We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“For Tikal ticklers, this is as good as it gets!”
Review of Villa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Villa Maya
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Abergavenny
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“For Tikal ticklers, this is as good as it gets!”
Reviewed June 5, 2011

No question, Villa Maya is the place to be if you're hunting Mayan ruins in the jungle. It's just a stela's throw from Flores airport and about an hour from Tikal (45 minutes if the taxi is in a hurry). Great rooms located on the shore of a dreamy lake - clean, comfy, quiet. Get up early in the morning and watch the sun drift up over the misty water with the only ripples from lazy crocs and paranoid ducks. There's an inviting pool and friendly bar/restaurant to laze beside when you've exhausted every sinew climbing pyramids in the simmering heat. Good food (if slightly limited) and not over-priced. And to cap it all, some very friendly macaws waiting to have their picture taken - if you've any space left on your memory card.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RossandChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

260 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    112
    109
    29
    4
    6
See reviews for
48
97
17
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2011

Watch the crocodiles lazing around while having breakfast in this lovely location between two lagoons. Good clean rooms with comfy beds and a/c - each with own balcony looking onto lagoon. Very nice staff - very helpfu. Didn't use the pool, but it looked nice. Great trail around the lagoon that you can either walk or bike (they have bikes there). Lots of wildlife. Excellent. Wireless WIFI in the restaurant, wired fast internet in rooms. Free.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andybancroftcooke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colares, Portugal
Level 6 Contributor
269 reviews
147 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed January 30, 2011

We stayed here only one night to visit Tikal, this means we didn´t make use of all facilities of this hotel. We had the lunch at the hotel and we had no claims, also the breakfast was buffet and was good. The room was also good as we had more or less a bungalow with view toa a lake. Well the Villa Maya Hotel is a good base to visit Tikal, beautiful and comfortable and I beleive Tikal will be better if you visit in two days or at least in complet day.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elica49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
115 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 428 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2010

We stayed here as a base for visiting Tikal. After a hot and humid day at Tikal there is nothing better that a clean room with great AC and a nice pool!
Rooms are painted white and are spotless, also they are a decent size. Free WiFi here.
The only downside to the hotel is that you are a long way out of town and a taxi will be expensive! Luckily the food in the hotel restaurant is good.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We spent one night with a couple of friends, my husband and teenager. After being so disappointed at the hotel in Santa Elena, Villa internacional that looked completely abandonned, At least we can say the service was there to keep client satisfy, they moved us from the other hotel , brought us to beautifull, calm, clean, relaxing, confortable atmosphere of Villa Maya.
The rooms are big, air condition fonctions perfectly, fridge, we stayed in a bungalow with 2 double beds and one twin.
The pool is nice, big and it is in front of the lake.
The restaurant was very good. The service friendlly
15 minutes to FLores, it s really the place to stay after visiting Tikal.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claudia_QTZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We stayed at Villa Maya for 2 nights. its a beautiful, well done place. nice service, good food. we loved the rooms, the mcaws, crocs, turtles, deer and other animals. but there are no activities to do at this place other than a few hikes. it would have been better if we had the option to go horse-riding, or such. they do have 2 pools which are great and lots and lots of open space to wander..

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jsivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2009

Had a great stay here in April 2009. Surprised it has so few recent reviews, so here is an up to date one.

Location, 15 mins taxi Flores/airport in secluded location. Wondered where they were taking us, as the entry is down a rocky old private road, but on arrival, is a just lovely peaceful haven from the heat, dust of Flores. Charismatic open reception, fab large multilevel pool and open air restaurant, lovely well kept jungle gardens with "nature walk" paths all around the 'lake' aka lagoon that surround the complex. All very clean and wlll kept, loads of wildlife, A group of stunning scarlet macaws live on the property.

Rooms , ours on the left (northern side?) of the circular arrangement are newer than those on the south. Ask for one on the top floor and if the hotel is not busy, one without anyone in the adjacent room, as sound travels through the walls pretty easily. Biggest gripe was that the maids made a lot of noise when doing the daily rounds, radios on, pushing beds around etc when were trying to sleep in...

Layout of rooms simple but atmoshpheric and stylish. nice verandah with deck chairs to sit, watch the birdlife and soak in the peace. AC is some of the best I had on the central american trip, quiet and effective, which was a boon as it was a heatwave.

It is some way from town so we ate in the restaurant at night mostly. Food was fine but not stunning. Service excellent as was the location of the open air restaurant raised above the oh-so-pretty lake with wildlife all around.

Staff were helpful save one who used her brother as an overpriced taxi (she assumed i couldnt understand Spanish!). Reception arranged minibus pick up to Tikal and attended to other requests without trouble.

Liked the size, not too big, one bus group came in, that pretty much filled it up, but with the expansive layout never felt crowded.

Not cheap, but if youre travelling comfortably, would recommend it as a peaceful place for a couple of days while exploring Tikal and newly opened Yaxha.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank easytraveller66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
1.1 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
4.3 mi away
Hotel Isla de Flores
Hotel Isla de Flores
#2 of 16 in Flores
319 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Casona del Lago
Hotel Casona del Lago
#5 of 16 in Flores
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Camino Real Tikal
Camino Real Tikal
#1 of 6 in Santa Elena
350 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 16 in Flores
315 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Casona de la Isla
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Maya

Property: Villa Maya
Address: Laguna Petenchel, Flores, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Cancelon, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Villa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Maya Hotel Flores
Maya Hotel Flores

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing