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maya

Property: Villa Maya
Address: Laguna Petenchel, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maya Hotel Flores
Maya Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing