We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle Home”
Review of Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maya
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Russellville, Alabama
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Jungle Home”
Reviewed March 13, 2013

This hotel makes a trip to Tikal a real treat! The setting makes you feel like you have stayed near the ancient ruins even though you are about an hour away. The rooms are not fancy, but adequate and clean. The staff was helpful. They are a long way from anything, but that adds to the charm. Food was good. Pool and WiFi are provided.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Howbald
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    109
    29
    4
    6
See reviews for
48
97
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
central Ohio
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2013

WE stayed here for two nights while visiting TIkal and loved it! This jungle hotel was very comfortable and friendly. There are small buildings with two stories and two rooms per floor. Rooms were large with double beds, bath, large open area and balcony with table and chairs facing the lake. NO tv or wifi in room but wifi in restaurant/lobby but we didn't need it. YOu can walk around the grounds and see plants, birds and even a croc in the lake! It is all open areas so just a roof over the front lobby and the dining area. Food was buffet and made to order and all delicious. Nice to eat al fresco with view of lake at sunset! Pool was wonderful after hot day of hiking Tikal. It was very restful there and they had high school kids do mayan dancing one night which was wonderful! Best hotel in the area from what I saw.

Room Tip: It may be hot in daytime but it was cool at night with windows open so bring a jacket!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TravelingDevils
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

This private nature reserve is really outstanding!

The hotel is surrounded by a beautiful tropical rain forest and two small lakes.

To make the best out of that beauty there's is a few suggestions and observations that I hope the owner will take in consideration to make of this beautiful property something really unforgettable!

1.-The grounds are beautiful but they don't have any signs in English or Spanish that indicate where to go around in the property (walking distance, timings, etc).
That is a pity considering how much, we, the nature lovers can learn and discover in the area. The management should print a brochure with information about the trails and the species of birds that nest in the area, the wildlife in general. Something basic but well done. It will be a great souvenir and good publicity to the property.

2.-The property is just perfect to include a good spa, the owner should consider the potential about this service for his guests. After a long day of hiking in Tikal, could be great to enjoy a massage with a view to the lakes.

3.-The amenities in the bathroom are very poor. Bad quality soap and shampoo that leaves the hair very dry.

4.-The tap water is not safe to drink and there's not bottled water free of charge in the rooms. This little detail of courtesy should be considered by the management.

5.- The rooms are very clean and have a great view to the lakes or the forest. The furniture in the rooms is solid mahogany, which gives a very elegant touch to the room. The beds, a bit tough in my opinion but are OK. All rooms have air conditioning. The rooms should have safes to keep our valuables.The light in the room is poor.

6.- The lights in the public areas are poor. So, is a good idea to have a good flashlight.

7.- The hotel has a lot of steps to take in order to go to the different areas. For elderly people or persons with some handicap it may be a problem.

8.- The hotel has wifi network free of charge. Is a bit slow from time to time but in general works fine.

9.- I was surprised that after 10:00 PM there is no one that speaks English at the front desk. Actually is the watchman that takes the calls. I had problem in the room and I called the desk asking for help, the watchman did not understand me, but at least, he transferred the call to our tour director. I was lucky to travel with Caravan, our trip leader took care of the problem but should be nice that they have English speaking staff 24/7.

10.- The food: is absolutely delicious! I had to compliment the chef Pablo and his staff! Great job! Is like a home cooking buffet!

11.- The staff: friendly and efficient.

12.- Be sure to take mosquitoes repellent! You will need it in the evening and specially in the restaurant. The hotel has a small souvenirs shop but they do not sell bug spray.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GunsGermsSteel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torquay, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed February 21, 2013

We stayed for two nights in this tranquil place as a base to explore Tikal. Rooms were well equipped with bug screens and A/C. Feeding the crocodile at breakfast was very entertaining as was the stroll around the lake, we went into Flores one afternoon but apart from a trip around another lake there was not too much to see. Swim in the pool after a day exploring Tikal was very welcome.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank airportblues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Erie, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2013

Villa Maya
The Villa Maya Hotel is located in the middle of a large, private nature reserve, surrounded by lush tropical vegetation. This beautiful resort is perched between two natural lagoons which feed into nearby Lake Petén, Guatemala's third largest lake. The lagoons, grounds and nearby forests, make for great wildlife viewing and birdwatching. The Villa Maya Hotel has a swimming pool with a small waterfall and an open air restaurant with sweeping natural views.

Due to the fact that it was raining quite a bit we did not get to use the pool. We did see Macaws in the morning. It was a bit of a walk to get from our unit to the dining room. The buffet style meals were limited in selection but very tasty. Our room was pretty basic but it was clean and dry. No t.v. but we did have a bar sized fridge to keep our water bottles cool.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NUTHIN_TO_LOSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orr, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We enjoyed a two-night stay as this was a convenient location to the Mayan site of Tikal. It rained a lot while we were there, so the weather was pleasantly cool and not steamy hot as it very well could have been. This kept the bugs down, as well. Since the eaves are wide and the rain comes straight down, it was enjoyable to keep the windows open all night rather than to use the air conditioning. The sound of the rain and the howler monkeys enhanced the ambience of a jungle stay.

The rooms were clean and had a nice rustic feel. The food was great. I can't comment on the price since the cost was included in our tour fee.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maude59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Michigan
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2013

This lodge is near Tikal, considered one of grandest of all Mayan cities. The Villa Maya is located in a 67 acre nature preserve and on the shores of Petenchel Laguna. After checking in at the reception area, we were greeted with the sounds of the beautiful Macaw birds in the nearby trees. Each villa had four rooms with a balcony that faced the water. The clean rooms were sparsely furnished but were adequate and comfortable. The many screened windows and ceiling fan provided good ventilation. The beds were crisply prepared and comfortable. The chef and his staff prepared and served eye appealing and delicious buffet food with enthusiasm in an open air dining room. There are two pools, a jacuzzi, and a nature walking trail on the grounds. Free WiFi is available in the lobby if one has his own device. The staff works very hard at keeping the grounds well groomed. We were treated to an outstanding sunset both evenings.

Room Tip: Try to get a room near the front of the lodge--closer to the lobby, dining hall, and pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 19HappyTraveler94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
1.1 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
319 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
350 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
315 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maya

Property: Villa Maya
Address: Laguna Petenchel, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maya Hotel Flores
Maya Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing