We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great place!” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chaltunha Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Chaltunha Hostel
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Certificate of Excellence
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
“great place!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

we stayed there for two nights. was the most beautiful location! very friendly staff with a husband, wife and little boy. clean overall, highly efficient ceiling fan, would stay there again!! best regards from simon and maria from Denmark

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mariatvermosegaard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

162 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    90
    41
    10
    10
    11
See reviews for
2
52
25
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

Awful place, friendly service

Not to be confused with the more established and well-rated hostel by the same name in San Miguel, Chaltunha Flores is, essentially, a dowdy, dirty old hotel which has been re-named and re-opened as a hostel.

Although it is still labelled 'El Itza', was easy enough to find - about a 5 min walk along the waterfront from where the buses drop you off. Everyone knows the big yellow building anyway.

Location is good, at the end of a row of lakeside restaurants. It does have tile floors which creates echoes, so bring earplugs in case of noisy neighbours.

The staff are very friendly and will go out if their way to help you. We arrived early in the morning and were offered breakfast. We also had a mix up with our dates and were able to change them at short notice no sweat. The restaurant was opened early for us on our last morning.

The Tikkal tour offered here is the same price quoted as many agencies in town. We found a much cheaper one through Los Amigos hostel.

The reception layout isn't conducive to comfort. No couches, hammocks it any of the like. Instead only uncomfortable, old hotel chairs. The kitchen is very basic and I couldn't find a working fridge. That said I saw some people successfully cook in it. Free water refills are a nice touch.

Internet gremlins will adore the internet quality in the foyer, but no coverage in some/all of the rooms could annoy.

Our room was poor overall. The beds were comfortable enough, but the sheets were not totally clean and had holes in them. The bathroom and toilet were stained and will give clean freaks nightmares. There was a spare tv in the corner taking up space and connected to nothing. At least the shower was hot.

There is no restaurant, but breakfast is down the street at a restaurant called cafe Uka. You get either 4 bits if toast with honey an butter or scrambled eggs. The eggs were fine. The service was good.

Out double room cost $20 a night, similar to others in town.

If this place were much cheaper than others, I could recommend it for 1 or 2 nights as an acceptable budget choice. But it's not, so I can't.

I hope this place turns around (and the San Miguel reviews suggest it will) because it has really nice staff!

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank thebrisc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChaltunhaHostel, Owner at Chaltunha Hostel, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Thanks you for your response.
We are very sorry we didn't meet your very high standards of what a hostel is. We recently took over this building and I must say you are the only person that have complained about the facility. We believed we are giving great value for money. Compared to other hostels on the island its difficult to get better service and accommodation. How ever I will look into the problem you had with our facility and try to improve them. Thanks once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

The whole experience was wonderful. There were 2 downsides though. The roosters can crow early in the morning and the boatmen don't operate after 11pm so a late night is a bit tricky. However, the upsides vastly outweigh the down. The owner was extremely helpful and knowledgeable. He even gave me a ride to the boatman at 4am (given the time, he makes the arrangement) so I can catch my departure bus. The dining area/bar has a beautiful view of Flores. There is a nice pool and the hammocks were comfortable. The bungalow rooms are located within a small orchard. The local neighbors were incredibly friendly as well. I would book again in this hostel in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank M0untain_hiker10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
158 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

We did not book in advance of our arrival which meant we walked up the very steep hill to reach this property, we would have been collected otherwise. The view is wonderful and it is restful to sit around the pool during the day. The cabins are neat and tidy but we were a bit disconcerted by finding a scorpion in our sink when we arrived back from town on our first evening. There are quite a few cockerels making noise at night as well as other wildlife, not a problem for me but they did disturb my partner. Neil and his wife are good hosts and this is probably a great place to stay if the weather is really hot which it was not whilst we were there.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank judybrazil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013

I stayed here a couple weeks ago. It is a truly magical place, Neil and his wife Beatrice give you a very warm welcome and are very helpful for information. The rooms are awesome and are bug free. My help from Neil for the details of Tikal was perfect and you do not have to pay for extra tours that you do not need. Our group payed for only transportation to the park, once there we payed our park entrance fee. We as a group of three walked freely through the park on our own and there are plenty of people that are very informative about the Mayan culture. The water taxis are absolutely fun! Shoot across, go eat, shop, shoot back for dinner at Chaltunha! I have been cooking for 38 years and just trust me Beatrice's food is excellent. Go to Chaltunha for peace and quiet, go to the island for noise.
Thank you Chaltunha for a magical experience an I got all the Gopro video that I needed at the park of Tikal.
When I return Neil, I will stay for longer then 3 days and i will bring friends
Thank you so much,
Paul

Room Tip: Get the screened dorm
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cagliari
Level Contributor
363 reviews
125 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2013

This is, by far, the best place we stayed at while in Guatemala. A mixture of wonderful location (a GREAT view of Flores and the lake from the lobby/bar), nice clean room, beautiful garden (with orange trees whose oranges are used to make orange juice in the morning), and most of all the lovely owners. Neil is from Belize and his wife Guatemalan. They are ever so helpful, friendly, never pushy, always kind and interested in talking, sharing, etc. We loved it. We were woken up by the roosters in the morning, so we got the countryside experience too (a million times better than the noise of cars in town). Tips: try and catch sunset and sunrise from there and remember to carry your camera so you can snap pictures of it!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taffani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

A quiet chilled place to stay, right in front of the island 3 min by boat. Beautiful view, nice bungalows, clean, tasty food and the best there was a pool.. The owner, Nil was very friendly and helpful, gave us many tips about belize (he was originally from there), cool guy…
The best stay in Flores.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genady S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Flores
2.4 mi away
Las Lagunas Boutique Hotel
2.9 mi away
Hotel Casa Amelia
Hotel Casa Amelia
#3 of 17 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
11.0 mi away
Hotel Mon Ami
Hotel Mon Ami
#1 of 4 in El Remate
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Green World Hotel
Green World Hotel
#11 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
2.9 mi away
Hotel Peten
Hotel Peten
#8 of 17 in Flores
3.5 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hostel Yaxha
Hostel Yaxha
#7 of 22 in Flores
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaltunha Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaltunha Hostel

Property: Chaltunha Hostel
Address: San Miguel, Flores 17001, Guatemala
Location: Guatemala > Peten Department > Flores
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 22 Specialty Lodging in Flores
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chaltunha Hostel is a family operated hostel in Flores, Guatemala. Born with the idea of share our little paradise with all the travelers who will enjoy the outdoors and rural lodgings.Built in 2005, Chaltunha Hostel offers a diversity of accommodations bungalow type. Each on elevated floorboards with well-ventilated canvas roofs, and full screens. You can enjoy peaceful relaxation on your private sheltered porch, while viewing the undisturbed tropical forest. Comfortable beds with clean linens, pillows, towels and blankets will assure a good night’s rest after a fun-filled adventurous day. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Chaltunha Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing